We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shiva Samui
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Villas Samui(Maret)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rocky's Boutique Resort(Lamai Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (682)
Filter reviews
682 results
Traveler rating
461
131
46
17
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
461
131
46
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolocean roomall inclusive packagebeach barsamui beachbaan sarikabeach volleyballwedding plannerbedroom villafamily holidaypaddle boardingcleaned every dayfire showamazing weddingbeach frontkite surfingkids club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 682 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Spent 2 weeks at Samui Beach village as our main family holiday. Our villa was ready on arrival and the standard of the villa was all we had hoped for. The staff were very helpful, friendly and throughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for them. The setting is perfect as the beach is very private. With only a few people on it, it was like having your own beach. The onsite facilities were very good, we ate in the restaurant a few evenings and the food was to an excellent standard, being cooked to order. Breakfast was good consisting of cereals, pastries, cooked breakfast etc which set you up for the day. The villa was cleaned every day with towels and linen being changed every few days.The location means you are away from the main resorts but they are only a few minutes drive away. There is a local Tesco/Lotus hypermarket in nearby Lamai which has everything you could need including banks for currency exchange.. There are 7/11 supermarkets closer to the site but with the cost of eating out being so cheap means you only need to buy snacks etc.
The office staff were superb in organising sightseeing trips around the island and advising suitability for the makep of the party.
Overall this location provided the perfect holiday and we hope to revisit and enjoy Samui Beach village again in the near future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear Andrew B,

Thank you so much for spending the time to share your wonderful experience at Samui Beach Village.

We are so glad to read that from start to finish your holiday was excellent and we provided everything you needed for you and your family to have a memorable stay.

We really do hope you come back and see us in the near future - we look forward to it!

Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I have just come back from a holiday of a life time. What beautiful villa's they were very highly maintained. All the staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The beach was perfect for private weddings and made the atmosphere of the resort feel very warm and special. The pools on our villa was lovely and the villa itself was huge. The walk to breakfast was no problem it was nice to walk past the coconut and banana tree' and if anyone had a mobility problem there was an electric buggy that could be ordered from the reception. The trips offered were very varied and I can personally recommend the power boat day out round the national park and the safari. The beauty treatments, the air conditioned gym and tennis courts all made the resort a good base to explore.

Room Tip: Any of the big villa's are great and if you can afford one of the ones on the beach what a beautiful view you will have.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeborahJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear DeborahJ,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your stay with us.

It's wonderful to hear you had a brilliant time and enjoyed all the aspects of Samui Beach Village as well as the island and tours.

We hope you come back and stay with us again and enjoy more of everything we offer!

Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Me and my siblings stayed here for a week and we all enjoyed our vacation. With the nice Ocean View Room we were staying and the friendly staffs. Special thanks to Benz- the site manager :) she was so helpful and friendly.
Thank you Benz ~ we all miss you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWan666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear MaryWan66,

Thank you kindly for sharing your experience at Samui Beach Village and we are so glad Benz made your stay so special!

We truly hope you come back and visit us again soon!

Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

When we arrived , we were given a smaller villa (beach village house) than the one we had rented and paid for. We had to spend 2 days in the wrong villa before moving into the right villa (Banburee). We were offered no finantial compensation because we rented through Asia rooms and not directly in the resort and they could not give a reason why our villa was not available for us. We did not know who to blame and also did not want to spoil our holliday with a bad discussion so we accepted the unhappy situation with patience.


After we moved to the right villa, we suffered a HOUSEBREAKING during the night because the sliding windows had been left unlocked without our knowledge, giving free entrance to theTHIEVES. One computer, one Ipad , were stolen during the night, and while we were sleeping inside the house!
First thing in the morning we contacted the site manager Luke who was very committed to help and said that thefts of this type had happened before on site, which of course surprised us because we saw no special deterrent measures such as more guards, CCTV, etc. He advised us to report to the authorities, which we did, but all we got was a report in Thai and no hope of getting back the stolen items. On top of that, the very same night OUR NEIGHBOURS WERE SLOLEN, computers, money etc.

NO FINANCIAL COMPENSATION was given to us because they said they did not have insurance, and the rental contract had the necessary disclaimers.

In addition, there was no safe in the villa Banburee, which of course is a call for thieves or are aware of that.

On top of that there is nothing on the beach, no water, no food, no umbrellas, no chairs.
Construction was going on in the villas next door which make the place noisy.
Breakfast is small for a family with 4 children. No supermarket nearby to buy anything.
The resort is old, the furniture is old.
The swiming pools are not deep enough.
No welcoming basket or water on arrival.
We ordered take away from the restaurant. It was tasty but took always one hour to be delivered to our house.

All together, very bad value for money, taking into account it is very expensive and marketed as luxury resort

Coming back home we sent many emails to claim on the robbery, but the answer was "sorry, it is not our responsibility and the contract does not cover you"

We felt outraged and this is why I am writing this comment, for the first time in trip advisor.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank chantaldebotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear chantaldebotton,

Thank you for your posting, we normally take all feedback very seriously, however in your case I am not surprised to see your negative comments some 9 months after your stay with us having already received several threating emails from you to make such postings if we did not pay you for a brand new computer and iPad.

With regards to your comments, your booking was made through a last minute booking site, where our policy is never to specify or promise any particular villa, with bookings that are made through this type of agent we can only specify the minimum number of bedrooms and allocation is generally made on arrival.

Regarding the theft of your computer and iPad, and the accusations you have made by email that this was an inside job are completely wrong and unjustified, I can again inform you that subsequent to this incident, the local police raided a temporary workers camp approx. 1 mile away where they made several arrests and recovered significant amounts of property thought to be stolen, since then the camp has been closed down. The police believe this camp of mostly non Thai workers had been responsible for a spate of thefts around the Lamai area.

In your case, when you met with our resort manager the following morning, not only did he assist in every way he could, one of our staff also accompanied you to the police station to file your report and once complete translated this from Thai to English for your convenience. I can only guess that you went to the effort of obtaining the police report was to enable you to claim on your insurance for the loss of the property.

Samui Beach Village are fully insured and comply with all the statutory and voluntary requirements for operating a holiday resort both in the UK and in Thailand, with regard to providing you with financial compensation to replace the computer, Samui Beach village is not your insurer and I can only presume you were attempting to either claim twice for your stolen property or were not adequately insured in the first place through either your holiday or contents insurance.

With regards to the beach, you can see from the many, many positive trip advisors reviews that our beach is an almost private, unspoilt piece of tranquillity and paradise, and for those wanting something a little livelier we offer a free shuttle service to Lamai where you can find, bars, shops and water sports abound.

The construction you refer to was 1 privately owned villa where the owner was having the terrace extended, this work has been complete some 8 months ago and there has been no further construction on the resort.

I have never had our breakfast called small before, and for those with a hearty appetite you will be delighted to know that we now offer a hot buffet breakfast with no limit as to how much you can eat.

All our pools vary with the maximum depth between 1.6 meters and 1.8 meters depths we find to be more than adequate for a private villa.

I am sorry you were unable to recollect the welcome basket and complimentary water provided for all our guests on arrival, with regards to room service, during busy periods such as when you stayed we always advise guests requiring room service during the busy hours to order at 45 minutes before.

We received your emails and responded to each accordingly, you are correct that the theft of your computer, was very upsetting, and unfortunately claims for personal items do not fall under the responsibility of the resort, as would be the case with all hotels around the world.

Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

samui beach village lived up to our expectations - divine villa, beautiful villa pool and the most friendly accommodating staff. This all was complimented by great food at the restaurant. Only downside is trekking to the restaurant each meal. Breakfast could also be more varied. Otherwise had an awesome week and would not hesitate to return for another quiet relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke S, Manager at Shiva Samui, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Fiona F,

Thank you for your review and it is wonderful to hear that you had a fantastic time and will hopefully be back!

We do offer a golf buggy service that can take you back and forth to the Clubhouse Restaurant from the front door of your villa for your convenience - next time you return to see us this will make your holiday even more relaxing!

See you soon and thanks again
Phil Dunlop
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews