We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
$379
View deal
Trip.com
$289
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/12/21
Agoda.com
$253
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/10/21
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (804)
Filter reviews
804 results
Traveler rating
550
148
52
19
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
550
148
52
19
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool beach club baan tawan jane villa samui resort koh
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 804 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2019

You should not go if you expect the resort to match pictures and descriptions on booking sites and the resorts own website. A lot of pictures are simply either not of this resort or are pictures of facilities that no longer exist or have degraded with age.
The list of free activities also does not match what goes on at the resort. Way too many free activities are not happening. The resort is simply way too expensive for what it currently is. My advice is dont book this without verifying with resort that the expected facilities and activities are actually there/occurs.

We ended up going checking out early and going somewhere else.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anders V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

Took my family of 5 to Shiva for a week. We were a little worried by some of the reviews but were really impressed. We stayed in a beachfront villa overlooking the most beautiful and warm sea. The beach club was a couple of minutes walk down the beautiful beach and was lit at night. The beach club was lovely. We went all inclusive for the first time ever and were not disappointed. The food was delicious, cocktails devine and staff were so friendly. The owners were amazing and everyone contributed to a memorable holiday. Special mention for the dogs who kept stray dogs away and the nightly volleyball with Lech - thank you. We will be back with other family next year!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank DrAPick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

I’m writing this review whilst still here at Shiva, hopefully you will find it useful

Booked a 3 Bed villa through the website with “ Nicky” very easy and informative, I wanted a villa near the beech, and she delivered exactly what I wanted, in addition took flight details and arranged transfers.

Arrived at the resort and was greeted by Lydia, all information given and then on to a Golf cart and taken to the villa, 1st impressions “ wow” the villa is stunning, well equipped spotlessly clean, iron, washing machine and full kitchen facilities, microwave, kettle, dishwasher and everything you need if you want to cook for yourself ( we don’t) but some people may do.

Location is a little far out to walk anywhere but reception Lydia or Jet can easily book you a taxi, taxis here are a little more pricey than that of bangkok- to Lamai ( 500 baht 1 way) the hotel has a shuttle at 50/100 baht per person and runs 3 times a day, Lamai is good if you want entertainment and lots of food options, supermarket and pharmacy etc.

I wanted a resort that was chilled and relaxed and Shiva has delivered this!, the food served here is also fresh and tasty, we tried the Saturday BBQ and it was really good value for money, hot dogs, burgers, ribs, chicken wings, pasta, salads, etc... do only 350 baht, half price for kids if you have any as well as eating off the main menu, prices are also reasonable for such a place - waiters and all of the beech club staff are really friendly, polite and overall very pleasant with music in the background and plenty of nice loungers and chairs and sofas all around the pool and beech area, the beech is clean and powdery, really nice, the sea is quiet far off the beech due to the tides but again great for kids as it’s shallow rock pools make great exploring.

I am a Titanium Marriott member due to work travels, I could have easily booked the “W” or Marriott in Samui - I’m so Glad I didn’t! Shiva is well run, friendly, clean and totally different vibe to a hotel...

Downside if I had to be picky, the wi fi isn’t great in the villa, no English premier league sports channel ( but many other channels, sports movies etc) but that’s it!! The rest of shiva totally makes up for this

You can order room service, hospital, reception, taxis etc from the mobile phone they supply in the villa or call anywhere in thailand for free if you so wish.

I think anyone giving negative overall reviews here would be wise to think first before they write...this isn’t a Hotel its a luxury laid back, beautifully managed beech resort with friendly staff.

Keep it up shiva we will be back!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
7  Thank JasonL1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

We stayed at Shiva Samui in June-July last year for around two weeks. We stayed in the Baan Rim Haad ocean front villa, the view was amazing so close to the crystal clear water and a short taxi ride to the main village area. the staff were so friendly and still stay in contact with one of the beautiful workers who were so great to us. the fire show was amazing and so was salsa night we also loved Dj Phil and face paint we loved our stay and it very much.

Room tip: All rooms are fantastic
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank billlycooke21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2019

Due to my wifes work schedule, we can only book our holidays not far in advance. So when the time comes, we usally have to "live with the rest" that all the other holiday makers have left for us. This brought us to great but also the strange places in the last decades. Now with kids this is not always fun. So we decided to try Thailand with the kids and searched a place an Koh Samui - the island we stayed often as a couple - but not with kids. So we searched the web for a place to stay. By pure luck, we found the Shiva Samui and started chating with Jane about how, when, etc. This was first great impression - chating with the manager and arranging all. As we read different reviews about the Ocean Rooms and villas and the beach, we asked all our questions direct and got an honest answer. The Ocean Rooms are little bit older then the villas so there is of course a difference. In the summer month there is not much water at the beach and you need either to paddle outside the reef, hope for a real high tide or just live with it and use the pool unless the tide comes back.

So that was settled and we choose i- going for a villa. When we arrived we knew a little bit about the place but to be honest the first question is: Can you trust all the fancy images :-)

So our shuttle brought us to Shiva Samui around 7pm - so not much to see of the surroundings but Shiiv Samui is a Beach Club with accomondation - not the usual Ressort. The entrance is at the Beach Club where the bar, the pool the dinning and basically the whole Shiva Samui life takes place. So we checked in and where brought to our (upgraded) three bedroom pool villa - which was simply stunning! All the villas and the rooms are a few walks await from the Beach Club - from our place it took around 3-4 min to walk along the beach to get to the beach club.
So the first impression was different but great and we were greated really lovely.

So the villa was great and as we had booked all inclusive we never had to worry about food or drinks. The food is absolutly lovely - we and the kids loved it! The drinks are fresh made and there are some stunning combinations. For thoose with other arragements: The prices for food and drinks are average and fair.

The breakfast has everything we needed - various bread types, eggs, bacon, jam, fresh fruit, cereals - and as the whole beach club is an open space you have great view at the beach. Lunch and dinner is served at the same venue.
The staff is super friendly and typical thai style "laid back" (in an absolute positive meaning).

For sporting activties there is surfing, stand up paddling, beach volleyball, tennis and even cycling in the morning, etc. The kids can use the kids club faccilities or just play football on the beach, craft things, play games and many more.
Btw. we had great other guests staying with us and we had a large international crowd playing beach volleybal for some time.

Every two days there was an evening event like party with body painting, fireshow or a great late afternoon beach bbq.

As Shiva Samui is a little bit away from the next village you need can either walk on the beach to the village or take a shuttle to the Lamai or Chaweng.

We really enjoyed our ten days stay with Jane, Phil, Lek, O and all the other great staff at Shiva Samui. It will not our last stay there!!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Inspire570313
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews