We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute and fresh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Norrkoping
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Cute and fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

Elite Grand is a cute hotel. Rooms have a nice decor in the style of the building and they're clean. We had a family room so we had plenty of room for our two little ones that slept in their own (extra) beds (which cannot be moved close to parents bed, though). Talkin' 'bout beds: they are really comfy, if you prefer your mattress hard. For a lightweight person, it's like sleeping on a plank of wood... But it's quiet by the night so if you get past the beds being so hard, you can get a good night's sleep.

There's free WiFi, a nice play area for kids and a fresh breakfast and the location of the hotel is splendid. Its by the river and opposite the building is the "Radhus" with it's clock tower and a little square.

This hotel is a good choice, if you plan to go to Kolmården and see something else on the side (for enthusiasts, there's a dinosaur exhibition in Norrköping this summer (-11) and there are Kolmården and dino-exhibition packages on offer.. :)

There's plenty of parking spaces near the hotel by the streets.

One more thing: there's no pool in this hotel.. Our kids missed it ;).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalloH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    155
    111
    37
    12
See reviews for
95
96
22
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2010

I travel to this area of Sweden regularly on business and decided to give this hotel a try and overall I was impressed. The Grand is not exactly "grand" in its style but the hotel deocr is modern and clean, it has a warm and friendly feel with a nice bar and lobby area.
Check in was easy and the staff very helpful. My room was finished to a good standard, clean and airy. The room was well appointed and decor was warm. I liked the fact that in-room wireless was free of charge. Breakfast was standard fare, good quality and choice, my only complaint is the seating arrangements on "canteen" style tables, not a major issue but does mean there is no personal space or privacy at breakfast. I did use the sauna but have to say it felt very dated and slightly unclean.
The location of the hotel is super, with restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. The hotel has a car park but I just used street level parking as its free after 6.30pm.
Overall I had a great stay, rooms were great and the staff fantastic in my view. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend this hotel if you plan to stay in Norrkoping.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2010

Location: the hotel is conveniently located close to both the city center, train and bus stations. You reach all three within five minutes if you walk. The hotel is situated next to Motala Ström and the rooms facing this direction have very pleasant views.

Check-in: efficient and friendly.

Room: we got a deluxe corner room on the 5th floor which had excellent views towards Motala Ström. The room was average sized and had modern furnishings. The bathroom looked dated and the sink had very little room for a glass for the toothbrush etc. The room had windows facing two directions and we kept them open as the rooms had no air conditioning (it's rarely hot in Sweden but it was hot and the room was too hot to be comfortable). The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast: I'm used to British hotel breakfasts and was fairly disappointed in the breakfast on offer. There was a large selection of cold cuts, several kinds of bread and rolls but there was no hot offerings at all (no bacon, susages or similar). There were plenty of available tables in The Bishop's Arms pub.

Overall: the location is excellent and the summer offer for the deluxe room is good value for money. If you drive then it's generally cheaper to pay for street parking than to pay SEK 95 for the hotel parking (at a nearby parking garage).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwedeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

Its fine- great beds-nice location but lacks the finish of elite in gothenburg- the bishops arms is the only place in the sun-not the best but ok

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

The good: Nice restaurant/pub.
The bad: We got a room that was like a sauna when we entered it and we turned on the "aircon" device to full blast, but it was a weak and old one incapable of helping out. We opened the windows, but they opened to a covered inner courtyard that was even hotter. The staff just said "sorry, but we have no aircon", which is something the hotel's website conveniently omits. In fact, the website doesn't give room details at all. In the end we lay on the beds covered in sweat with a cranky child in the extra bed (for which they ofcourse remember to charge). Just about the worst night of my 1000+ nights in hotels.

As to the high quality claimed by the hotel, it is nice quality if compared to some hotels in the UK (this being clearly modelled in the "antique chic" style popular in UK hotels), but aging and slightly decrepit (even aside from the lack of aircon) by any nordic standard.

In the interest of fairness I must say that the rooms are probably very warm and cozy in the winter, just avoid this hotel like the plague during summetime.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dodger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Norrkoping hotels

Honefoss, Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

I stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a workshop at the University. I think the hotel looks good, its big and kind of elegant with its old time style... but when you look closer to details, it is not so charming.... my room was more "old" than "antique"... the furniture was a little bit too used, and the bed was not very comfortable, old, with very soft mattress. The bedroom was very small, and it had a small old TV. The blinds not so good so I was wide awake with plenty of daylight in the room, right since sun came up... and this can be very early depending the season... The bathroom was also small, very small. Breakfast was OK, but I am not too much of a breakfast person though... I guess I would have been a little dissapointed if I was.
All was clean and neat.
Service was friendly.
Location was nice.
Since it was work, I did not pay myself so it is difficult to decide weather to recommend it or not... I guess there should be better choices.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birtual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

I got a room on the top floor with a good view and modern equipment, but a bit on the tiny side. Parts of the hotel is rather pretty but other parts, like the stairs are really not very nice. And since one of two elevators were broken you got to see a lot of the stairs if you lived on the top floor. Breakfast was ok, but nothing special and the noise from the street could be heard, even on the top floor. There are not many other options in Norrköping and the Grand Hotel is very conveniently located so I guess still it is a good choice. You can get really good deals if you book a couple of weeks in advance.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiehager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Norrkoping hotels
0.0 mi away
Strand Hotell
Strand Hotell
#2 of 12 in Norrkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#4 of 12 in Norrkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princess Hotel
BEST WESTERN Princess Hotel
#9 of 12 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping City
Scandic Norrkoping City
#8 of 12 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Hotel President
ProfilHotels Hotel President
#5 of 12 in Norrkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Fridhem
Villa Fridhem
#7 of 12 in Norrkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping

Property: Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Address: 2 Tyska Torget | PO Box 1152, Norrkoping 602 24, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Norrkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is centrally located by the Motala River at Tyska Torget in Norrkoping. The building has a long history and was first inaugurated in 1906. The hotel boasts a beautiful banquet hall, a prime waterfront location and a gastropub with a spacious outdoor area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Grand Norrköping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing