We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Baan Rim Haad! Our Dream holiday!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Baan Rim Haad! Our Dream holiday!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We visited Samui in 18-22nd May from India and stayed in Baan Rim Haad, We had a wonderful time. It was our family holiday after a longtime and it was perfect. I must say the Villa was exactly as seen in the photos on the website. This is a modern villa and is owned by the boss himself (Phil). It was in excellent condition. Only the Swimming Pool was having a bit more chemical than needed, but that was sorted after running the pumps for a while.

The villa is right on the beach. The sand on the beach was just amazing and we loved long walks on it. The breakfast was good every morning with lot of variety. We met Phil a few times and he was a very friendly person and was always helpful. The staff was very friendly also as in whole of thailand.

The Resort is bit away from all the happening places of Lamai and Chewang beach and we wanted it that way as we were in a family group and having fun within ourselves. we made friends with local Tuk-tuk guy and he came to the resort whenever we wanted, this brought down our transport bills a lot.

We visited the local sites and the marine Park, was fun. But something needs to be done about the way Thailand treats its animals, the tiger at one of the waterfalls was badly handled and drugged.

On our last night the power went off for 5 hours and we were shocked to know that there was no generator backup. It was very disappointing especially because the neighboring resort (which was much cheaper) was blazing with lights. Its just not acceptable at the price we were paying. But did not complain too much as we did have a great 4 days stay and did not wish to ruin the same by arguments. but they need a power backup urgently.

We will surely visit this place again, we carry lot of happy memories.

Rj.

Room Tip: Go for the newer villas in the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear RJ
Thank you for such a great review! It was a pleasure to spend time with you and your lovely family and we are delighted you all enjoyed Baan Rim Haad, it is such a beautiful villa.
It was really good to meet you and as we discussed, feedback is so important to the whole team.
We pride ourselves on 1st class service and our staff are happy to assist with anything and everything to ensure your stay is as relaxing as it should be.
Unusually, there have been a couple of power cuts recently in Koh Samui so we are investigating back-up generators for all the villas, at present we have backup for the Ocean suites and the Clubhouse Restaurant so guests can always have refreshments.

The team and I look forward to seeing you again on your next visit!

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    112
    40
    15
    24
See reviews for
316
123
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
288 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

A group of 8 of us had stayed for 4 nights in Beach Village House. On the first night, we noticed that the A/C unit in the living hall was very noisy, the next morning, we asked the technical guy to check on it. Upon checking, we were told that the unit is faulty and would be repaired within a day, and was given fan instead. But, for the rest of our stay, we had to suffer in the hot summer heat with the A/C in the living hall. Only on the last day, upon much making noises, we were compensated through some goodwill gestures by the management. Furthermore, the jacuzzi pool was also not working. When asked, we were just told by the staff that the owner did not get it repaired and there is nothing they can do (not sure what kind of answer this is). This was meant to be a R&R trip and we had intended to visit the spa daily, but after trying out the spa services twice, we decided to give it a miss afterall. Given the relatively far distance the resort is located from the airport and Chaweng, and the many options in Koh Samui offers, I will probably give this a miss during my next trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Kwoong,

Thank you for choosing Samui Beach Village for your holiday and providing us with such valuable feedback. It was with genuine disappointment to learn one of the A/C units failed to operate as it should. Prior to check-in all appliances, equipment, lighting and AC units are thoroughly checked by our team, I recollect on your arrival you were extremely keen to get in the villa early and unfortunately by allowing this we seemed to have missed the A/C. We have now completely replaced the A/C unit, unfortunately we could only perform a temporary repair during your stay whilst the new A/C was on order. With regards to the Jacuzzi we are waiting for parts to be shipped over from Italy and it will be repaired as soon as they arrive.

Samui Beach Village is only 8 minutes from Lamai and 30 minutes from Chaweng and our experience from guests is that they are delighted to stay in this beautiful family safe paradise whilst having the convenience to explore the highlights of Lamai and Cheweng on our free shuttle service which runs three times per day...

We are surprised at your comments regarding the spa as we have a high number of returning guests who like to book the same spa packages time and time again. If you would like to provide me with any additional feedback on the spa I would extremely grateful so we can learn from your experience, please drop me a line at phil@samuibeachvillage.com


Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The main feedback has been left by my daughter after her June 1 wedding. I would like to add that the first impression of the villa was that it did indeed need a lot of maintenance. The photos do tend to show a newer looking Baan Sarika. In reality it is worn and tired. Sauna doesn't work. Spa bath doesn't work. BBQ disgraceful. A few of the air conditioners dripped water into the rooms. Sound system could be upgraded with a dock for iPod. Extra shower doesn't have hot water. The whole villa could do with an upgrade, but I agree also that after the initial first impression we settled in and found certain things didn't really matter to us. Very peaceful. The villa pool is to die for. All the staff were great. The breakfast each morning in the open air club house was wonderful. The security guard was always smiling and friendly (left him lots of alcohol etc we couldn't take with us. This is a really big complex and bear in mind that you will need to do a fair bit of walking to get to the reception and the club house from the beach villa. If this is a problem there are scooters for hire which you can fit 3 people easily. Legal in Thailand it seems. If the management fixed up these problems (which seem to be mentioned a lot in previous feedback) this would then become closer to the 5-star facility they say it is supposed to be. All in all we had a great time and the wedding went off without a hitch. Thank you to Debbie for making this the fairy tale wedding my daughter really wanted.

Room Tip: Can only give a tip on the Baan Sarika. If you want 5 star don't expect it from the building its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We booked a wedding package with Samui Beach Village from SA, months in advance for December 2012 and had a terrific experience all round from beginning to end.

From the very beginning each detail was taken care of - Debbie, our wedding co-ordinator was a super star. They arranged accomodation for our entire wedding party, and made sure not only the bridal couple but that all our guests were looked after as if royalty. Many of our guests travelled from far and wide to join us, and they made sure guests were transferred with little hassle. We booked a large villa on the beach for some guests from which our ceremony took place, whilst many others chose to stay in the suites right next door. All our guests loved their accomodations, and couldn't believe we were all right on the beach...

No request was too big or too small and we truly had a wedding of dreams.

A party of 20 arrived, and the day before our wedding the heavens decided to open - rain poured,and storms thundered around. Debbie eased my peace of mind before I could even begin to fret about our 'outdoor wedding & reception plans'. She made a Plan B that ended up suiting us FAR better than our original plan, and our entire day went off a hitch. I would recommend getting married at Samui Beach just for the ease of it all! Note that it stopped raining, so we still had a beautiful outdoor ceremony and we were outdoors for our reception but still under cover - just in case :) !!

Mind you it was so hot, we had guests swimming straight after the ceremony at the reception! We loved the relaxed, fun spirit of the wedding and the way Samui handled all our guests. Massive thanks over and over again :)

Our package included special treatments for the bridal couple, being massages / treatments at the onsite spa - we loved them, and a stunning villa, so imagine our surprise when we arrived and found we'd been bumped up to an even bigger more luxurious villa as they had renovations happening next to the one we were meant to stay in - I especially thought this was a pro-active, wonderful change of plans. We called room / restuarant service when we needed some refreshments and had the most amazing food there at all times. The breakfasts were out of this world - and all our guests raved about the wedding menu! My husband and I enjoyed the day after our wedding lying poolside at our villa, completely relaxed, we visited the spa and had dinner brought to us in our villa after. All in all, we wanted to stay forever!
I could go on for days about all the extra's - how Samui brought myself and my bridesmaids our breakfast in villa on the day, the spa treatments in our villa for myself and my girls, how Debbie beautifully decorated our tables, how stunning our cake, menu, cocktails, & wedding officiant was (note get Johhny - he is a kind soul and we loved his presence), how our photographer was so perfect - nothing was too much to ask at all. We had everything and more than we needed at once.

My Husband and I will be returning year after year to celebrate our wonderful memories at this place - Thank you Samui, Debbie and all those who had a hand in our special day - it really was a dream wedding. xx

For anyone considering a wedding here - do it, you will not be disappointed!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tarryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Owner at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
It is reviews like yours that let us know everything little thing we do and our attention to detail is absolutely worth it - it is wonderful to make our customers happy and give them the holiday and in your case, the wedding celebration you were hoping for. It is such a huge responsibility fulfilling our guests dream weddings, all the staff are very keen to meet and exceed all of your expectations.

Debbie is a fantastic events organiser and has a keen eye for details and is fastidious about every wedding or celebration we host - as she is aware that it is the memories that will stay with you and your guests forever and so she aims to ensure that we over deliver to meet your dreams.

It really is great to hear such wonderful words about our village, the staff, the service and your experience and we want to thank you for taking the time to share it with everyone as we think anyone would love Samui Beach Village like we do. It was great to share your special day with you.

Thank you again...and it would be great to see you for your 1st anniversary and many more to come!

Kindest regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Had booked their ocean view rooms for a week, and here's my experience
The good:
Great staff extremely helpful!
Nicely made rooms
Great food, barbecue was great.
The bad:
Horrible location, the reception, restaurant was almost a kilometer from the room. (literally)
Maintainance urgently required, pool deck was broken, pool light was open, cockroach in the ac!
No eateries nearby and the resort would provide their own taxi (greatly overpriced)
Night time is freaky and lights had gone
Wifi stopped working
One local at the office kept passing snide remarks at my dad, really upsetting
We pre phoned our flight and left for bangkok in 4 days.
Place is ok if you plan on staying inside the whole time or if your renting a bike.
Otherwise personally at this price there is no shortage of options! Thanks

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yash24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had our wedding here June 1.
After many months of randomly emailing Debbie and the crew, we arrived 4 days prior to the wedding.
I remember thinking that we had sufficiently covered all aspects of the wedding, but also remained sceptical that we'd missed things due to the ease of the organising leading to it.
First impressions of the Baan Sarika were similar to a few I'd read about.. Is needing some maintenance, the BBQ run down, the kitchen needing a bit of attention.. But after the first day, I didn't care! The bedrooms were neat, the wifi worked (mostly) and the pool was fantastic!

There were a few dogs around that became part of the outdoor furniture, which we decided to just accept. Apparently some of them belong to SBV and are used as 'security', we'd been told that the guards come running when they bark.

We held a 'girls day' here prior to the wedding, having some outsourced businesses come in to help out which was also great and acceptable to SBV.

The crew at SBV were all very friendly and helped us with all of our requests.. Even table booking at restaurants when all we asked for was a car transfer to the restaurant.

The wedding itself went off without a hitch!
Debbie was around and contactable the whole day.. Tending to even the smallest things (like broken glass on the dance floor!)
My dress had become crazily wrinkled on the flights over, so Debbie organised it to be steamed. It came back to me in fantastic condition.

I had asked if an additional decoration could be tended to on the day, and it was.

The cake was delicious and the bar tenders were only too helpful.
I hear the buffet food was really good -especially the lasagne and the mousse (we didn't really eat much of the selection.. As expected)..

The dj (organised through SBV) didn't play much of what we had sent him, so we weren't very happy, but he did play loads of requests (thankfully), and the main songs (entry/cake cutting/exit).

We had been worried about the rain ruining the ceremony, but had decided (with the celebrant and photographer-which came with us from AUS) that we would stay on the beach regardless.. (Only a week prior, it rained right at ceremony time, so it was moved to the reception area)

The fact that the tide was out worked in our favour, the random pooling of water added to the 'atmosphere' of the photos.

We released lanterns during the reception which looked amazing, our guests were really surprised/impressed by them- they were a beautiful touch (although, I'm not sure what would have happened if it was windy or raining).

We had a spa treatment included in the wedding package. The ladies were amazing!! Best massage I'd had in forever! (The spa itself isn't anything to be impressed by).

In all, I don't think I could have asked for a better wedding day. Thanks Debbie!

Room Tip: Don't expect 5 star quality and you won't be disappointed. Is not walking distance to Lamai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammy1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ban Sarika - Baths dont work jacuzzi does not work air con leaked and not enough lighting doors broken fittings missing plugs bearly work. Had extremely high expectations which were what i was expecting for such an amount of money paid. The staff were excellent but the mis-representation of the villa destroyed its reputation with me.Do not expect to get a jacuzzi bath as the pictures do represent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Ryan,

Firstly I would love to take this opportunity to say what a great time we had and really enjoyed having the wedding party at Samui Beach! And we are really pleased that the wedding party you were celebrating with had such an enjoyable time. It is disappointing to hear that we did not meet your expectations, we are aware that the indoor Jacuzzi does not work however we are awaiting delivery of parts from the supplier in Italy (a downfall of having luxurious European equipment on-site), we are so disappointed that this ruined your holiday and furthermore we would like the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort if you would like to holiday on Samui in the near future.


If we could respond personally to your disappointment, please email me at phil@samuibeachvillage.com I will investigate the matter further and hopefully offer you a compensatory package.
Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
1.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
8.0 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
9.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banburee Resort & Spa
Banburee Resort & Spa
#2 of 3 in Laem Set
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Property: Shiva Samui
Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing