We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second time there...and still some reservations” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kamalaya Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamalaya Koh Samui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Second time there...and still some reservations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went back to Kamalaya. That should tell you something about the place. I still found that it is far too expensive, though, and now that I've had more experience in Asia, I think my view is even more justified. A ginger tea (ginger pieces in hot water) for US$5?

Massages
The treatments were good (I especially recommend the Ayurvedic massages) but they go for more than US$120 for an hour. And check the time - I felt that the therapists were cutting off 5-7 minutes so that they could be in time for the next client.

I had the Thai herbal compress massage which, I can safely say, was one of the best massages of my life!

Food
The food is very good - although I think the lunch at Amrita could do with some help. We had some mishaps there such as the pasta with the chickpea sauce (which was pasta covered in hummous) and other bland things but the dinner menu compensated.
I think Kamalaya makes a good chunk of their profits from the price of the food...the meal plan basically costs about US$30 per meal - even breakfast. I don't think it is good value for money but does able one to explore the fancy drinks without much guilt. I had the meal plan as part of the treatment package but would not take it otherwise.

SERVICE
Compared to the last time we were there, we felt that the service has dropped slightly. Staff were not at friendly as before and certainly were not attentive.

All in all, a good place but I felt - both times I was there - that I was being pickpocketed in broad daylight.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bluemercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    65
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
98
154
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

While I agree with many of the other reviews about it being very peaceful and relaxing, my own view is that as a "retreat" it under delivers. I was surprised at a few things
The rooms were nice, however, compared to "high end " hotels it was well below expectations
I don't mind a firm bed, however, this was really a bit extreme
If you are going for one of the programs, I felt there was little or no support on how you were progressing, I also overheard many raise issue with lack of trainers and therapists availability
Also, as I love to swim, the view is slightly misleading. You can't just go on beach for swim( unless the peak of high tide) as the water is too shallow. Your choices are 7 min walk down beach or 7- 10 min walk out to sea( until it becomes waist deep)
Again, while staff were pleasant and even with the room upgrade and amazing scenery, I don't think I would return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jeffreycritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed by myself at Kamalaya for 5 nights in June 2012.
I enjoyed my relaxing peacful time there a lot. The staff are incredibly nice, friendly & helpful.
Apart from your own retreat program (whether it's massage, private class, etc), there is scheduled program twice a day; morning & afternoon for you to join.
Swimming pool, tho not big, is good enough for a lap swimming.
Massage here are terrific, one of the best for me.
Food are healthy, but still good taste, and variety enough for your long stay.
Recommended not to order rare dish (I ordered ostrich, & it turned out very stale that I could not chewed it, but they then replaced the order for me.)
Library are full of books.
Despite it is located in Thailand, I was the only Thai guest there.
Although it is quite a bit high price.
I still highly recommend for those who want to have a quiet time while recharging your inner strength or balancing your life.

Room Tip: With some higher price; the suite or villa type of rooms are a lot larger & offer far better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarinM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Its a little pearl of Koh Samui. Time stopped for the 10days we spent there. Healthy, beautiful food, nice conversational groups, yoga....oh and the treatments!!!! Still dreaming about them!
First night we stayed in a hillside sea view room but the overnight the AC brough in very bad smell. Next day they moved us to a nice villa to make up for the first night smell.
Great service, relaxation and a way of simple life.
Loved it!

Room Tip: as close as possible to the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Traveller2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

Although our stay at Kamalaya was brief we simply we had an amazing time. The resort itself is gorgeously set against a hilllside. The accommodation was perfect, with all the amenities (incl options of 2 showers just in case..) and more. The staff were happy and friendly, eager to help when needed and although we were travelling with a baby (and the resort is not specifically equipped for this), all staff was extremely helpful and smiley and could not keep themselves from playing with our little man. The food, in spite of it being mostly focused on detox, is delicious and the breakfast buffet is simpy to die for. Unlimited juices, wheatgrass and gotu kola shots, an amazing fruit buffet as well as salad bar, hot food section, nut seed bar with nut and seed milks, and bread bar (with gluten free options). Make sure you come early as you can easily spend hours at breakfast. The facilities are picture perfect with the swimming pool bordering a lovely pond with waterfall features. The private beach is clean and white. Although the sea can be quite far out, the view on the national park makes it a stunning setting. The icing on the cake is the excellent wellness center offering every kind of treatment you can think of and never heard of! Their staff seem to be have been carefully selected to provide a high standard of health and wellbeing and with selection of visiting practitioners from around world to also choose from, we were well looked after. Can't wait to return!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Rice_paddy7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a quiet place, no noisey bars, no karaoke, no TV in your room. No over crowded beach or pool. A place for wellness and relaxation. Healthy eating and getting into the zen mode.
Friendly and helpful staff always serving you with a smile.

Room Tip: We had an ocean facing twin room, it was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tsuey_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

The closest place to HEAVEN i have ever visited .
The best thing for a single mum of 3 , who also looks after her parents .
No cooking , no cleaning ..... just pure relaxation .
The staff were nurturing , helpful and so friendly .
The food was magnificent ( i like eating healthily )
The treatments unbelievable .
I spent a lot of time meditating in the buddhist monk cave ...... which helped my general well being.
Then there was the beach , time to reflect , restore , renew .

Room Tip: No. 28 or 32 Deluxe sea view suite . Fabulous view and private .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mouse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
9.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
7.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
2.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
9.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalaya Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalaya Koh Samui

Property: Kamalaya Koh Samui
Address: 102/9 Moo 3, Laem Set Rd, | Na-Mueang subdistrict, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamalaya Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
Kamalaya Koh Samui Hotel Laem Set
Kamalaya Hotel Koh Samui
Kamalaya Spa Koh Samui
Kamalaya Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing