We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveler rating
21
5
5
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
21
5
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk receptionist shower breakfast belgrade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 35 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2018

We had stayed at the Hotel Theater on a previous visit to Belgrade and despite our misgivings on that occasion we decided to stay again for a few days. The main reason for staying there was that we needed to be on the bus route between Zemun and Belgrade.This time our room was much larger than the one we had stayed in on our first visit and we had no problems with the shower. As before, our room was clean and comfortable. There were too many little drawbacks, however, that make it hard to give the hotel a more positive rating. It does not come up to the standards of a four star hotel.

We could not work out how to work the heating even though there was a thermostat in the room. We rang reception and someone came to help. She showed us how to adust the settings but even she did not understand some of the symbols. The lights by the bed did not work. We asked about it at the front desk but it was only on the second day that someone came to look at it and that was after we had asked again. In fact it was something that was easily solved: there was a switch in the wardrobe, which in our opinion the receptionist should have known about. When we had got the bedside lights to work we found that they were fixed too far away from the bed for them to be much use. There was a safe in the room, but no instructions. The hotel advertised a gym in the basement so I decided to try it. It was very small, much of the equipment was not working and, as far as I could tell, there was no heating (this was in January). Very disappointing. And finally breakfast was not of a good enough standard. Some of the dishes were fine, but stale bread is simply not acceptable.

The Hotel Theater does have one very positive feature: its staff. All the personnel we encountered, at reception, in the breakfast room and around the hotel, were unfailingly pleasant. Frustratingly the hotel could easily have been so much better.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jpcheshire1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Theater Belgrade is a nice hotel. I found the breakfast and the dinner OK but as in most of the balkans not great. Most balkan hotels seem to struggle for range & variety and the restaurant of the Theatre seem a little cramped. Hotel rooms and facilities are all good though.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

The Hotel Theater is a stylish modern hotel in Zemun where we spent two nights in August 2017 on a bed and breakfast basis. It was clean and comfortable but some details stopped us from giving it a higher rating.

On the positive side the staff were pleasant and helpful. There were two parking spaces in front of the hotel and more at the back. The location is good, though this may not be obvious to people who do not know the area unless they have a good map or ask for help.In fact it is within walking distance of the centre of Zemun and a short bus ride to the centre of Belgrade. It is also a very short walk to the quay along the Danube and (in summer) the pontoon bridge to the Zemun lido. Our room was comfortable though a little small. Breakfast was a generous buffet though we have one objection mentioned below. It may be heplful to mention that you can get good fast food at the stalls on the other side of the road.

On the other hand some features were less satisfactory. The shower surround did not contain the water with the result that it spread across the bathroom floor. A ramp at the front would have meant that we did not have to carry our luggage up some steps. Wifi reception was poor (though better than some other hotels we stayed at in Serbia). All these points did not stop us enjoying our stay and we would be happy to go back, but we would expect more of a four star hotel.

And there can be no excuse for stale bread at breakfast in a city which has a bakery on every corner.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jpcheshire1615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2017

It is not the best hotel I have ever been. The rooms are tiny. There is central heating which makes the air in the room dry all the time. Winter is so tough in Serbia that you can not open the window. And the breakfast room was horrible. All cooking smell was in the room, especially in the breakfast time.
The staff (especially the receptionists are kind and helpful) but the rest about the hotel is average.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 714petekb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We were visiting Belgrade for the new year celebration and we booked this hotel, the hotel located on one of the main streets of Zemun - suburb of Belgrade and very close to the beautiful promenade of the Danube, yet its not far from the city center of Belgrade, by taxi 10 min or by bus 15 min. the hotel looks new, modern and very cozy, rooms are big and the bad was very comfortable (we were staying 5 nights) the stuff was very friendly and helpful and spoke well English, breakfast was good and rich (compere to European breakfasts) they also provide transfer service from the airport for not expensive rate.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mosaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews