We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific local cuisine”
Review of Balkan Express

Balkan Express
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in Zemun
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed November 12, 2018

I ate here recently with some friends, just a walk-in as we were in the area, but we were quickly accommodated.
The staff are friendly here and the service very good. Very importantly, the restaurant has a great atmosphere, is very nicely laid-out and decorated (an old railway carriage is built in to the establishment so you can sit in there if you wish - perhaps booking is required for that, I'm not sure), and is right beside the Danube river, which can be seen from inside or from the outside terrace. If you visit in the summer then sitting on the terrace is a must.
The food is excellent - I ordered beef cheeks and the meat was so tender as to be almost heavenly. My companions ordered ribs, which were also very good (but my dish was agreed to be the best choice that day).
We also shared a very good dessert - some dish made from pumpkin, which was delicious.
Prices were reasonable, working out at roughly €10-12 per head.

I am looking forward to coming back here.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank T1005QCianw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 176 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2018

Seated on hill with epic views overlooking the Danube river, this restaurant is definitely worth the climb while visiting Zemun. The food is excellent!!! traditional Balkan very generous dishes. We ordered the Cevap, Fish soup and Balkan salad and were not disappointed. It felt like having an Orient Express style lunch since the original part of the restaurant is actually a railway wagon.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanaT1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2018

We decided to have a breakfast on the river, and went for the Balkan ekspres restaurant on the Gardosh. We had French toasts, eggs, domestic ajvar and heavy cream (kajmak), cheese, bacon, pork belly carnitas, tomato and cucumber. Complete package. The service was superb, staff very professional and the breakfast – fantastic.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grumpy_hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2018

Location is extraordinary, best view of Danube in Belgrade. Excellent food and great service, value is very good but not the best.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IlijaIlija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

The restoran has great location and great tasty food. The view on Danube and Belgrade is wonderful.

Service is professional and smooth.

And all the credits for tasty food.

Must visit while in Belgrade/Zemun.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GB_Belgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balkan Express also viewed

 
Belgrade, Serbia
Belgrade, Serbia
 

Been to Balkan Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing