We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a fantastic experience at villa baan rim haad ..... all expectations met and exceeded” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“a fantastic experience at villa baan rim haad ..... all expectations met and exceeded”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

first i should state that our group of 11 had 3 infants below one year and a child aged 6 years .... a group with so many children travels with trepidation and it is after much thought that we decided to stay at villa bin rim haad after speaking to the property managers and looking at the pictures on the web ...... we arrived on the 6th of november 2013 after a long night flight with cranky children and their harrowed parents ...... we were very pleasantly surprised at the extremely fast check in, the cold towels and welcome drink ...... we were temporarily put up in a villa till ours got ready (though at a nominal charge .... but worth it as check in is after 3 pm) ...... the villa was perfectly set up with all amenities at our disposal and we were thankful we opted for the same ..... we were able to move into our villa at around 3 pm and were happy that the villa was exactly as was shown in the picture ..... the lawn was perfectly manicured .... the pool clean .... the toilets, kitchen and bedrooms flawless ..... we were also very happy at being provided 3 very comfortable cribs for the babies ....... we had a small issue with water pressure but the same was soon rectified ..... having a small villa with kitchen and sitting area with pool is a boon for a family such as ours and we utilised all the facilities to the maximum. The beach in front of the villa was very clean and had a security guard after dark. The breakfast provided was very good and special mention should be made of the lady who made the wonderful omlettes for us on the mornings of 7th and 8th nov. (we missed her on the morning of 9th nov) ..... we opted for a vehicle from samui airport from thai rent a car and i strongly recommend doing so for anyone opting for samui village as it is a bit away from everything .... roads are fairly easy to comprehend and driving is a breeze .... there are a few issues like insects in the pool after dark but to be fair you will have those in a property next to the sea but the pool is cleaned properly every morning ..... there are a few dogs but none of them bothered us and seemed quite friendly .... the quality of water in the pool also seemed a bit brackish but did not bother us at all .... the water recedes quite a bit after sunset but the water is back again in the morning ....... the staff at samui beach village are very friendly and bend over backwards to help ....... we were happy at our decision to stay at baan rim haad at samui beach village as we had an extremely comfortable and relaxing holiday and i would like to extend my thanks to all members of samui beach village on behalf of my group ...... we look forward to returning soon

Room Tip: villa rim haad was an excellent choice for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    112
    40
    15
    24
See reviews for
316
123
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My family and I stayed in Baan Oasis villa at Samui beach village in Koh Samui for 10 days in November. We loved it! Our villa was upgraded without cost upon our arrival - we had a beautiful four bedroom villa with private pool. Everything was as advertised, just like in the website photos and 100 m from the beach. The private pool was sparkling and five lounge chairs were available for us and the three kids. We did several activities on the island and everything went smoothly. The kids loved the adventure park in particular. Service was excellent, everyone was very eager to please. I also had a lovely massage and we used the nice tennis court. The only thing that could use a bit of an upgrade is the gym - the treadmill in particular is a little rundown. However, that was compensated by the great free activities the village organizes everyday including yoga, tennis and volleyball. We celebrated my birthday while at Samui beach village and hired the chef to cook a poolside seafood barbecue at our villa. We loved our stay at Samui beach villas and hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank angela v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

What an amazing week we have had at this wonderful resort. Our villa was luxurious and our own private pool was in constant use. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly yet professional staff. The food was delicious and there was no need to leave our resort as everything we needed for a luxurious holiday was included. We were here last year and didn't think they could improve on perfection - but they have! We are hoping to return again next year - we cant wait. Well done to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed at Ocan Villa, Samui Beach Village in last week of October.Beautiful property, very calm. Very helpful staff. Tasty food as well. The only issue was it was little far from Lamai and Chaweng and the only source of transportation was the one provided by the hotel which worked out to be way expensive than the market. Piece of advice: Use Internet to book transport to travel from the villa to the city.

Room Tip: Ocean Villa rooms are big and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anu_157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Anu,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us, here at Samui Beach Village we aim to please and hearing the wonderful feedback from our guests makes all our efforts worthwhile. I am glad we were your little piece of paradise.
Admittedly, we are a good 15 minutes away from the the busy resort of Lamai BUT we do offer a daily free shuttle service to Lamai and Chaweng which operates four times per day, so taxi are really not necessary.

If you are ever in Samui again we would love to see you!

Kind regards,

Phil Dunlop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

My family and I stayed at Samui Beach Village to celebrate my sister-in-law's 50th birthday and we had an absolutely fantastic time!! We stayed in a two bedroom villa which was spotlessly cleaned every day. There was even a daily pool cleaning service. My seven month old grand-daughter was loved by the staff who greeted her every day with "Hello Miss Indee". I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. The meals were delicious, the cocktails very addictive (we just had to keep drinking them!!) and the staff were so friendly. October is their quiet time so we more or less had the whole place to ourselves (there were 15 of us) so we got to know everyone really well. I would recommend if you were staying there as a family to stay in a villa. Lots more room and very private. Short walking distance to the restaurant and main pool but after all the eating and drinking we did it was good to do a bit of exercise!! Everyone in or party had a ball and we were very sad to leave to return home to Australia. Would love to go back!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Janine,

Wow thank you so much for the kind words and great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Samui Beach Village. We were sorry to see you leave and if you ever get chance to visit Samui we would love to see you again!

Kindest regards,

Phil Dunlop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweiz
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Thanks to Nancy, James, Kratai, Sai, Anny, Stephanie, Amp, Emma, Aey and all the girls from the maidservice and everybody else who made our stay unforgettable --> most of all Jane and Phil!
The swimming lessons for our 3 years old boy was great! Thank you Marco.
The settting of the villa, the service, the people and the ambience were absolutely fabulous. This was one of the best stays we ever had.
We loved it so much, we will be back next year (usually a no go for us). It felt like home, just better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Kaul q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Kaul,

Thank you for spending your holiday with us, here at Samui Beach Village we aim to please and hearing the wonderful feedback from you makes all our efforts worthwhile.
It's great to hear your little one enjoyed his swimming lessons and we have fed back all of your comments to the team who are thrilled!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Jane & Phil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We spent 3 nights here for a friends wedding. The house we stayed in (a family of 6) was comfortable but a bit tired. The air-con in the main bedroom didn't work too well and the bath/shower leaked and with no shower curtain this didn't help. The main part of the resort is nice and well kept however the drive in looks messy and overgrown and really brings down the overall appearance. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful but the beach is dirty with rubbish floating all around and you really need a car as it's a bit out from any shops and attractions. Having said that the price was reasonable and so I guess you get what you pay for. Our kids are teenagers, it's probably better suited for young families. The wedding was lovely though and the staff did a great job.

Room Tip: I think some of the villa's on the beach are really nice although it's probably due for a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazTMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear CazT

Thank you so much for your valued feedback which we appreciate so we can continue to do what we do well, and work on the parts which need it. We are disappointed that you felt the villa was tired and the drive was messy, even with the complementary upgrade to Baan Flora which was provided. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the wedding, Debbie and her team always do a great job organising big functions here on resort.

We do have maintenance men which clear the beach twice daily however due to November being Monsoon season there is a high frequency of debris and there is often river water which enters the gulf at this time, which unfortunately there is not a great deal we can do to avoid this.

The resort is away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas so we can offer the peace and relaxation many people come to Samui Beach Village for. We do find that people like to travel the 15 minutes to Lamai and 30 minutes to Chaweng in the free shuttle service we offer so our guests are never too far away from the many sights and activities that these centres have to offer.

Kind regards,

Phil Dunlop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
1.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
8.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
9.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#3 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Property: Shiva Samui
Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing