We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing holiday!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
The Beautiful heated pool and hot tub lit up at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Beautiful heated pool and hot tub lit up at night
The welcome shade on a hot summers day over the pool surrounded by the patio and dining area. Looking out over the unspoilt views from the pool. Grab a good book and relax in the sun or shade.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
The Beautiful heated pool and hot tub lit up at night
The welcome shade on a hot summers day over the pool surrounded by the patio and dining area.
Looking out over the unspoilt views from the pool. Grab a good book and relax in the sun or shade.
Sit and dine alfresco at this huge glass table with seating for 14.
The sunloungers by the pool waiting for you to relax and unwind.
All getting together making meals in this huge kitchen is a real pleasure.
The very spacious lounge with a double sided wood burner, all logs provided free.
Large dining room which has seating for 16 with large double aspect French Doors front and back.
Relax in this superior Master Bedroom with a huge 6ft sleigh bed, En-suite,full bath and shower.
The lovely en-suite for the master bedroom with full size double ended bath and separate shower.
Get in the holiday mood with a relaxing sauna, aromatic oils provided just ladle water on the coals.
Watch a game of football or great film on the enormous screen in the Games Room
The beautiful renovated games barn has a great space full of things to do to keep everyone happy.
Table tennis, Pool, Darts, Table Football, TV, Wi Fi, Bar Area, Drum Kit, Guitars, Sitting Area.
The Gothic style bedroom with lovely iron bed and oak beams, very romantic. full en-suite bathroom.
The en-suite bathroom to the Gothic style bedroom with full size bath and shower, basin and WC.
A super king bed splits into 2 single beds making this a great family room or one for 4 children.
The 2 single beds on the mezzanine floor, a favorite for young children to sleep in.
The lovely four poster bedroom and en-suite with full size bath and large shower basin and WC.
An Emperor size bed with views out over fields and woods. En-suite with full size bath and shower.
Go down the zip line over the pond, do a spot of fishing for carp or take a boat out on the water.
View of the front of Les Grandes Landes with parking for 6 cars located just outside the kitchen.
A lovely view over the goldfish pond of Les Grandes Landes and poolhouse which is all yours.
A beautiful view of the house and games barn in the middle of the fields.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Jumilhac-le-Grand, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon R
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday!!!”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had a fantastic stay at The Grandes Landes Retreat with friends. The property is stunning, full of character with original vaulted beamed ceilings, beautiful decor and all the modern conviniences you could wish for. We stayed in the master bedroom which was enormous with stunning views from the bedroom and bathroom of the 65 acre estate. The large fully equipped kitchen was a joy to cook in. The weather was perfect and so we made full use of the sauna, whirlpool, heated pool and the large sun terrace furnished with loungers and outdoor furniture so we could eat outside. There is also a games hall housed in a huge converted barn with pool table, table tennis, darts, drop down screen and bar. The owners Lynne and Richard gave us a warm welcome and where on hand to advise on activities and restaurents in the area. We had a fantastic holiday in a picturesque area of France and are planning on returning to Les Grandes Landes in 2016.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rvleeson
Oundle, Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly exceptional holiday location”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Les Grandes Landes Retreat is the most amazing location for a holiday. The house itself is beautiful with absolutely everything you could need (Richard and Lynne have thought of everything) The house has lots of room to accommodate even a large group of people without it feeling cramped at all.

The pool area is wonderful, the Oak framed roof above the pool provides shade so that everyone, especially children can enjoy time in the pool without the fear of getting sun burnt. While others who enjoy the sunshine can sit close-by on the patio. We especially enjoyed our evening walks around the grounds, the blackberry picking and having family film nights in the barn where we could all sit on the sofas and enjoy a film together.

I have to admit i was a little concerned when I realised that the owners Lynne and Richard lived on site as I didn't want to feel watched and that we couldn't relax and enjoy our time there. However this was not the case at all. Yes, the owners live close by but they are very unobtrusive, you might see them going for a walk in the distance or Richard cutting the grass but you really don't notice they are there at all.

I stayed with my extended family and we all agreed that Les Grandes Landes was absolutely perfect and we are looking forward to planning another stay soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area and that all rooms are en-suite
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attiwilso...
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Holiday luxury!!”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at this property for two weeks with two other couples. The house itself is wonderful. Everything you would ever need to enjoy your stay plus that little bit extra. The covered pool area is exceptional. When we were there the weather was very hot, so it was great to be able to use the pool and loungers in the shade if we needed to. The surrounding countryside was beautiful and we enjoyed the nearby walks. This was a good area for road cycling and there were some mountain bike routes too. Lynne and Richard were very friendly and helpful and after a long drive to get there it was nice to be given such a warm welcome. We would love to go back and enjoy this beautiful holiday house again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and surrounding countryside.
Liked least: There wasn't anything we didn't like.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sally b
Launceston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Total perfection!”
Reviewed June 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Where to start?!!!.. this is why its taken me so long to write my review, everytime I sit down to review Les Grandes Landes words seem inadequate- it really is perfection. I am also stumped as to which of our 500+ photographs to use, each one is beautiful but it is the combined effect of all the elements we photographed which make it quite so special. From the very first enquiry Lynne and Richard, not only made the process completely stress-free, but went above and beyond the call of duty with the arrangements for our arrival. We arrived at 12:30am but were greeted by smiles, handshakes and a roaring log fire and also a selection of goodies which Lynne had kindly got in addition to the usual welcome pack ( we also asked her to buy for us Easter Eggs to give to our children as we arrived on Easter Saturday and couldn't bring them on Easyjet!!- Lynne was more than happy to see to all our requests and for us to reimburse her on our arrival) The house, games barn, pool and grounds are simply stunning, finished to the highest of standards- combine this with the exceptional hosting of Lynne and Richard and it makes for a holiday like no other. From the pile of wood which appeared the day after we mentioned we'd like to use the fire pit, to the buggy rides Richard took the children on, to the detail in the décor of the house, the pool lighting at night, the frog chorus, the deer running through the grounds, the herons.....Can you see why it has been hard to know where to begin!!! We were a party of 11, ages ranging from 1- 72yrs, 3 family groups under one roof but never once feeling on top each other- it really is a venue which caters for everyone.
I can only say go...and you will see. I can't wait to return....And I plan to do so very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location/tranquility
Liked least: going home!!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus_r...
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection personified. A place just like paradise!!”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Having read previous reviews we were expecting a lovely place and holiday experience, but it still surpassed our wildest dreams. Richard and Lynne were so welcoming and made us feel so at home from the first time we met them. They have literally catered for everything and the house is absolutely stunning complimented by a fantastic pool and hot tub area, and lake with a boat and zip wire. We enjoyed evenings round the fire pit and lovely walks around the 65 acres. The bedrooms are all ensuite and very large. The games barn is such a welcome addition to this fantastic holiday home with pool, table tennis, darts, musical equipment etc. My 4 year old boy loved it. How many places can children and grandparents have so much fun together... We went to a local Irish pub called the fiddlers rest and had a lovely meal with our hosts Richard and Lynne. We really cannot speak highly enough of Les Grande Landes and promise to return as often as time allows. It's a little bit of paradise that has been created by such lovely people and of which they should be very proud. We cannot wait to return and have even more fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Simply everything!
Liked least: Leaving. My daughter cried.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gobsmackingly fabulous !!”
Reviewed January 19, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for the christmas week(2014),with my husband and our 4 adult children ,aged 21-25 and it was fabulous. The house had been decorated beautifully -lights,4 christmas trees,table settings-better than I could have done at home. The house itself is amazing -huge bedrooms (all with bathrooms), lots of living spaces,fabulous caterers kitchen and the games barn(also decorated) with pool table,table tennis,drop down screen,darts,bar and more was well used.Lynne and Richard are wonderful hosts,they have thought of every comfort,but remain completely behind the scenes.We went out driving most days and it was wonderful to return to a warm house with fires roaring. I cannot recommend staying here highly enough-and I haven't even mentioned the sauna,spa or the high quality linen (sheets,towels etc) ..For a christmas to remember this is the place!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonsieurC...
Freiburg
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 540 helpful votes
“Paradise on earth - go for it, without hesitation!”
Reviewed October 22, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We offered us a true folly and rented the whole villa (for up to 14 people!) just for the two of us, as a couple ... sort of second honeymoon.
Ok, it takes a mobile to arrange meetings within the distant wings of the building ... ;-) ...no, seriously: Here, you have literally room(s) enough and find really EVERYTHING - and more. Phantastic interior, a more-than-perfect kitchen, huge masterroom, lounge, dining room etc. etc... then a heated pool and a hot tub/jacuzzi (outside, but covered), a sauna ... opposite there's a huge grange restored as "games hall" with pool billard, table tennis, drummer kit, guitars, beamer, bar ... too much to list.
Outside, there are two ponds and a few nice surprises ... the whole thing is just incredible - and the owners are extremely kind, friendly and helpful.
In short - a brillant experience we'll never forget!

(Be warned, though: Not easy to find the first time - no sign at all - and few restaurants open off season. Go to LA TABLE DU MOULIN, to ART 7 in Sarlande .. and NOT to Voyageurs in La Coquille - tourist trap with convenience "cuisine")

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Pool, Hot Tub, Space & Nature
Liked least: Thhe fact that we had to leave ...
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing