We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Destinia.com
Prestigia.com
Official Site
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveler rating
362
76
23
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
362
76
23
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews healthy food life changing digital detox health retreat superior suite spa treatments heaven on earth moment you arrive koh samui open air the general manager private beach wellness classes meditation program holistic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
318 - 323 of 470 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I've had the pleasure of enjoying a very relaxing vacation here. I went for the full-blown 9-day-detox and came back renewed. It is a very special place and the magic of the spiritual mountain flows through you the moment you arrive and open up to it. Staff is very friendly, therapists are all Reiki-trained, something that does make the difference from any other massage I ever had in Thailand. The food is good, healthy and lots of variety. If you need to recharge your battery and want to be taken care off, this is the place! Also met some lovely people here, so not a problem to go on your own (actually I would recommend it - as this is an experience you want to keep to yourself). I had a sea view villa, but with the busy program a normal room is just as fine. If you do not like very hard mattresses, make sure you ask for a top deck when making the booking, these are available free of charge. There is also a nice pillow-menu. Why just not try them all and find your favorite one at last :) You will loose weight, even if only climbing the hills all day long from beach, to room, to restaurant, to spa is all you do.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Karen2702
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Totally surpassed my expectations, the photos don't do it justice. A beautiful, clam little oasis of a resort. Lovely beach, not great for snorkelling but perfect for a dip to cool off and a gorgeous place to lie back and watch the sea. Our room was large, sumptuous and comfortable and our balcony had a fantastic view of the sea. The service we got was impeccable, we felt so spoilt and looked after, no request was a problem. The grounds are so lush and tropical - I really think their website doesn't show the size and scale of the pools and grounds. Treatments and yoga classes and food were fab too - will i be going back? yes, yes, yes, yes. We got a package deal with treatments and full board and I think it was great value for money.

Room tip: We chose a sea view suite which had great views and was very quiet. We didn't get an outside bath which annoyed me at first but we really didn't need it.
Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachelc1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent, only, 7 days in this beautiful holistic resort early December 2012
We had an absolute fantastic experience.
Kamalaya resort is located well off the main action and busy beach and party areas.. Being there one has no time to even think about other activities then concentrating on your own program... We opted for the yoga private lessons and the optimal fitness program as also a detox program, both guided by professional instructors, friendly, supportive they led us through the rather intense program, it left us however enough ample time to follow some other sport 'classes'... and of course the fabulous massages that should not be omitted at all!!! I opted for the Thai massage one day and the oil sport massages the other day... all activities were given in the most beautiful serene settings little "huts" scattered between the rocks and palm trees most with a beautiful view on the sea, the islands and the sun set...the constant sound of the sea on the back ground is very relaxing...
We enjoyed each meal at the Kamalaya, the healthy breakfast/lunch/dinners mostly vegetarian and original in taste and ingredients... the "health" juices as much as you want are fabulous!
The resort is located on a sea view sloping rocky hill area with each building on a different location on the hills, this “hiking” was for not a problem at all for us... even good to have the constant exercise... they can provide, electrical "shuttle" service to bring guests, up and down the hills, to the beach and so on...We were not avid swimmers so the smaller pools and the low tide low shallow sea was not an issue for us.
We found our room basic luxurious large enough with a comfortable shower outside on the balcony… The bed are indeed a bit too hard, one can ask for the small mattress addition the will make the beds more comfortable..

The whole experience was to our full satisfaction and expectation… We did not see the island, as only to and from the airport… But that was more then enough for us…
We booked again in December 2013 for 10 days

Room tip: room 32/333/34/36 have the nicest views and are easy reachable
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank worldtravellerfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I've been in Kamalaya several times, and I always had a great opinion about it. But this time - ohmygod!- things are changed. Poor service at the reception and at the spa. Confusion, lack of kindness, really far from the sense of quiteness and pampering that I used to feel. Last but not least: a massage in the half of a cutting grass session, all for 3000 bath. Better going to Swing Bar beach massage for 250 bath and listen to tecno music. I don't know if it is my last time in Koh Samui but my last time in Kamalaya for sure.

Date of stay: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gutenbergiareal
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just spent a week in this beautiful resort. Location is far from everything else, so great if you are looking to "retreat" and be on your own. Ideal for those who are not interested to go out of the resort at all. It is excellent to just laze by the pool or the beach and have no noise or too many tourists disturbing you. Food is super healthy and yummy. Great place for those seeking to detox and eat healthy. Service staff was not as what i expect from a five star resort in Thailand. Some were really friendly, some did not even bother to smile when they see you. GM, Clive and his manager, Tibor, were really helpful though. They went all out to meet our needs. There are so many different room categories, but the ones with the best views are the Suite Sea View Rooms. Room 33 and 34 have the best view in the whole resort! Otherwise, the lowest room category was disappointing, given the price you are paying. You can have a better room elsewhere in Samui with that price. I guess you are paying for seclusion and privacy in Kamalaya. it is quite a hike around the resort to go from one place to another. so not too ideal for those who are not so fit, though they do have buggies to ferry you around. Wifi is super slow. the gym is big and nice. both yoga pavilions are gorgeous! you can't really swim on their beach. it's very shallow. the spa and wellness centre is very big and clearly, they are the pros in this department. the three plunge pools are free for use by all guests. overall, an ideal place to go for detox and remove yourself from the rest of the world. but if you are seeking to travel and look around Samui, then stay somewhere in town.

Room tip: Pick a room with seaview, otherwise, forget about this hotel.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank frequentflyersg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews