We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic, warm and perfect location to discover Dalarna” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jons Andersgarden

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dalarna County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jons Andersgarden
Ranked #28 of 84 Dalarna County B&B and Inns
Sint-Niklaas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic, warm and perfect location to discover Dalarna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Location:
5/5
The hotel is situated on a hill so you'll have a stunning view over Siljan.
It's barely a 10 minute walk to the town of Rättvik.
When you enter the hotel you'll notice instantly that Jöns Andersgården once was a traditional Swedish farm. The hotel is set so that each building of the former farm has a new use. It feels very authentic and warm.
Rättvik is the perfect starting point to discover Dalarna and the Siljan-area.

Service & interior:
4/5
Friendly staff and authentic warmth in both the interior and the service.

Breakfast:
2/5
Breakfast provides fruit & vegetables (watermelon, tomatoes, oranges, paprika,...), coffee, tea, fruitjuice, cereals, yoghurt, eggs,... but it's basic. For instance, fruitjuice is not fresh, the breakfast buffet is the same every single day (we stayed for 4 nights and it became hard to choose what to eat every morning since there was not much variety); the yoghurt's placed on the buffet in its carton box,... Especially since the hotel has a well-known restaurant we expected more from the breakfast.

Room:
4/5
We stayed in "Fjuset" for 4 nights. Very clean, warm, cosy,...room. The fireplace gives it an extra touch. It has everything you'll need: bath towels, slippers,... A perfect room for a romantic getaway! The bathroom is quite basic, but is very clean and has everything you need.

The room rate includes access to "bastu" (sauna) and jacuzzi which are located in a new wooden building. In the bastu you'll have a great view over the garden and Siljan.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay here, but we know cheaper places that offer better value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NE888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

wonderful find. Once a farm, then a religious retreat, accommodation in various quaint converted timber outbuildings. Jasper was a" CAN DO " manager and nothing was too much trouble. Wonderful sunsets over lake Siljan. querky rooms with whitewashed timber walls. decor had cottage feel with gingham cushions very Laura Ashley. lovely comfortable beds. Visited Dalana for Midsummer Solstice. National costumes, maypole dancing, wild flowers abound. Rented superb bike for three days £25. Hired car for trip to Carl Larssons house. Excellent food served at Jons Andersgarden, bit expensive to eat there every night.. optional cheaper menu could be considered. Although restaurant was always busy, so the in-place to be. Only open in the Summer.

Room Tip: all interesting some have lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Many thanks to Jasper for his attentive care during our 4 night stay here during the midsummer celebrations. This place is a gem! Set above the lake with fantastic views, it is converted from an old farm and decorated in rustic shabby chic style - lots of white walls, good beds, crisp linen. and candles. Our bathroom was in a separate log cabin! There is a new suite with its own sauna here and improvements are ongoing. Jasper's Italian restaurant is very popular and housed in the main farm building - we had an excellent buffet breakfast with home made preserves there. Midsummer in Rattvik is THE place to be - over 1000 people gather together near the lakeside wearing flower garlands in their hair and dance around the maypole. Easy walk into town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DorsetAngiec18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

The hotel is well situated in Rattvik (provided you have a car as the walk to town would take roughly 15min) and has beautiful views out over the lake. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The staff were great, even going out of their way to prepare a late night snack for us. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelativeWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

The property is located in Rattvik on Lake Siljan. It definitely used to be an old farm. If you want a genuine Swedish experience this is your place. The rooms and facilities were very clean. However, the restaurant is extremely over priced. You will not walk away for less than 250 USD. The view is beautiful and all the staff is very nice and helpful. We had a smaller room that fit only 2 beds and nothing else. But it was enough.

  • Liked — Truly Swedish experience
  • Disliked — room is way too small and a bit pricey
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dona18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

Some of the users of Tripadvisor recommended this small guesthouse to us, and we decided to spend our valentine's weekend there. It was just what we were looking for. A group typical older wooden buildings (probably a former farm) were very tastefully renovated with a dozen guestrooms and a cozy little restaurant. The view over lake Siljan is fabulous. The food and the service are too. We will go back, but this time for more than 3 nights !

  • Liked — friendliness of the staff
  • Disliked — lack of storage for clothes, the in the (otherwise beautifully decorated) room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BelaMoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dalarna County hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotell Lerdalshojden
1.2 mi away
Kullan
Kullan
#4 of 11 in Rattvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Augustas Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tagstallarna i Rattvik
Tagstallarna i Rattvik
#5 of 11 in Rattvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fyrkloverns Stugby
Fyrkloverns Stugby
#6 of 11 in Rattvik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lustigsgarden
Lustigsgarden
#1 of 7 in Rattvik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jons Andersgarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jons Andersgarden

Property: Jons Andersgarden
Address: Bygatan 16 | Lerdal, Rättvik, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Dalarna County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Dalarna County
Hotel Class:3 star — Jons Andersgarden 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Jons Andersgarden Sweden/Dalarna County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing