We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a wedding”
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for a wedding”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at SBV as it was a perfect location for our wedding. With plenty of accommodation options. The staff are amazing and the villa's spacious and very comfortable .. although the beds are a bit hard (you do get used to it). The location is good, far away enough from the main towns to have a private beach with a great view and no one selling to you and using the shuttle bus provided by SBV gets you into Lamai or Chaweng easily. One downside is it's not a swimming beach, but the villa pools are great. The wedding Planner, Debbie, was very organised and helpful and did an amazing job. We had the most wonderful wedding that our family and friends will remember for a very long time. Thank you SBV!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brokentwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    120
    43
    15
    26
See reviews for
335
133
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at SBV from May 5 to May 10, we had 6 people in our group as a family group. It was a very excellent stay.

We arrived Samui at very early morning around 7am from Bangkok, and arrived SBV around 8am. Once we got there, reception lady had been nothing but really helpful, and she knew that we were really tired from early morning flight and it was really hot that day, so she helped us to early checking to our Villa.

Baan Chang, it was the name of villa we stayed, very Thai style, big villa, decoration was nice, outdoor yard and pool was nice too, a bit old, but it didnt affect your stay at all.

The only thing i would suggest is to increase selection of breakfast buffet, it was not many choices to select from. resturant staff were very nice.

Anyway, it was a very lovely trip for my family, and we would definitely go back to SBV for next family stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacky_c68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Just returned from very satisfactory 5 day stay at Baan Chaaba. Very clean and well managed villa. Location of the property is very convenient, just few Km's from Lamai market.
Staff is very co-operative and Specially the restaurant girl (Nancy) and two girls at reception.
kids friendly atmosphere. Our 5 kids just enjoyed the pool and club house facilities.
Overall amazing time with the family.
Thanks for the effort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RupeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed ten nights in the oasis was everything we hoped it to be clean, private, homely,very relaxing food was good at restaurant staff all very friendly would recommend to family's haveing the pool just at back door was a real bonus for these hot days:)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rax351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinders Island, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed at this property for 10 nights in ocean. Room 3. Decking around our plunge pool was broken and I nearly came a cropper several times. Did bring this to the english owners attention, who said he would look into it however never got fixed. Good luck to the next people that occupy the room! Mind you the owner was flying back to his residence in England so any property maintenance seems to be a bit hit and miss. Room was ok and well situated near the beach, however these rooms are also near a some what undesirable stagnant tidal back water, that can and does attract mosquitoes by the masses. Beware buy plenty of insect repellant.
The staff at SBV are truly amazing. I felt the club house pool was a little tired with pool umbrellas broken and pool lounge covers not laid out for guests until asked. There is a kids club in the process of being built but no swim up bar in action the whole stay we were there.
Meals at the restaurant were great. All in all an ok place to stay, but for the money I probably would try somewhere else next time.



.

Room Tip: Ask for lower Ocean Rooms if you have trouble climbing stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larnie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Guest Relations Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Samui Beach Village and the staff are so pleased to hear they are doing a great job.
We fixed the decking immediately when you notified guest services - thank you so much for letting us know. If you do decide to come and stay with us again please notify us so we can make sure we exceed your expectations. Many thanks from Guest Services & all the staff at SBV
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We were the family travelling with Ramma 211 and can only re-iterate everything that has already been said. Our kids just loved it, so much so, that on departing the Island our 10yo was in tears begging for us to stay/come back! Having our own pool was a real bonus... that late night dip after shopping was just what we needed. Unfortunately for us, our baggage went missing and didn't arrive until two days later, but the staff were just brilliant in trying to track it down. The villa was always well maintained by the fabulous staff, speaking of which, our biggest and heartfelt thanks to Syke, Sai, Jet, Nancy, Meaw, Lay and Lift. From the moment we arrived, we felt we were part of their family. The complimentary chef who cooked in our Villa one night treated us to arguably the best meal of the holiday, and having it prepared for us after a big day of sightseeing, was just great! We're already talking about when we might return. Can't recommend this place highly enough!

Room Tip: Baan Oasis is located pretty central in the overall layout of the Resort and probably has the best p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JannyO_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Two families (4 adults, 5 children) sharing Baan Oasis for 10 days - what a fantastic villa! Plenty of room for all - 4 bedrooms and bathrooms, 2 separate living areas, a fabulous private pool suitable for all ages, and situated only 40 metres from the beach!
We had breakfast included in our package, which left us not wanting at all - fully cooked or continental available. All food at the restaurant was of the highest quality, and drinks were very reasonably priced.
The resort itself had numerous options to keep the kids & grown-ups happy - pool table, table-tennis, a pool with a swim-up bar, tennis, gym, happy hour for cocktails! - and of course, the spa & massage centre!

But the help & dedication of the staff made our holiday as thoroughly enjoyable as it was (our special thanks go to Sai, Jet, Nancy, Meaw, Lay and Lift who were warm and welcoming). Advice, helping to book tours and cars, service, engaging the kids (and didn't the kids love that!)... nothing was ever too much trouble for anyone, and everything was always done with a smile. It's amazing to have so many people working at the same place all be as happy and helpful as they were! It really did make our experience that much more enjoyable.
We all would thoroughly recommend the villa & the resort to anyone considering travelling to Koh Samui, especially if you have children!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramma211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 62 in Maret
1,600 reviews
4.8 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
1.1 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
9.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Property: Shiva Samui
Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing