We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect week”
other travelers have booked this property
The Beautiful heated pool and hot tub lit up at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beautiful heated pool and hot tub lit up at night
The welcome shade on a hot summers day over the pool surrounded by the patio and dining area. Looking out over the unspoilt views from the pool. Grab a good book and relax in the sun or shade.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Beautiful heated pool and hot tub lit up at night
The welcome shade on a hot summers day over the pool surrounded by the patio and dining area.
Looking out over the unspoilt views from the pool. Grab a good book and relax in the sun or shade.
Sit and dine alfresco at this huge glass table with seating for 14.
The sunloungers by the pool waiting for you to relax and unwind.
All getting together making meals in this huge kitchen is a real pleasure.
The very spacious lounge with a double sided wood burner, all logs provided free.
Large dining room which has seating for 16 with large double aspect French Doors front and back.
Relax in this superior Master Bedroom with a huge 6ft sleigh bed, En-suite,full bath and shower.
The lovely en-suite for the master bedroom with full size double ended bath and separate shower.
Get in the holiday mood with a relaxing sauna, aromatic oils provided just ladle water on the coals.
Watch a game of football or great film on the enormous screen in the Games Room
The beautiful renovated games barn has a great space full of things to do to keep everyone happy.
Table tennis, Pool, Darts, Table Football, TV, Wi Fi, Bar Area, Drum Kit, Guitars, Sitting Area.
The Gothic style bedroom with lovely iron bed and oak beams, very romantic. full en-suite bathroom.
The en-suite bathroom to the Gothic style bedroom with full size bath and shower, basin and WC.
A super king bed splits into 2 single beds making this a great family room or one for 4 children.
The 2 single beds on the mezzanine floor, a favorite for young children to sleep in.
The lovely four poster bedroom and en-suite with full size bath and large shower basin and WC.
An Emperor size bed with views out over fields and woods. En-suite with full size bath and shower.
Go down the zip line over the pond, do a spot of fishing for carp or take a boat out on the water.
View of the front of Les Grandes Landes with parking for 6 cars located just outside the kitchen.
A lovely view over the goldfish pond of Les Grandes Landes and poolhouse which is all yours.
A beautiful view of the house and games barn in the middle of the fields.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Jumilhac-le-Grand, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
r0n849
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect week”
Reviewed October 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We spent the perfect week at Les Grandes Landes Retreat with family and friends. So spacious inside and out. When a bit of peace and quiet was wanted you could take yourself off, and my favorite was to take a book to one of the many benches positioned around the grounds of the property to sit and relax to read or just listen to the nature all around you. We didn't go out much but when we did we found local markets and a couple of lovely restaurants in the area. Brantome especially as it has something for everyone. Market, restaurants, canoes, history etc.
Thank you Lynne and Richard for making our holiday one we will never forget.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely week in the Perigord”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Les Grandes Landes is a property of the highest specification you are likely to want with all the facilities you will ever need. Its secluded setting makes it a wonderful retreat, yet Jumilhac le Grand is only a 5 minute drive away, with its lovely chateau and a fabulous boulangerie and charcuterie.
The house is set in 65 acres with walks, lakes, recreational facilities such as badminton, golf, cycling, fishing, etc. The pool is fabulous, as are the hot-tub and steam room. There is a magnificent games room over a large barn, with large-screen TV/DVD, darts, pool, table tennis, putting, etc. The living accommodation is superb, and the master bedroom stunning! The kitchen is huge and well-equipped.
If you want a trip out the possibilities are endless, but St Jean de Cole is definitely worth a visit, as are the many night markets in the area.
Richard & Lynne Mace, the owners, are the nicest people, anxious to make your stay enjoyable, and succeeding in every respect. We could not have hoped for anyone better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2017
Thank you for your wonderful review and we hope to welcome you back one day in the future. Kind regards Lynne and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelvin J
Ewhurst, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Week”
Reviewed September 17, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

September is the perfect month to visit the Dordogne and this is the perfect place to stay. The property is beautiful and the facilities include everything we could want. Although we hardly could tear ourselves away from the place we did venture out a little and found a fabulous restaurant Hostellerie Saint Jacques at Saint Saud only about 30 minutes away in the Perigord National Park. Stunning local food and a great setting. We could not have had a better stay and Lynne and Richard do everything to make it special.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauful , peaceful location
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annebonne...
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A real treat”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

A wonderful stay with friends old and new. Found the time to drag ourselves away from the luxury for a couple of lovely meals, Le Temp Des Mets in St Jean De Cole, only a short drive away, for an authentic taste of France sitting under plane trees in the sunshine. Very helpful waitress with reasonable command of English. A lovely village for a walk around as well. Also went to old Limoges, atmospheric cathedral and botanical gardens (a bit past their best at this time of year) and had probably the best burger I have ever had in the Irish bar just nearby. The advantage of this one is that it is open all day in contrast to others in the area. Also partook of a lovely glass or two of rose at the Chateau, where nothing was too much trouble for the very affable host! All in all a wonderful trip

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PORiordan
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very welcome retreat in a beautiful location”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We (6 adults + 5 children aged 10 - 13) stayed here for the 2nd week in August.
On arrival, we were greeted by the owners (a very pleasant couple who live on site but remained very unintrusive) who kindly presented us with nibbles & wine to bridge the gap before we went shopping.
The property is situated on the edge of a national forest, which meant the night-sky was not affected by urban light, so we had clear views of the meteor showers that occur in August.
The facilities were excellent and thankfully the time seemed to pass slowly. It was interesting just watching everyone unwind. The furniture & decor was to a very high standard, with some very nice additional touches (music & DVDs on tap, board games and bikes available,plus a telescope for watching the wildlife. especially the kingfisher).
At no time were the kids bored - the pool & hot-tub were in use all the time, and the Games room & grounds filled any remaining spare time.
The grounds were sufficiently large for long walks with the dogs, and indeed offered enough to allow the fitter members amongst us to do their running.

All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable week !

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The relaxed ambience of the whole place
Liked least: I can't think of anything to put here
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
503 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Impossible to fault. Thought of everything !”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Enjoyed a week here with 11 family and friends Never felt crowded with so much space.
Outdoor area is fantastic with covered pool and hot tub.
Evening spent round the fire pit watching the night sky and the passing of the International Space Station. So quiet and remote here that can absolutely get away from it all
The owners have spent 15 years and a lot of time and money making this perfect retreat. They live in a neighbouring bungalow and were available to help but otherwise let us come and go and enjoy the place as if our own.
The games room is vast with something for everyone. Bring your music with you if you play keyboard or guitar !
We were very lucky with the weather so didn't want to be indoors but the cinema room could be a source of entertainment if the weather turned.
Hard to imagine a better place for a self contained family holiday
There isn't a lot nearby although only 50 min to Limogue airport. Most towns worth a visit are a 30 to 40 min drive although Jumilihac does have a restaurant and shops.
A car is essential however and we ended up self catering more than going out.
The internet was unreliable but the owners did what they could to resolve and are looking into a permanent solution
Cannot recommend highly enough.
And with the games room could be a viable winter retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynney500
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday home!”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Myself and 9 others stayed here for 4 nights and it was just perfect, we wish we could have stayed longer! The house itself is huge and was kept spotless by Richard and Lynne. There is a lovely swimming pool area with a jacuzzi and sauna which we made the most of (thanks to the hot weather we had)! This also looks out onto the beautiful countryside and the lake which you can zip wire across or relax on the boat. The games room (pool table, darts board, table tennis, instruments etc.) was definitely an added bonus and was where we spent most nights. Richard and Lynne were brilliant hosts, making sure we had everything we needed but also allowing us to have our own space. I will be sure to recommend Les Grandes Landes to others! There is absolutely nothing negative to say about this place and we would love to return one day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing