We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars... are you kidding me?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western City Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Orebro
Reviewed September 10, 2011

How can this hotel be rated 4 stars?
I should have believed my travel book when it is written 4-stars hotels in Sweden are sometimes just regular 2-stars hotels in France.

This time, I put too much belief in the other reviews from TripAdvisor.

One guy writing down that rooms are spatious... I have never experienced a smaller room. The guy was single? did he have a deluxe room?
My room had a double bed (not even queen sized) and the space left barely allowed me to enter with my stroller (umbrella style) or with my luggage.
There are lots of coat-hangers but you cannot hang anything otherwise you cannot exit your room. There is no space at all in this room!!!

Room was clean when we first entered but later during our stay nobody came to vaccum the floor.
There was no more soap for the shower, so we asked about it and the person at the lobby gave us a refill bottle that she didn't know how to install neither did we... and the cleaning service at the morning didn't install it either...
There is no little bottles for shampoo, soap, or any other stuff.

Bed is comfortable. Location is great, not far from the shopping centers, university, castel...

And to finish worst thing: there was mold on pancakes for breakfast. Then for sure, I had a very accurate look at everything else that I got for breakfast.

Conclusion: a 2-stars hotel at this price is a shame! I never went to a Best Western Hotel, not sure that I will go back...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YannP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 182 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2010

A nice hotel in the centre of Örebro, close to the castle, the stores and the nightlife of the city. Friendly staff and nice breakfast, clean room and comfortable bed. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrloiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The contemporary building does not look too inviting but the interior is nice and very clean. Same for the rooms that are super clean !, nice and spacious, beds are good, free wifi, excellent breakfast with fresh fruit, a wide choice of healthy and less healthy things. Absolutely to be recommended. Centrally located. External garage against fee.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Accompanied my spouse on a business trip and stayed at The Best Western City Hotel. I must admit, when we were dropped off by the taxi, we were a little concerned about the quality of this hotel. The sidewalk and grassy area near the hotel looked bad--concrete slabs strewn about and uncut grass.I hope this is only a temporary situation that may be corrected by now. Not a welcoming sight. The front door of the hotel looks rather drab and unwelcoming also. But, once we walked in the door, we were pleasantly surprised.

The lobby is modern, colorful and welcoming. Our welcome by the front desk clerk was very warm. And each time, throughout our four day stay, the staff went above and beyond to assist us with plans, ideas, mapping and any other detail to make our stay more comfortable. When we checked in, the room(a standard), was much smaller than we expected and since we would have an extended stay, a larger room would be appreciated. Since the hotel was not full the desk clerk offered us a larger room at the standard room rate. A very nice gesture by a very nice person!

The room was near the main street, but once the window was closed, it was very quiet. The larger room, although small by US standards, was nicely laid out and cheerfully decorated. A comfortable chair was near the window along with a small desk. The bathroom was efficiently laid out and new. A hot pot and coffee and tea were provided. There was no fan or airconditioning and in warmer weather this might be a problem.

The breakfast room on the lower level is beautifully decorated and very welcoming. The choices and quality of the food is incredible! Fresh, whole grain breads, wonderful sausages and other meats, a great variety of cheeses, fruits and cereals, eggs and many other options for international travelers(fish, etc). The juices were fresh and the coffee superb. The women staffing this room were so efficient and professional.

The city of Orebro is far more interesting than we expected. The lovely castle, parks, open air Swedish museum(Wadkoping), lots of great shops and restaurants make it a wonderul destination.
After our initial hesitation at the front entrance, our expectations at the City Hotel were not only met but exceeded. The ambiance and particularly the wonderful staff makes this hotel a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melange1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jorgena489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Receptionist at Best Western City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled on business
Thank Maltemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert K, Receptionist at Best Western City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orebro hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Orebro
Clarion Hotel Orebro
#2 of 15 in Orebro
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet
Elite Stora Hotellet
#3 of 15 in Orebro
436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Eurostop Orebro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Borgen
0.6 mi away
First Hotel Orebro
First Hotel Orebro
#4 of 15 in Orebro
206 reviews
0.8 mi away
Good Morning Orebro
Good Morning Orebro
#11 of 15 in Orebro
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western City Hotel

Address: Kungsgatan 24, Orebro 702 24, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Orebro County > Orebro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Orebro
Price Range: $106 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western City Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing