We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in quiet area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banburee Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I found this hotel through Groupon (180 baht per night) and Rose, the assistant marketing manager, was really helpful with the questions I asked through e-mail.

When we arrived, it seemed like we were the only couple/guests at the hotel. But the next morning, we saw two other couples during breakfast! Perhaps it was not peak season.

Upon our arrival, we received two bowls of Thai dessert and a plate of fruits in our deluxe room. Our room was very spacious and clean, with a view of the garden and the sea that was a bit far off. There is a TV and DVD player. Unfortunately, there were only a few English channels and we ended up always watching one channel (in English) which featured animals all the time!

There is a nice swimming pool for adults, one for kids and a jacuzzi. You can walk out to the beach but we did not go as it was low tide. The breakfast was alright. They gave us a choice so we chose the American breakfast the first morning and they cooked it for us.

The hotel is quite a distance from the tourist spots and restaurants but they offer shuttle buses that can fetch you to and fro from Lamai and Chaweng. If not, you can rent a motorbike from the hotel at quite an affordable price. It was so much fun riding the bike (I was riding pillion!) around the island! There are two routes to return to the hotel from the main road, so take the one with more lights if you are going back to the hotel at night.

The hotel staff were pleasant, friendly and speak good English. They were helpful and very good with directions when we needed to find certain places.

Along with the fun I had visiting the various places on the beautiful island, I miss my 3d/3n stay in Banburee despite its not so strategic location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

Immaculate rooms, away from the city , excellent service, sea facing hotel,bathtub with jacuzzi, private beach, well I had all these in here, it was simply awesome and something i really was looking for, the most unforgettable stay and a refreshing holiday thanks to the staffs specially Rose.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Backpackways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Banburee Resort & Spa. The Staff were very friendly, the organisation with shuttlebus and taxi perfekt and allways in time. It is a wonderful and quiet place-perfekt to calm down and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Aline B

Thank you for staying with us and taking your valuable time sharing your kind feed back. We are please to know that you had a wonderful time in our place and find our staffs are frinedly.

As Banburee management team, we appreciate for your visit and do hope that you will allow us the future opportunity to deliver another relaxing holiday.

Kind Regard
Kornrat Naeramitmansuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this place.

Great huge rooms, all of them with private jacuzzi and balconies.

Just ok breakfast buffet, with European standards.

The hotel is in a very quite and peaceful location, you will need a vespa or car, to go to shops, bars and restaurant.

Really nice pool area where you can relax, just at the beach side.

Friendly staff, most of them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjalmar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mr.Hjalmar A

Thank you for your valuable time to feed back us. It's really nice to hear your appreciation about our place and our people. This motivates and inspires us to strive for better.

As the hotel management, please accept my sincere thanks for staying with us. We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind Regard
Kornrat Naeramitmansuk.
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

First things first, this is a spa resort ( which is quite obvious from the name), and it lives up to expectations. The rooms are spacious and the pool is fantastic - with sea views and no time restrictions on usage ( Well, we went for a swim at 4 am).

However, if you are a backpacker or someone looking to 'explore Samui and party' - the distance from this hotel to the action beaches is a bit of a dampener since you will need to rely on the shuttle or rent a bike ( which I strongly recommend). The hotel is very helpful and will arrange the bike for you at 250 Baht a day which is a good deal.

Coming to the Spa at the hotel - we did not use it, since we found it to be a little overpriced compared to the other options available across the island. The breakfast is decent and the quality of the food is pretty good.

There are several unbelievably amazing and good value for money restaurants withiin walking distance + a couple of empty clean beaches.

It is a great place to have a relaxing holiday, enjoy some sun n beach while being away from go-go bars and the Chang drinking loud tourists.

ps: Mr. Don at the bar is a very very helpful resident Manager and will go out of the way to help you with any travel need or any questions you might have about local tips/cultures/arranging tickets etc.

Room Tip: Do not fall for the balconies as they are too small. The higher the room, the better the views thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mr.WherelsPrateekT
We appreciate your kind feedback and thank you again for staying with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our facility and service live up to your expectations.

For the spa, our resort is now under development, and we aim to complete our project by August 2013, in which Banburee will be positioned as the first integrative health resort in samui, featury comprehensive holistic health modelities, in cooperation with an array at anti-aging programns from medical expertise team.

Don did appreciate your recognition to his work, and on behalf of Banburee Management Team we thank you again for your visit and looking forward to welcome you back.

Best Regard
Kornrat Naeramitmansuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is not to bad, good swimming pool and service but food and drinks they charge too much . The hotel is way to far from everything and for the price you can do much better in a better location as well because even the tur service refuse to pick you up for the regular price.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikaentchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mr.Pikaentchu

We appreciate your patronage and thank you very much for sharing your valuable feed back with us. Your comment on the Trip Advisor has brought to our attention, and we'll continue to improve our service and quality to serve our customer better.

On behalf of top management, we thank you again, and hope to have our opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regard
Kornrat Naermitmansuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

1. Secluded, Quiet. Not a happening place. Every shuttle bus trip to happening place will cost you $.
2. Room toilets are never cleaned by housekeeping. Even after reminder, they are not cleaned.
3. Staff will book taxi for you at the highest possible fare. Not sure whether they take a cut. Taxi is costly.
4. In house restaurant food is double the price of a restaurant's, and do not taste better.
5. Not much of a beach around Banburee. You would not feel like taking a dip or walking the beach here.
6. Booked spa for massage, but was told at last hour no staff available. Spa prices are three times the normal price.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a happening place, stay at a lodge along Chaweng Beach or Lamai. It would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Mr.Kelvin N

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and spend your valuable time sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best service during their travel, so we are sorry to hear that you didn't have much chance to explore the happening place as you expected.

First and formost I can assure you that none of my staff would book the taxi for you at the highest possible fare, because, with all my integrity, we take no cut on it. As a local people, we are aware that the cost of private taxi in Samui would be over standard price comparing to other region in Thailand. Therefore we provide resort shuttle for our dear guest and if you are kindly arrange time to fit with shuttle, the price would be very much cheaper.

Please accept our apology for an unprofessional cleaning which created you inconvenience that weren't necessary. The issue has been addressed to the Housekeeping Department and I am confident that you would see a significant improvement during a future stay as the experience you made are certainly not the norm.

We are currently in the dry season with low water levels which is exposing more of the beach area. On the bright side, there is more space on the beach to enjoy little creature and if you don't mind to walk across the beach about 600m, there is a coral reef which is a great place for snorkeling.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we would be delighted being able welcoming you back soon.

Kornrat Naeramitmarnsuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.7 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,682 reviews
11.2 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
728 reviews
4.9 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
10.3 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#10 of 30 in Mae Nam
634 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#6 of 51 in Lamai Beach
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banburee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banburee Resort & Spa

Address: 102/8 Moo 3, Laem Set Road, Namuang | Ko Samui, Suratthani, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price Range: $46 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banburee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself with a stay at this boutique resort in Samui Island. Hideaway Villa on a small beautiful Mountain" Our resort overlooking azure seas and private beaches. It is an idyllic setting to enjoy tropical sunsets, Refreshing you by a specialist spa therapist and savor our signature island cuisine at beside the sea. * Not recommend for those who has a problem with knee and walking problem to stay at Banburee Resort* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banburee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banburee Hotel Laem Set
Banburee Resort And Spa
Banburee Hotel Surat Thani
Banburee Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing