We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but haggle hard”
Review of Shiva Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shiva Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at two villas at S B V in late Feb 2013. Both overall were excellent.
I’ll start with some general comments/info on S B V
Good stuff
• Local Thai staff were all excellent and could not do enough for us
• The pools were cleaned and the garden area’s swept for fallen leaves every morning. The house keeping staff were fantastic (so friendly) and three or four of them turned up each morning to blitz the villas. This was great as it meant that if you were in the villa the cleaning was completed in less than 30 minutes with minimal inconvenience.
• Our deal had breakfast included and it was overall pretty good. Its buffet style and includes Egg/omelet chef on hand, passable bacon, fairly good sausages (pork not Chicken!), fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, toast and more.
• The local staff fell over backwards to get our villa ready for us even though we arrived a couple of hours before check in. Much appreciated after a long set of flights!
• We used the taxi service extensively and whilst you pay a higher price than you can negotiate with local taxis the cars always arrived, were clean and the local drivers didn’t drive like locals.
• The club house restaurant/bar is good (though you will soon tire of the menu if you go regularly) The beer is cold and the food of good quality. Again local staff are excellent and we had no issues with wrong orders/late food as some other reviewers have commented on in the past.
• The Thai cooking night was fantastic and the lady who walked us through the dishes was great
• I didn’t partake but my brother and sister in law both said that the massages were fantastic
• The beach is less than 100 meters from even the furthest of the villas

Things that can be improved/stuff to be aware of
• As I understand it, the villas are all privately owned and for a number of days work was being carried out on two villas close to the ones that we were renting. It wasn’t too bad when the work was inside, but when the workmen started to work on the outside the noise and worse the dust caused considerable annoyance (dust from an angle grinder covered our pool area for most of a day). When I complained to the reception staff we were told that as it was the villa’s owner managing the work and not S B V staff they couldn’t do anything about it.
• This one is going to be controversial, and I guess it can happen at any “complex”…..However whoever said that Hell is other people was right – In our case, several villas were rented to a wedding party of 20+. Other than being slightly intimidating they were mostly OK during the day (providing you got to the omelet bar before the morning rush). However at night things often seemed to be less calm. I would personally like to thank the two older ladies in the wedding party (I think mothers of the groom and bride) for the fantastic northern fish wives show that they put on for everyone on the beach one night. It was like a bad episode of Corrie swearing at each other for some perceived insult. Anyhow, my point is that you may want to ask if any large groups are booked for the same time that you are thinking of staying. If the answer is yes then as a precaution stay away.
• The English owners/managers – How do I put this…..They were abroad for most of our stay but on the few days that we did see them they tended to ignore the guests to concentrate on talking loudly in the bar area to various suppliers/agents (more on this under value for money below). I guess if they are the owners then they can run their business any way they like but…….
• Minor thing. our per-ordered shopping didn’t arrive. When we queried it we were told that the email attachment with the list was corrupted. That’s fine, it happens but wouldn’t it have been a reasonable idea to query with us when we checked in what was in the corrupted attachment and not leave it to us to chase.
• I saw a clean-up crew on the beach once whilst we were on site. They may have come more than the once that I saw them but however often they come it’s not enough. There is a fair amount of junk washed up on to the beach every day, it needs to be cleaned every day in the same way as the pools and gardens are tended every day. Also loads of oil on the beach (think 70' and 80's UK beaches). We ruined several sets of the baby's swim kit. I suspect that this is not an issue local to the S B V beach and probably affects the whole island but be warned.
• No shade on the beach – Some is needed. Loungers are available but why no umbrellas?

Beach Village House
During our first week we booked a four bed villa (Beach Village House) along with my wife’s sister & husband plus my mother in law. The villa was clean and well maintained (though it’s not too far off needing refurbishment). The pool area is wonderfully shady and the pool well maintained. The house is gorgeous and looks stunning day and night.
My only criticisms would be:
• The air conditioning works brilliantly but is very noisy particularly at night
• According to my sister in law the shower in the extension bedroom ceased to work if someone in the main house turned on a tap.
• Only book this one if you like a firm mattress!

Ban Chan C h a i (sorry if the spelling is incorrect)
Once my brother, sister and mother in laws had departed we rented this two bed villa. I would judge that it has very recently been re-furbished and is decorated in a slightly more modern style (white tile floor & kitchen rather than wood) than the Beach Village house though is equally stunning. The design of the outside is less secluded/sheltered so if you burn easily this is probably not the house for you. However it’s perfect for sun worshipers. The only other thing that springs to mind is that none of the wash basins have hot water. Not an issue in 30c heat unless you need to shave.

Value for money……
This is a tough one. I would recommend either of the two villas that we stayed but not at the price you will be quoted upon first contact. I can however furnish readers with an interesting piece of info that should help you negotiate. On the morning of 27th or 28th of Feb 2013 one of the English owners/managers (I don’t know which as he never introduced himself) was conducting one of his breakfast meetings with a couple of travel people. He told his breakfast guests that despite the current deal of 20% off plus all meals included the complex has particularly low occupancy in the coming months and that he is keen to get more bookings. I would suggest that you haggle hard ;-)

Room Tip: Haggle Hard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

371 - 377 of 648 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

70 meters from a beautifull child friendly beach, is Baan Jasmine. Stayed for 3 weeks in a very clean & guarded village. Baan Jasmine wonderfull big beds, with self contained bathrooms in all 3 suites.Dining room, kitchen & front room very well decorated. Cooling system was brilliant & made a big difference to the tempartures outside.Trips to Lamai Beach easly made with rented scooters ,ca. 20 mins ,The west coast is really amazing with plenty of small resturants & bars, at reasonable prices.All in all a very relaxing holiday that will never be forgotten.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in Ban Buree for a week in a group of seven. There was plenty of space for everyone, comfortable rooms and fantastic pool and pool area. Super close to the beach.

The front desk was really good at organising whatever we needed, motor bikes, restaurant recommendations, taxis. And the prices were really reasonable. The room service was yum too!

Only gripes was the inconsistent cleaning times, and weird things like, two pillows before cleaning and then one after??

And the hotel was removing coconuts and that happened on the wrong day, which was a bit of a bummer.

All in all, anything we flagged as an issue was minor, and the SBV staff rectified, and offered complimentary treatments as soon as they could.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zandest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our family has just returned from our holiday at the Samui Beach Village. Firstly and more importantly we would like to thank the staff at the resort for being very attentive without being over bearing. The balance of an extremely friendly approach combined with a caring attitude made our stay in the resort an extremely pleasant one. We chose Samui Beach Village as it offered facilities for myself and my wife to enjoy (Tennis and Spa) but also catered for and welcomed children, unlike other resorts we have stayed at previously where children are accepted as long as they are seen but not heard! We of course as a family explored the island extensively and thankfully found this location at Samui Beach to offer the best beach on the island with a natural reef which made it extremely safe for the children to enjoy the water. The x3 bed villa we enjoyed within the resort offered fantastic value and a high standard of accommodation for our family to enjoy. Lamai is approximately 10 mins from the village but the island is so small you can easily arrange transport to start exploring. As a family we prefer to set up residence in a quieter area and return to that area in the evening after the days excursions. We would be delighted to return x

Room Tip: Our family stayed at the Baan Leelavadee Villa which was beautifully presented and ideal for our fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lee p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very relaxing place ,with great seaview and comfotable villa. The food and staffs are also fantastic!
Strongly recomand.
Arond the village is not enough resteraunts and convinient shops, you should rent a car or motocycle.
Sunshine and breeze everyday in Samui~!

Room Tip: choose a seaview room, you can wake up and see the tides~
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa-Hon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

All in all it was very nice. For the quoted price, good service and nice villa. Staff was always endeavored!
Disadvantage: no beach facilities
There were only beach chairs, but no sun umbrellas (impossible to stay long at the beach, because the sun is very strong/hot here) sometimes you have a long way to swim, sea is very shallow. No beach bars or other facilities to drink/eat something, lonesome beach!

Room Tip: We had villa fahsai, very nice. But the other villas seemed to be a bit more luxury.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nici K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying in The Ocean Rooms at this resort in January 2013
My room was closest to the beach and the plunge pool was a great extra!
The staff on the resort were welcoming and readily available to help at any time of day or night.
The mobile phone that is available with the room is another great extra. A phone call away for buggies to pick you up from your villa/room if you should require it, or to call the shuttle bus to collect you from Lamai beach
Marco the personal trainer put me through my paces and was well worth the torture!
I would definitely return in the future

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaqis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear jaqis,

Fantastic to hear you had a great stay with us and you found our facilities and our staff easy to use and helpful - we do pride ourselves on 1st class service, as we like to take care of everything, leaving you to relax!

Marco definitely knows how to put you through your paces and we are glad you found our Personal Training service to your liking.

Hope you stay with us again in the future!

Kind Regards,
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laem Set
0.8 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#11 of 63 in Maret
1,652 reviews
0.1 mi away
X2 Koh Samui Resort - All Spa Inclusive
6.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
781 reviews
1.1 mi away
ShaSa Resort & Residences, Koh Samui
4.7 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiva Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiva Samui

Address: 443/3, Moo 1, Laem Set, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Samui Beach Village)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Laem Set
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Laem Set
Price Range: $97 - $533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiva Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shiva Samui, the new name for Samui Beach Village is a luxury beachfront villa resort in Koh Samui, Thailand. We offer luxury villas from 2 to 5 bedrooms each with private pools, daily maid service and everything you expect from a luxury resort. We also have 1 or 2 bedroom Ocean Rooms with beautiful Ocean views and the resort boasts a Clubhouse with Restaurant, Flood-lit Tennis Court, Fitness Center, Spa, complimentary Water Sports, a FREE Children's Club and more. Brand New for 2016 is our newly opened Beach Club, with a top class beach side restaurant, terrace, and stunning pool with jacuzzi and swim up bar for relaxing and unwinding day and evening. All with over 90 on-site staff and concierge hotel-style services. Ideal for a romantic getaway, a family holiday or your perfect beach wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shiva Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Beach Village Hotel Koh Samui
Shiva Samui Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing