We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dala Horse”
Review of Dalarnas Museum

Dalarnas Museum
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Falun
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dalarna Museum is the County Museum of Dalarna - open to the world It reflects the region's collective cultural heritage with its distinctive history, tradition and culture, which even today can be experienced by visitors around the landscape. As a tourist, you should begin your visit in Dalarnas museum to understand the tensions and dynamics that exist between the province's different areas. Here is Sweden's most traditional and most industrialized regions joined side by side.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This place was interesting, we saw how they made the horses got some history on the horses, talked to some of the workers. The gift shops are really fun, if you plan on buying a Dala Horse buy it here. They tend to be a bit pricey where ever you go, but as I looked at several different places I was glad I bought mine here! They make a fun souvenir.

3  Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell B, Informationsansvarig at Dalarnas Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for reviewing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2014

This museum did not fail to impress me. Loved the exhibits, the gift shop and the wonderful luncheon buffet around the corner. Good value for money. My only disappointment is that the museum's commentary was in Swedish (and I don't speak Swedish, unfortunately)

3  Thank 785belladonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell B, Informationsansvarig at Dalarnas Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for reviewing us, hope to see you soon again. We are working on translating the exhibitions to english .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Marvelous displays of Dalarna arts and crafts. The luncheon buffet on the lower level is a great bargain.

4  Thank ML E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell B, Informationsansvarig at Dalarnas Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Dalarnas museum is a small museum in the town of Falun, the regional capital of Dalarna, or Dalecarlia as it used to be called in English.
The museum is a great place to learn about the region, the old copper mines, the red paint that is used for painting so many buildings, the Dala horses, the traditional folklore costumes that are still used for celebrations, weddings etc. Paintings from local and famous artists.. and ALL FREE OF CHARGE!
Despite the fact that we have lived in the area for 35 years, we often take our visitors to see the museum and they all think it is great!!

8  Thank marie6323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell B, Informationsansvarig at Dalarnas Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This museum is well worth a visit especially if you're interested in Swedish folk art, costume and traditions. It's beautifully laid out and has some wonderful exhibits and it's FREE (and after a few days in Sweden you'll start to appreciate that word!)

5  Thank bridge_cmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isabell B, Informationsansvarig at Dalarnas Museum, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you for your review and welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dalarnas Museum also viewed

Falun, Falun Municipality
Falun, Falun Municipality
 
Sundborn, Falun Municipality
Falun, Falun Municipality
 

Been to Dalarnas Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing