We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another Scandic. Nothing bad, but nothing good either”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Lugnet Falun
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Falun
Halmstad, Sweden
Level Contributor
223 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Just another Scandic. Nothing bad, but nothing good either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Located just outside the Falu city centre with a bowling alley in the basement.
The room (314) has seen better days, but it was clean and the bed was good.

The gym has the essential equipment and there is a small pool (a bit cold) and sauna in the basement. With some more plants and some music it could get much more cosy down there.

Food: We tried the evening buffet (135SEK) and it was quite ok, and the restaurant is inviting.
Breakfast. Nothing to complain about. Everything you need, but nothing extra.

Room Tip: My colleague got a room next to the elevator, and that was a bit noicy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    81
    73
    21
    5
See reviews for
60
45
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
714 reviews
202 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 443 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

We stayed one night at the Scandic Falun. The hotel is convenient if you are ready to walk 15 minutes to the centre. The building is modern and relatively ugly. The room was OK and the breakfast was good. Good hotel for one night if you are planning to visit Falun and the mine.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Friendly atmosphere and service minded personnel. Very rich breakfast (also for gluten- and lactos intolerant guests). Al a carte dinner in hotel restaurant was tasty. Over all good ratio quality -price. Convenient possibilities for outdoor excercises. This was our second stay in this hotel and we will come back and use it as a base for excursions.

Room Tip: Pleasant view and nice warm colours in fabrics and walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falun, Sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

i travelled a lot but i' ve never been in a so bad hotel.
far from the city center. old-smelt environment. no air condition.

no furniture where to put dresses.

reception very rude

in general, unpleasant and untidy atmosphere.

the only goo thing is the free wi-fi and the car parking.

very dusty. the third bad is on the floor and not suitable for adult as well as the double bad is very small.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaget1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Falun hotels

Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

Had a very good SEK 600 summer rate - paid extra for "superior" - got room on top with fantastic view, but of course no A/C (never on Scandic) and NO REAL ventilation. With 30°C outside it was HOT.
Breakfast (included) as usual in Scanic - good - but eggs and bacon not edible (scrambled eggs from some powder? and bacon was a heated 2 lbs block of slices - not crisp at all). Bread as usual in Sweden - not and crisp, fresh (even if it may be was freshly baked).
Still - very good for a price like a cheap hostel!
Of course free internet all over.
A bit far out of town - ½ hour walk (uphill).

Restaurrant - actually really good food. Wine reasonable and good - many good wines by the glass (=1/4 bottle). Food - seems nowaday to be the standard in Sweden - Italian inspired. Menu very limited, especially if you do not want to have junk food (pizza and burger - pizza was fine BTW), but for a singlæe meal it was sufficient and very well prepared and arranged.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BjoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2008

We stayed here after driving up from Uppsala and planning to go to Sundborn, where we wanted to see home of Carl Larrson.

A Funky looking, modern scadanavian hotel-our 2 kids loved it.
They especially liked the kids buffet for dinner. (Grown ups all enjoyed their dinners too, which were ordered off the menu.)

Staff was very helpful in giving directions. My mom wanted to go ahead of us and they helped her find the bus stop.

Kids loved the fold out bed in room. Also the pool on the bottom floor was clean though slightly small. A bowling alley is also available though we didn't use it. Breaksfast was a large buffet very typical but fresh and good.

I would recommend this hotel without a doubt!

  • Liked — updated, clean, modern
  • Disliked — parking lot was small and filled by the time we got ther
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlsongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyman, Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2007

The modernistic ski jump design of the hotel echoes the nearby ski jumps, visible from many of the hotel windows. Spacious "green" rooms with many creature comforts", trouser press, heated towel racks (useful for in-a-pinch laundry needs), etc. Children's mascot figure delights youngsters during the breakfast hours. An extensive breakfast buffet. The Lugnet is situated in the midst of a large athletic complex. Convenient by car to the center of Falun and easly located.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank cwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falun
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Bergmastaren
0.8 mi away
First Hotel Grand Falun
11.6 mi away
Scandic Borlange City
Scandic Borlange City
#2 of 8 in Borlange
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
STF Hotel Falun
STF Hotel Falun
#4 of 4 in Falun
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
11.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Galaxen
Quality Hotel Galaxen
#1 of 8 in Borlange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.4 mi away
Samuelsdals Pensionat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Lugnet Falun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Lugnet Falun

Property: Scandic Lugnet Falun
Address: Svardsjogatan 51, Falun 791 31, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County > Falun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Falun
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Lugnet Falun 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Lugnet Choose the Scandic Lugnet hotel, located 10 minutes' walk from Falun centre, off the main road E16.Relax in the pool with friends or dine in the restaurant before playing a few frames in the bowling alley at "Chrilles Bowling". Do business in one of 10 meeting rooms with wireless Internet access at no extra charge. Facility Enjoy a sauna, swimming and ten-pin bowling or workout in the well-equipped gym at the Scandic Lugnet hotel, located a 10 minute walk from Falun restaurants and shops. Lugnet's sport and leisure facilities and beautiful nature within walking distance. Falun attractions include skating and skiing in winter and canoeing and cycling in summer at Lake Runn, 2 km away. A tour of Falun copper mine is a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Lugnet Falun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Lugnet Hotel Falun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing