We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, contemporary take on Thai cuisine”

BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Laem Set
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $300
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: BEYOND THE SEA, the Siamese Brasserie, always welcomes you with the sense of familiarity and inviting atmosphere. Located in ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui serving authentic thai cuisine presented with a genteel western aesthetic style to deliver a flawless experience. In the early afternoon, the air is filled with the rich aromas of coffee. These give way to clinks of plates into full swing for the evening. Once the sun falls below the horizon into the night, you can share a great conversation with old friends while enjoying a drink from the premium list at the vintage bar.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Nice, contemporary take on Thai cuisine”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went for a very nice lunch at Beyond the Sea. The setting is superb, with a contemporary decor and a nice view of the sea. Service was attentive and flawless, and they were very intent on ensuring that we were comfortable and never lacked for anything.

In terms of food, we tried a few tapas, with a main course from the standard menu. The tapas were generously served, tasty and with a nice twist from traditional thai fare. All this without betraying all the subtle flavors of this wonderful cuisine. The main courses were a success as well, again very flavorful, with a contemporary touch.

Although not cheap like beach side restaurants, we found the price very reasonable for the quality offered.

A bit off the beaten path, but worth the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jewels_Gva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    17
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mango sticky rice”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Shasa and enjoyed many meals at Beyond the Sea.

Breakfast rotated items every couple of days, eggs perfectly cooked as ordered and the staff made an effort to remember your juice and coffee preferences and were brought out while you fetched some food.

Afternoon cocktails were great with a few tapas plates while the sun started to set.

The dinner menu had many appealing choices and we slowly grazed thru most of the menu.

There are signposts around Samui advertising the mango sticky rice - devine

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BillsPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
90 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality ingredients, contemporary food and excellent service”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at Shasa so able to eat in the restaurant for dinner and room service as well. If we focus on dinner, their service is amazing. I really enjoyed the local food, and the presentation was contemporary which is a visual treat especially for the appetizers and thai tapas.
I loved the Shasa mojito but only limited myself to one given that my kids were with me, meaning I broke a cardinal rule of not drinking in front of my kids. This is how great the lure was! and it's worth it.
We also had a BBQ and Thai food buffet one evening. The range was good, not very keen on the Thai desserts as they are very authentic, meaning very sweet". A bit pricey at SG$50 per adult.
Expect to spend SG$20 (500 baht) for a whole mid sized fried fish and SG$10+ for a pad thai. It's worth the money because of how excellent it was. We ate the street version and food court version but the Beyond the Sea version is most palatable to me.
The drinks and wine menus are not bad considering it's a tiny place. I recommend this for romancing couples because you get a really pretty view of the horizon. As I didn't bother to go out for dinner elsewhere, I don't have a benchmark for comparison.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ubermum_lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Yummy and Variety”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

It located in Shasa hotel, Samui. They have Starbucks coffee to serve you. Menu is on I-Pad which you can see the picture. Food, Dessert and Drink are very fantastic. Price is too high but acceptable. They have a plenty of food menu included of vegetarian food. I suggest you to order seafood which is quite fresh. Total of service is excellent. Scenery is very beautiful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanaphol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thai tapas at its best”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Its a long way to go or drive to make it to this place but it is definely worth it. Probably one of the best three places on the island to eat thai and fusion food. The tapas menu as well as the full menu can be seen on an i-pad which gives colour and edge to the presentation. The tapas menu is a very good way of sampling different dishes and we were quite surprised about the good size of the portions brought to our table. Again the fusion part was very impressive combining here risotto with thai syle spicy seafood or soft shell crab. Beef three ways with spicy sauces and in green curry was fantastic. For the lovers of desert - the chocolate mousse was the best ever according to my wife!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joerg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to BEYOND THE SEA, Siamese Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing