We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Fridhem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Fridhem
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Norrkoping
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great service in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I stayed in Villa Fridhem for 4 nights and 4 days for a business training with 20 others. It is in a beautiful location but can be hard to find.
We arrived late at night on the national holiday (June 6th) and the hotel was officially not open. However they hung a bag on the entrance door with a welcome letter, keys to our rooms and instructions where to find refreshments. Great service!
The rooms were very comfortable. Nice, firm bed, good shower, clean.
All meals were good, some diners even very good. Nice, fresh, local produce, prepared as it should. The staff was very attentive and no (odd) request was too much.
If I ever need to go back to that area I would defintely like to stay in Villa Fridhem again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inge_Marlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    31
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
17
Solo
0
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norrkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I have visited Villa Fridhem multiple times on business, and have been pleased every time. The hotel is an old royal residence that has been modified to suit the current purpose. The conference rooms are located in the main building, which is nicely maintained in an old style. Although some parts are quite worn, this does not influence the overall impression. The rooms and spa are located in a separate building, adjacent to the main building. The rooms are nice and clean and have a decent standard. There are some minor deficiencies that probably should be improved, but the overall impression is not really influenced. The beds are good, but not up to the "excellent" mark.
The spa has two saunas (women/men) a medium sized pool and a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi has, unfortunately, been out of order during my latest two visits, which is a bit of an issue for a "spa hotel".
The best things about Villa Fridhem are (1) the excellent (!) food and (2) the nice surroundings. The view is really nice, and there are good possibilities for taking a hike in the woods.
Villa Fridhem is one of the places in this region that I like coming back to.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nietsoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2011

I was here in my fam trip with VisitSweden. Hotel (like almost all sweden Hotel of such quality) has wonderfull atmosphere - fresh, forest,lake, spa, beautiful terretory, wonderful dinners. it's also good for conference, If you would like to rest from megapolices - it;s your choice.
It;s also near Norrkoping (it;s wonderful city) and safari park Kolmorden.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdromuser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Fire-pots burning all the way up to the beautiful house! Came in to warm X-masdinner. Good food and perfect service. We also had a small conference that took place in one of the meeting rooms. The big house has a long history that the owner gave us information about. Belgian, Danish and Swedish royalties has lived and stayed here. There is also a SPA, with a pool ( 28 Degrees C ) I did not get to try this, but I will definitely return for a day spa treatment. I was also told that Santa Claus of Kålmården lives around the corner between December 13 and 22.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norrkoping
5.9 mi away
Strand Hotell
Strand Hotell
#2 of 12 in Norrkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
Comfort Hotel Norrkoping
#4 of 12 in Norrkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.9 mi away
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
Elite Grand Hotel Norrkoping
#3 of 12 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
Scandic Norrkoping Nord
#6 of 12 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
13.4 mi away
Soderkopings Brunn
Soderkopings Brunn
#1 of 1 in Soderkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princess Hotel
BEST WESTERN Princess Hotel
#9 of 12 in Norrkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fridhem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fridhem

Property: Villa Fridhem
Address: Geta Villa Fridhem, Norrkoping 619 90, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Ostergotland County > Norrkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Norrkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Fridhem 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fridhem located apx 10 min north of Norrkoping in pristine surroundings overlooking the bay. The main building was built in 1909 as summer mansion for Prince Carl of Sweden and his family who used the property until 1954. We offer 53 delightful rooms with private bathrooms. Full service restaurant and bar. Indoor pool and sauna as well as spa-treatments are available. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Fridhem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing