We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food quality average with above average prices and no atmosphere”

BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $300
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: BEYOND THE SEA, the Siamese Brasserie, always welcomes you with the sense of familiarity and inviting atmosphere. Located in ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui serving authentic thai cuisine presented with a genteel western aesthetic style to deliver a flawless experience. In the early afternoon, the air is filled with the rich aromas of coffee. These give way to clinks of plates into full swing for the evening. Once the sun falls below the horizon into the night, you can share a great conversation with old friends while enjoying a drink from the premium list at the vintage bar.
Shanghai Region, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food quality average with above average prices and no atmosphere”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went to Beyond the Sea restaurant during our holiday and tried the local cuisine. The food was catered to the western palate and quite bland compared to authentic Thai cuisine. The decor and location of the restaurant are quite nice, but the atmosphere completely lacks any atmosphere or vibe. The wait staff is rather aloof and not friendly.

I would be very hesitant to recommend this restaurant. It is certainly not worth the drive across the island. There are many other better restaurant options, locally as well as in Lamai, Chewang.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    19
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a 2nd holiday visit !”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

The first time we visited we were not sure what to expect as only 16 reviews on here and a bit mixed feedback, but as we were staying so close to this restaurant at Centara Villas we thought we would give it a go! (It's about a 10min walk away, bit of a hill in places and very dark (no street lighting for first bit), so take a torch!). We were greeted by a very friendly hotel employee at the main reception, who personally took us to the restaurant (as opposed to just giving directions). We were given the option of sitting outside or inside. We chose outside and was given a large and comfortable table with sofas overlooking the garden / pools / beach. It looked a really pretty setting at night with lots of decorative lights (apparently these are just for Christmas period, but I think the hotel shod keep some of them as they make a lovely ambience). The main menu is half Thai and half western dishes. There is also their Thai tapas (we didn't have this). Staff were very welcoming, friendly and attentive with out being pushy and it was a really relaxed setting for a meal. We asked to make some variations to one of the main meals and desserts and the staff were happy to accommodate this at no charge). Food was excellent, served piping hot, each dish presented beautifully and cooked to perfection (especially the seabass) and had so much flavour. The staff arranged complimentary transport back to our hotel for us. The bill came to about £35, incl drinks, so more than a lot of the local Thai restaurants but worth it and still cheaper than a lot of UK restaurants! However they were the only restaurant we visited in two weeks that did not provide complimentary breads, which due to higher prices would have been expected. Due to a successful first visit, we visited again on our holidays and were remembered by the staff who automatically asked if we would like a table outside again and if we would like transport arranged back to Centara Villas. On this occasion we tried the special of the day (duck breast) and again was cooked superbly. Attention to detail and Customer Service at its best, fantastic food and two very enjoyable evenings!

Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Not the finest”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

They claim to have 'The Finest Mango Sticky Rice'; it is not - go to Rocky's. The sticky rice needed more coconut however it was beautifully presented. The restaurant setting is also beautiful.

The main reason for this 'Poor' review was that we just wanted the sticky rice but were talked into having a Sprite due to happy hour (buy one get one free). We double checked with our waiter that this applied to the 95 baht (>$3.00) Sprite (no confusion). Two Sprites were on the bill. The waiter 'disappeared' and a more senior waiter said that happy hour did not apply to soft drinks and refused to take the Sprite off the bill.

We probably would have given 95 baht for a tip; very poor service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We drove from Bophut to Beyond The Sea at ShaSa Resort - the final stretch of the drive was hectic, very dark and hilly.

But it was all worth it. The resort itself seems brand new and the setting of the restaurant is very idyllic too. Sitting on comfy sofas outside overlooking the pools and gardens with the sea beyond.

The menu comes on an iPad with lots of pictures of each dish. The pictures really did help when choosing dishes.

We went for a 'Thai Tapas' experience and ordered 6 dishes between 2 of us. The dishes were really well presented and tasted good too. I would say that each dish was way too big to justify the Tapas description.

The service and selection of cocktails were excellent too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taj s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Taj s,

Thank you very much for sparing your precious time reviewing us. I am so glad to learn that you had enjoyed our cuisine at Beyond the Sea.

Mr. Taj s, thanks again for your kind patronage and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai Tapas”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the nearby Rockys Boutique Hotel but travelled around the island of Koh Samui seeking out new restaurants and were pleasantly surprised to find Beyond the Sea at Sha Sha.

Only stopped on basis of a sign board on the main road and found the resort behind large security gates. Resort was very empty and almost had the place to ourselves.

Very pleasant staff showed us to the restaurant where we dined outside over looking the pool and a view of the sea, wonderfully framed by the lush green mature landscaped setting.

Some of the best Thai food in Tapas form, and excellent drinks - you will not be disappointed.

Staff allowed us to use the infinity pool and waterfall and provided towels which was a blessing in the humidity experienced during August.

Would we return, most likely.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XchJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShasaResortSamui, General Manager at BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear XchJon,

On behalf of the entire team at ShaSa, I thank you very much for reviewing Beyond The Sea, we are so glad to hear that you had enjoyed our cuisine and services.

XchJon, thank again for choosing Beyond The sea as your dining venue and looking forward to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Omapatt Nuntapanish
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing