We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need peace! Kamalaya is the answer”
Review of Kamalaya Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kamalaya Koh Samui
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Its a little pearl of Koh Samui. Time stopped for the 10days we spent there. Healthy, beautiful food, nice conversational groups, yoga....oh and the treatments!!!! Still dreaming about them!
First night we stayed in a hillside sea view room but the overnight the AC brough in very bad smell. Next day they moved us to a nice villa to make up for the first night smell.
Great service, relaxation and a way of simple life.
Loved it!

Room Tip: as close as possible to the beach!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Traveller2628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Kamalaya Koh Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

250 - 256 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

Although our stay at Kamalaya was brief we simply we had an amazing time. The resort itself is gorgeously set against a hilllside. The accommodation was perfect, with all the amenities (incl options of 2 showers just in case..) and more. The staff were happy and friendly, eager to help when needed and although we were travelling with a baby (and the resort is not specifically equipped for this), all staff was extremely helpful and smiley and could not keep themselves from playing with our little man. The food, in spite of it being mostly focused on detox, is delicious and the breakfast buffet is simpy to die for. Unlimited juices, wheatgrass and gotu kola shots, an amazing fruit buffet as well as salad bar, hot food section, nut seed bar with nut and seed milks, and bread bar (with gluten free options). Make sure you come early as you can easily spend hours at breakfast. The facilities are picture perfect with the swimming pool bordering a lovely pond with waterfall features. The private beach is clean and white. Although the sea can be quite far out, the view on the national park makes it a stunning setting. The icing on the cake is the excellent wellness center offering every kind of treatment you can think of and never heard of! Their staff seem to be have been carefully selected to provide a high standard of health and wellbeing and with selection of visiting practitioners from around world to also choose from, we were well looked after. Can't wait to return!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Rice_paddy7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It's a quiet place, no noisey bars, no karaoke, no TV in your room. No over crowded beach or pool. A place for wellness and relaxation. Healthy eating and getting into the zen mode.
Friendly and helpful staff always serving you with a smile.

Room Tip: We had an ocean facing twin room, it was lovely.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tsuey_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The closest place to HEAVEN i have ever visited .
The best thing for a single mum of 3 , who also looks after her parents .
No cooking , no cleaning ..... just pure relaxation .
The staff were nurturing , helpful and so friendly .
The food was magnificent ( i like eating healthily )
The treatments unbelievable .
I spent a lot of time meditating in the buddhist monk cave ...... which helped my general well being.
Then there was the beach , time to reflect , restore , renew .

Room Tip: No. 28 or 32 Deluxe sea view suite . Fabulous view and private .
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mouse07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I am a bit of a spa junkie and have a self-imposed aim of trying as many wellness retreats as possible. Many recommendations from friends led me to Kamalaya and it was a thoroughly relaxing experience. The endless number of treatment options and the flexibility of treatment times is one thing that really sets other similar properties apart. Even at near-full capacity there was never an issue with re-scheduling a treatment or booking a last minute Pilates or Yoga class. Unique wellness offerings such as holistic healing are phenomenal and worth trying. The food at both restaurants at first glance seems simple but after a few meals you realise the benefit is that it translates to sustainability: in that you would relatively easily be able to replicate most dishes yourself at home - something that with the level of sophistication at other resorts would be difficult. Having said that the food is packed with flavour and is abundantly good for you! Kamalaya is a relatively small and compact property with everything from restaurants, treatment facilities, beach and common areas all within a 5-minute walk of each other. Those with knee issues or other mobility concerns can simply call for a buggy to take you the short distance but in general it is easy to navigate and to get around. The beach is disappointing; rocky and slightly stagnant water. This means that it's not a swimming beach but the sand beachfront is pristine white with plenty of sun-beds and lots of privacy. If the beach (and swimming) is one of your top priorities then Kamalaya is not for you. If it is wellness, food, and treatments then there are few better options anywhere in Asia. There are endless unique aspects of Kamalaya from the infra-red sauna to meditation caves and much more but a nice touch is the communal dining table open to anyone who is willing to share their time with others. There are more than ample opportunities to have a very private retreat and detox but they make it just that little bit easier for the single traveler or those looking to connect with others in a very safe environment. The only concern I have about Kamalaya is the less than professional staff; from a member of reception who was unnecessarily overtly rude to my traveling companion for the entire stay and more than a few spa staff who became a bit too friendly with guests and openly commenting about matters of a very personal nature.

Room Tip: Forget the 'rooms', select a private suite or villa and really make the most of your retreat...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank LuxeTravelerHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Kamalaya excelled in all areas, the pleasantness of the staff, the excellent customer service (which was proactive rather than reactive), the GM (Clive) was visible every day all over the Spa, he really took an interest in his guests and what was going on around the resort.

The food was to die for, extremely healthy, tasty and filling, what more could you ask for. The chef was only too happy to send copies of the recipes to your room on request. The community table is a fabulous idea, we made a number of friends from all over the world who we have already engaged with since returning.

The services, I went to de stress after 5 years of hell, I took meditation class, colonic and blue lght / Reiki sessions, all of which had excellent results. The spa staff were angels, so professional and considerate all of the time. Rajesh (meditation) is such a lovely man, Kamalaya should be very proud. But the gold star has to go to Nicky Kassapian the spiritual healer, she provided wonderful treatments and also coping strategies, she was also very caring outside of the sessions towards the guests and sat with us on the community table for dinner where we all had a blast.

The environment was really tranquil with both open spaces where you could meet up with others but also there were many hidy holes where you could retreat and read a book or just chill out and enjoy the sounds and the sun.

I cant wait until I can return again next year, but for 2 weeks not one.

Room Tip: Sea View room highly recommended. The garden facing rooms are smaller. The view from the sea view...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

U can feel the calmness and spirituality as soon as u enter the resort. 
We booked a sea view villa but on arrival were upgraded to a villa with a pool! Which was a lovely b'day surprise! The villa Was stunning ... It was a mini spa just for us. The consultation that I had when I arrived was good and Kenna was so patient and lovely when I had follow up questions. 
I booked the relax & renew package - the treatments were excellent. 
The therapists at the Spa are splendid. All rooms have a view of the sea or the gardens which is so relaxing in itself.  
Yoga, meditation, Pilates, stretching, sessions with visiting professionals are all complimentary and a must do. 
The food is very healthy and well presented. The menu is a bit limited but we loved everything we tried. 
The atmosphere at Kamalaya is something that we've never experienced in any other resort around the world. Everyone from the staff to the guests are friendly and welcoming. We made some great friends ... Everyone who comes to kamalaya comes with an intension or purpose and it was great to meet and get to know different people and their stories. 

The kamalaya experience is something that you need to experience yourself to understand.  We opened our minds and hearts to people and experiences .... And came back relaxed and somehow happier and calmer. 

A big thank you to the EXCELLENT staff at kamalaya

Room Tip: Pool Villa is great if you have the budget. However you aren't very much in the room so it does...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank The_Foodie_Pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
12.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
0.4 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,627 reviews
7.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
5.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,405 reviews
10.2 mi away
SENSIMAR Koh Samui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamalaya Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamalaya Koh Samui

Address: 102/9 Moo 3, Laem Set Rd, | Na-Mueang subdistrict, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price Range: $241 - $626 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kamalaya Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Prestigia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kamalaya Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamalaya Koh Samui Hotel Laem Set
Kamalaya Hotel Koh Samui
Kamalaya Spa Koh Samui
Kamalaya Koh Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing