We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay”
Review of Agua d'Alma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Agua d'Alma Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Foz do Arelho
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

+ Nice room with great view
+ Good service
- Hard bed
- Basic breakfast

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Megalith k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 112 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Penedo Furado for just the one night during a roadtrip in Spain and Portugal. It was a bit of a lottery for us as their website is written all in Portugese with no facitily to copy and paste text into Babelfish or any other translator, so we didn't really know what we were going to find either in the area or the at the hotel. On first sight the hotel was quite impressive and the owner who met us at the door was very helpful and assisted in carrying our bags up to our room. When he first showed us to our room there was a smell of something coming from the bathroom, but we put this down to the room having been shut up with all the windows / shutters closed. So, when he'd gone we opened it all up to air it though which did make it a bit better.

The walk to the beach at Foz do Arelho is a fair way to walk along the main road out of the village but we went down anyway, only to find a drab little holiday town with one or two shabby little bars set on a sandy inlet from the sea. Nothing very inspriing here for the seasoned traveller and made to look worse by the remnants of an obvious fire that had occurred and taken out a few wooden seaside shops / bars etc.

Back at the hotel the smell from the bathroom greeted us as we walked into the room - it was quite disgusting so we showered quickly and then went straight out to find somewhere to eat. By the time we returned the smell was even worse and we consdered going and asking for a replacement room but they didn't speak terribly good English and there was nobody around to ask anyway. As we were only there for one night we thought we'd put up with it and shut the bathroom door and leave the fan on on there. That was ok until one of us wanted to use the loo - which let the smell out to permeate the rest of the room. It really was foul and got steadily worse as the night went on. By morning we'd had enough so got up early, packed and left without breakfast.To be honest we really didn't fancy eating there after being subjected to the awful smell in the room all night - we felt quite nauseous! Not sure what the other rooms were like but anyone that books here should certainly avoid room number 114 at all costs! Not a hotel I'd hurry back to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deltic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

My husband and I were due to stay with friends but at short notice had to change our plans. I telephoned and spoke with the one of the owners at Penedo Furado who was extremely helpful even though by this time the choice of rooms was limited. When we arrived the room we were allocated was large, clean and quiet with comfortable beds. We needed no more for this visit. On the second evening of our stay we were delayed by a meeting and did not arrive back until 2.00am by which time the owners had to let us in. We apologised, but again they were very understanding and made us feel that they were not disturbed (though at such an early hour I am sure they were). There were several other occasions during our brief stay where we needed their help and each time they were unswervingly helpful. This may be a two star hotel but in the way it is managed it rates much higher in my opinion. When the need arises, we will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inncott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

Being a budget traveller, it is sometimes very hard to find a cheap accommodation especially in a countryside. But when I stayed Penedo Furado in Foz do Arelho, I was very impressed by its big room and bed and a lovely decoration with such low prices. The breakfast was very various, cereals, cheese, ham and some bread. One thing which was very hard was to find the hotel at first. There's public bus service but still it was quite hard to find it. We asked the bus driver and kind people on the bus also taught us how to go.

I believe it is like a hidden paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maximinimum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imperiodossons2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraAELM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Adalberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Foz do Arelho
0.5 mi away
Inatel Foz Do Arelho
Inatel Foz Do Arelho
#2 of 2 in Foz do Arelho
165 reviews
9.5 mi away
MH Peniche
MH Peniche
#1 of 11 in Peniche
417 reviews
4.9 mi away
SANA Silver Coast Hotel
SANA Silver Coast Hotel
#1 of 7 in Caldas da Rainha
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Evolutee Hotel at Royal Obidos Spa & Golf Resort
5 mi away
The Beachfront Apartments
14.7 mi away
Your Hotel & Spa Alcobaca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agua d'Alma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agua d'Alma Hotel

Address: Rua dos Camarcoes 03 | Caldas da Rainha, Foz do Arelho 2500-481, Portugal (Formerly Hotel Penedo Furado)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Leiria District > Foz do Arelho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Foz do Arelho
Price Range: $51 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Agua d'Alma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated between the Obidos Lagoon and the Atlantic Ocean, this contemporary-style hotel occupies a privileged position in Foz do Arelho, 8 km from Caldas da Rainha. Rooms at Hotel Penedo Furado overlook the lagoon or the village. Include cable TV, a work desk and a private bathroom with tub and shower. Guests can relax with a drink in the hotel bar, which has a large aquarium with tropical fish. There is also a modern lounge with a television to watch the news or sporting events. The Hotel Penedo Furado is located 12 km from the village of Obidos and 90 km from Lisbon. It offers free parking and free WI-FI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Agua d'Alma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing