We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Grand Hotel
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Orebro
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This was our fifth hotel in Sweden and our worst. In fact, the first hotel that fell short of delivering its product.
Reception was OK, with the receptionist friendly and helpful.
Parking is provided underground with a lift to the hotel rooms. Wi-fi included in room rate.
And once you step out of the lift to go to your room (we were on the 6th floor), that's when you realise that this place might not be up to the high standard we had previously encountered (and I'm talking 2 Best Western so nothing extravagant and a couple of others). The corridor presented as shabby (by Swedish standards and there was no 'chic' about it). The room continued this run-down appearance and delivered little: no toiletries (squeeze tubes of Lux soap and toilet paper was all), no tea/coffee making facilities, no bath mat. Every time nearby neighbours closed their door, our door rattled as if someone was coming through our door.
Two arm chairs was a bonus that failed to overcome the crappy appearance of the room.
Breakfast did not boost the hotel's rating: The cheese selection was good and that's as far as it went. The cereal selection was, in comparison to other hotels, below par. No fish on offer. Coffee out of a machine was rubbish (we've had coffee from other hotel breakfast buffets and it was good).
And the room cost more than Best Western rooms in other towns. If the room was two thirds the cost then I'd probably say it was OK for the price. As it was though: Very Disappointing. Go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doingittough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 410 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

room and bathroom clean and comfy. brekky was excellent with swedish meal style,lots of choices. very happy with it. the hotel in the city centre and very easy to explore the city.recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy-lnhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We visited Örebro this April, on a snowy day. The room at the hotel we got was renovated, non-smoking and on the 6th floor, which was reasonably nice. Furthermore, the hotel was very near to downtown, i.e., ca. a 3-min walk. The breakfast was as good as usual. In addition, we also borrowed an electric kettle (for coffee and tea use) from the reception, which was not available in the room originally.

Anyhow, the hotel locates in a nice location, with good facilities and nice service. And we enjoyed our stay in there.

Cheers,

L. M.

Room Tip: High floor, renovated and non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis-Mikael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

With my last visit in mind I requested a newly renovated room. I got one (634) on the 6:th floor and it was fairly new at least.

The staff in the reception was kind and helpful and the lobby bar looks inviting.
The small gym was packed with people so we headed for the jacuzzi and relax which was empty.

We did not try the food.

Room Tip: Get a rooms on the 6:th floor to enjoy this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We had a double room with two separate beds which turn out to be 90 cm narrow. There is only a shower in the tiny bathroom.
There was no air condition in the room and it was difficult to adjust the temperature. The air quality in the entire hotel was very poor.

Room Tip: By beverage in the reception since there is no minibar in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gresk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

the hotel has got a sauna and a pool and a really cool lounge which is nice.
Wireless internet is included in the price (about 1-2Mbps measured speed).
No bathtub in my room =( Nice shower though.
Other than that the rooms are average but nice. No safe or fridge or teapot or anything like that. But it's certainly not a bad hotel. With some more amendaties in the and a bit refreshed interior in the rooms this would be a very nice hotel, right now the hotel in itself feels like it would deserv 4/5 but since the rooms are really not that great I will give it 3/5

I also do not have a double bed but rather a twin which really sucks when you're alone in the bed =)

The location is really central though. Just a 5 minute walk to "Central Örebro"

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

Because of my work, I spent one night here in October 2011.

Pros: The staff at reception desk was quick and friendly.
There is a small but clean gym on the seventh floor.
The room was tidy.
Really nice breakfast!

Cons: The hotel needs a renovation.
The room was small and not soundproof at all. When someone walked in the corridor I thought every time that they were in my room. Every time someone slammed the door vibrated the walls inside with me.
The hotel is not so central, but if you visit the fair Conventum the location is very good.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enemalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orebro hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Orebro
Clarion Hotel Orebro
#2 of 15 in Orebro
649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Borgen
0.4 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet
Elite Stora Hotellet
#3 of 15 in Orebro
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western City Hotel
1.1 mi away
Scandic Orebro Vast
Scandic Orebro Vast
#7 of 15 in Orebro
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
First Hotel Orebro
First Hotel Orebro
#4 of 15 in Orebro
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Grand Hotel

Address: 21-23 Fabriksgatan, Orebro 702 23, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Orebro County > Orebro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Orebro
Price Range: $142 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Orebro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing