We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Beautiful and dog-friendly

This castle is by far the most fairy-tale castle I've seen during my recent trip to France... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
99nienkeb
Fairy Tale Castle - confusing advice about when and how to take the tour.

Beautiful chateau of fairy-tale appearance and proportions. It is a "work in progress"and the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
WingerJack
,
Christchurch, New Zealand
Read all 201 reviews
  
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
98
72
22
4
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
98
72
22
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews english translation tour guide fairy tale medieval section hedge maze taking place speak french great tour magnificent structure written guide gardens are lovely french guide interesting furniture open to the public the kitchen guide takes car park
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 201 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

The guided tour is great if you speak fluent French. Tou get an English book but the guide takes so long to tell the Frenxh version whilst you just stand there freezing, some rooms took in excess of 20 mins.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank hclarke101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2018

This is a must see attraction with gardens to the rear. You really feel like you have gone back in time. Brilliant.

Date of experience: November 2018
2  Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Wow! What a beautiful place. The car park was just in the market square so I guess might be a problem on market day. You can only see the Chateau by taking a tour. The tours run regularly and the doors to the chateau are closed up until about 10 minutes before the tour.

The gentleman who greeted us at the gate was very polite and helpful, his English was good and we muddled through with a little French too. The tour was entirely in French and we were provided with an English translation. Both mine and my daughters French is passable but it was better to have the written guide to assist.

There is a short break in the middle of the tour for a toilet and shop stop, then we continued to the see the rest of the building. The gardens were pretty with lovely views.

Having visited a number of French buildings, chateau etc it was a pleasant surprise to find one that contained period and interesting furniture and that had an interesting story told through the architecture.

I would recommend visiting.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

We arrived in time for a morning tour. The young lady and guide who greeted us was very helpful. My Dad is elderly, unsteady on his feet and cannot walk far so we use a wheelchair when we can. The Chateau Is not easily accessible by wheelchair but the guide did everything she could to enable us to see the Chateau, inside and out. The Guide was so friendly and very organised.
We visited the top level of the gardens which are lovely. Dad had to keep getting in and out of his chair, I had to fold it to get it through some tight doorways or over bummpy old cobblers but it worked out for us. I think you have to be practical and realize that at the time the Chateau was built, wheelchairs were not around!!
We followed behind the Tour at the start with our English guide book. We then toured a few of the ground floor rooms at our own pace, which was sufficient for us, and we thorough enjoyed our morning out.
The Chateau is beautiful, has some great stories to tell from the past and the rooms we saw were really well presented, especially the kitchen . Very interesting. Shouldn't be missed.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Kate87200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

At the risk of sounding an old misery, Wasn't sure about the visit as in my experience some of these chateau's can be a bit under whelming. What made this was the building itself rather than the contents, Good gardens -- a bit spoilt be the long hot summer unfortunately.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank jimbosmiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews