We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banburee Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a wonderful time in Banburee Resort & Spa. The Staff were very friendly, the organisation with shuttlebus and taxi perfekt and allways in time. It is a wonderful and quiet place-perfekt to calm down and relax.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Aline B

Thank you for staying with us and taking your valuable time sharing your kind feed back. We are please to know that you had a wonderful time in our place and find our staffs are frinedly.

As Banburee management team, we appreciate for your visit and do hope that you will allow us the future opportunity to deliver another relaxing holiday.

Kind Regard
Kornrat Naeramitmansuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 238 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this place.

Great huge rooms, all of them with private jacuzzi and balconies.

Just ok breakfast buffet, with European standards.

The hotel is in a very quite and peaceful location, you will need a vespa or car, to go to shops, bars and restaurant.

Really nice pool area where you can relax, just at the beach side.

Friendly staff, most of them.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hjalmar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mr.Hjalmar A

Thank you for your valuable time to feed back us. It's really nice to hear your appreciation about our place and our people. This motivates and inspires us to strive for better.

As the hotel management, please accept my sincere thanks for staying with us. We are looking forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind Regard
Kornrat Naeramitmansuk.
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

First things first, this is a spa resort ( which is quite obvious from the name), and it lives up to expectations. The rooms are spacious and the pool is fantastic - with sea views and no time restrictions on usage ( Well, we went for a swim at 4 am).

However, if you are a backpacker or someone looking to 'explore Samui and party' - the distance from this hotel to the action beaches is a bit of a dampener since you will need to rely on the shuttle or rent a bike ( which I strongly recommend). The hotel is very helpful and will arrange the bike for you at 250 Baht a day which is a good deal.

Coming to the Spa at the hotel - we did not use it, since we found it to be a little overpriced compared to the other options available across the island. The breakfast is decent and the quality of the food is pretty good.

There are several unbelievably amazing and good value for money restaurants withiin walking distance + a couple of empty clean beaches.

It is a great place to have a relaxing holiday, enjoy some sun n beach while being away from go-go bars and the Chang drinking loud tourists.

ps: Mr. Don at the bar is a very very helpful resident Manager and will go out of the way to help you with any travel need or any questions you might have about local tips/cultures/arranging tickets etc.

Room Tip: Do not fall for the balconies as they are too small. The higher the room, the better the views thoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mr.WherelsPrateekT
We appreciate your kind feedback and thank you again for staying with us. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our facility and service live up to your expectations.

For the spa, our resort is now under development, and we aim to complete our project by August 2013, in which Banburee will be positioned as the first integrative health resort in samui, featury comprehensive holistic health modelities, in cooperation with an array at anti-aging programns from medical expertise team.

Don did appreciate your recognition to his work, and on behalf of Banburee Management Team we thank you again for your visit and looking forward to welcome you back.

Best Regard
Kornrat Naeramitmansuk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is not to bad, good swimming pool and service but food and drinks they charge too much . The hotel is way to far from everything and for the price you can do much better in a better location as well because even the tur service refuse to pick you up for the regular price.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pikaentchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, General Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Mr.Pikaentchu

We appreciate your patronage and thank you very much for sharing your valuable feed back with us. Your comment on the Trip Advisor has brought to our attention, and we'll continue to improve our service and quality to serve our customer better.

On behalf of top management, we thank you again, and hope to have our opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regard
Kornrat Naermitmansuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

1. Secluded, Quiet. Not a happening place. Every shuttle bus trip to happening place will cost you $.
2. Room toilets are never cleaned by housekeeping. Even after reminder, they are not cleaned.
3. Staff will book taxi for you at the highest possible fare. Not sure whether they take a cut. Taxi is costly.
4. In house restaurant food is double the price of a restaurant's, and do not taste better.
5. Not much of a beach around Banburee. You would not feel like taking a dip or walking the beach here.
6. Booked spa for massage, but was told at last hour no staff available. Spa prices are three times the normal price.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a happening place, stay at a lodge along Chaweng Beach or Lamai. It would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kelvin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Dear Mr.Kelvin N

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and spend your valuable time sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. We strive to ensure our patrons experience the best service during their travel, so we are sorry to hear that you didn't have much chance to explore the happening place as you expected.

First and formost I can assure you that none of my staff would book the taxi for you at the highest possible fare, because, with all my integrity, we take no cut on it. As a local people, we are aware that the cost of private taxi in Samui would be over standard price comparing to other region in Thailand. Therefore we provide resort shuttle for our dear guest and if you are kindly arrange time to fit with shuttle, the price would be very much cheaper.

Please accept our apology for an unprofessional cleaning which created you inconvenience that weren't necessary. The issue has been addressed to the Housekeeping Department and I am confident that you would see a significant improvement during a future stay as the experience you made are certainly not the norm.

We are currently in the dry season with low water levels which is exposing more of the beach area. On the bright side, there is more space on the beach to enjoy little creature and if you don't mind to walk across the beach about 600m, there is a coral reef which is a great place for snorkeling.

Thank you once again for your feedback and we would be delighted being able welcoming you back soon.

Kornrat Naeramitmarnsuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

The resort is located about ten minutes from Lamai and offers a shuttle service into town for shopping or dinner and drinks. The resort itself is secluded and quiet and that was what we were looking for. Villas are very comfortable and well appointed. Lovely pool overlooking the beach and at night you can see the fishing boats in the Gulf. Staff were friendly and considerate, especially the night watchman with his trusty flashlight.
If you just want to relax and enjoy the quiet, this is the place!

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Sir & Madame

On behalf of Banburee Wellness Resort & Spa, please let me take this opportunity to thank you for staying with us. It was truely pleasure to welcome you as our guest. We hope that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is the first goal at our resort.
We greatly appreciate for spending your valuable time sharing your experience and comments. We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Kornrat Naeramitmarnsuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed there for 4 days and 3 nights in July 2012

Plus points
Rose, one of the reception staff was really helpful and went out of her way to help us. She is probably the only one who can speak decent English and can understand you properly other than Mem.

The rooms in the main building are decent.



Minus points

English Proficiency
Other than Rose, the rest of the staff especially the one at reception cannot speak English well. It gets really frustrating at times.

Breakfast
The breakfast was a major disappointment. I have been to hotels with lesser stars than Banburee's but with a lot better breakfast. It was just croissants and toast bread and cereal. No cooked food. It was so bad that we only went for the first morning. Did not go the rest of the mornings even though it was free.

Groupon
The pictures in the Groupon website look nothing like what we got. So misleading.


Reception after 10pm
Does not exist. Try calling after 10pm and you get a disgruntled guy waking up on the other line telling you grumpily to call back the next morning. He even hung up on me once when I wanted help with my TV channels.



The location
It is really away from where everything else happens. Taxi service at 500bhat per person is rather expensive so we had to rent a motorbike of which, even then, was about a 20-25 minute ride to Chaweng.

Feedback
Attempted to tell the staff about feedback but they don't appear like they know how to receive feedback. They just nodded.


All in all, I feel deceived as the price I paid was almost twice that of a 3 star hotel in Koh Phangan that was far more superior in so many ways. It is not worth your money. I feel that our biggest problem is that the Groupon voucher was misleading as the hotel did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HakeemSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kornrat N, Manager at Banburee Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Sir & Madame

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your times writing us valuable comments. We were extreamly sorry to know that you did not experience the service that you expected. Your points are very well noted and I would appreciate if you could please let me take this opportunity to introduce our resort to you once again.

Banburee Wellness Resort & Spa is centrally located at Lamset Beach, Samui, surrounded by lined of mountains and faces beach at the front. It takes about 25 kms from Chaweng and 10 kms from Lamai. Therefore, it would be perfect for anyone who needs quiet and peaceful vacations. However, for anyone who needs a street walk, we provide a shuttle three times a day and it cost only 50 Bath to Lamai, 100 Bath to Chaweng.

We do apologize about the breakfast service. The Breakfast is served from 7.00-10.30 AM, and after 11.00 AM we have to change the line preparing for lunch.

For the reception and english professional, we appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We will ensure that our staff will be able to inform all necessary and information to you and they will be ready to welcome you for the next time.

We hope that we will be professionally at your service once again.

Your Sincerely
Kornrat Naeramitmarnsuk
Assistant Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.7 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,661 reviews
11.2 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
466 reviews
4.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Privilege Hotel Ezra Beach Club
4.9 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
320 reviews
11.2 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banburee Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banburee Resort & Spa

Address: 102/8 Moo 3, Laem Set Road, Namuang | Ko Samui, Suratthani, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Laem Set
Price Range: $39 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Banburee Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge yourself with a stay at this boutique resort in Samui Island. Hideaway Villa on a small beautiful Mountain" Our resort overlooking azure seas and private beaches. It is an idyllic setting to enjoy tropical sunsets, Refreshing you by a specialist spa therapist and savor our signature island cuisine at beside the sea. * Not recommend for those who has a problem with knee and walking problem to stay at Banburee Resort* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Banburee Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banburee Hotel Laem Set
Banburee Resort And Spa
Banburee Hotel Surat Thani
Banburee Resort & Spa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing