We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic family 50th.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiva Samui

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic family 50th.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

I decided I wanted to celebrate my 50th birthday in Thailand with our two teenage boys. Our party increased to 13 including 2 pre teens and a 7 month old baby. From the moment we arrived the service was amazing. The staff, from the restaurant, to the security guards were so helpful and accommodating, addressing every request promptly, efficiently and always with that beautiful smile that seems to be the signature of the Thai people. The bed of orchid flowers spelling Happy 50th Kath on my birthday blew me away!!!!!
A special mention to James, Ali, Aye Chef Eak and Nancy to name just a few.
Jane and Phil.....We will be back!

Room Tip: Private villas are well worth the extra if travelling with children
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kathy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Kathy,

Thank you for such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we could make your birthday so memorable.

We pride ourselves on 1st class service and our staff are happy to assist with anything and everything to ensure your stay is as relaxing as it should be.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    112
    40
    15
    24
See reviews for
316
123
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stenløse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at baan suay, nice villa and pool. The pool was not good for very small kids, but it was nice and clean.
we upgraded to baan flora, it was very very nice, great view and lots of space.
The pool at baan flora needed a clean up, i told them, but it did not happend.
Hard beds. if you ask for a babychair in the car, they will bring it free of charge.
the breakfest was good, staff was really really good, there was a woman behind the bar, I do not remember her name, but she has a cat and has allergy to cats and seafood, she was so funny and very kind to us. And Lift, a good guy in the reception, i wish for him to be the employer of the month, he is the best! there is fare to the city, but close to waterfall, small but good zoo (not that next door, the one next to the waterfall is better) Next door to the hotel there is a zoo with tigers and other animals, the had a baby tiger you could have taken pictures with. But the cages was to small and there was no green inside, only concrete.
so I can conclude that it is a nice place, it needs to repaid some places, fare from the cities.

Room Tip: Ask for the new villas/rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 8MetteDanmark8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review! We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed Baan Suay & Baan Flora.
The resort is away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist areas so we can offer the peace and relaxation many people come to Samui Beach Village for. We do find that people like to travel the 15 minutes to Lamai and 30 minutes to Chaweng in the free shuttle service we offer so our guests are never too far away from the many sights and activities that these centres have to offer.

We have noted your feedback and we have started refurbishment and refresh of both villas.
Thanks again for the review we are really pleased you enjoyed your time here.

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Samui Beach Village is an excellent resort. It offers 5 star service but with a relaxed and chilled approach.

Super clean and a fantastic team making sure that you enjoy your time there. Nothing is too much trouble and anything they cannot provide onsite, the well informed staff can point you in the right direction. The restaurant is great, serving well considered, delicious International and Thai food. the kitchen staff are excellent. I am a vegetarian and any requests I made were always granted with an understanding manner and nothing was too much trouble.

The communal areas are kept in perfect order, the pool is clean and the gardens are clean and prettily arranged. It's all just relaxed on the surface but its clear that the staff are busy in the background keeping standards high and consistent.

Our own villa was perfectly appointed and cleaned daily. Our pool and gardens were watered and kept clean and tidy throughout our stay.

Cannot recommend Samui Beach Village Resort highly enough.

One of my favourite holidays!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BADGER33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed in a villa over a long weekend and had a simply perfect experience. The accommodations were spotless and the staff friendly and helpful to the nth degree. Anything we needed we asked and it was provided. The villas are comfortable, spacious, and quite clean. The food ordering service was a huge hit with our group, as was the taxi service provided through the resort. Although perfect for relaxing there is also optional opportunities to partake in, and the spa is a must! Thoroughly recommend this place, would go again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henljo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have been to Thailand on 4 occasions and to Koh Samui one other time.Stayed in renown resorts BUT until we experienced Samui Beach Village,we realised that this was by far the best time we have had to date.From the moment we arrived and were met by Emma,who walked us thru what was at our disposal,we felt that this was going to be something special and by the time we had to check out, we were not disappointed.The staff were simply AMAZING,starting with James who was always there to meet any of our wants in the dinning area, Krati and Must who have the best smiles you will ever see,the head chef who would meet any of our requests and the list could go on.At first we were under the impression that this resort was owned by some big organisation but found out that it was not so when this absolutely charming lady met us and in conversation introduced herself as Jane,the owner with her husband Phil.Once you meet this wonderful couple, you realise why this resort runs so smoothly and you cannot but feel like family.The only sad thing you will experience,is when you have to leave!!

Room Tip: Ocean Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Atta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

My wife and I had such a great holiday last year with our 2 boys (aged 2+6) that when we had the chance to get away at half term this year, we immediately thought of going back to SBV.
The staff are all friendly, helpful and warm. The resort is clean and tidy with plenty of staff around all the time to help. The villas (we've stayed in 2) are well-appointed, clean and well looked after - daily maid service.
This place is a little bit out of the way but getting a hire car, motorbike or simply a taxi is easy and reasonably priced. The remoteness makes it ideal for children - it is safe, quiet and the beach is perfect - flat, sandy with shallow, warm water.
The facilities keep getting better too - Clubhouse with games, DVD's, tennis, pool, ping-pong, TV etc and the beach now has kayaks which are free to use.
We plan to come back again next year...and maybe every year after that!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights from 18th to 21st Oct . Kodus to the service staff . They awesome ,attentive , humble and efficient . The only comment from our group is that there are a lot of flies at the restaurant . I hope that the operators can find a way to minimised the flies.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkkSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
1.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
8.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
9.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Property: Shiva Samui
Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing