We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, great host”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Milford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The B&B was very cozy and clean and the breakfasts were amazing and prepared with great care, using local ingredients so you really get a 'taste of the county'. The host was very informative and really knew the best places in the county. His advice really made our trip spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

Bob Cowan is the warm and witty owner of the Miller's House Bed&Breakfast that is located in the small town of Milford. There is easy access by car or bike to numerous wineries, Fifth Town Cheese factory, beautiful small towns and many excellent restaurants.

The Miller's House is a lovely old structure perched beside the pond and across from the old mill. It is surrounded by lovely gardens where it is a treat to spend time communing with the flowers or birds, or diving into a great book in one of the comfortable lawn chairs.

The interior is tastefully decorated with interesting art, the beds are very comfortable, and three of four bedrooms have ensuite bathrooms. The fourth bedroom is a child's haven, tucked under the eaves with whimsical touches such as a mousehole at the bottom of the door with a stuffed rat placed in front of it.

Upon rising, we were greeted with a fresh pot of coffee, and then treated to a sumptuous breakfast. We had fresh fruit both mornings, and over the course of two days, homemade cornbread with wild blueberries, creamy scrambled local free range eggs, homemade jams, crepes stuffed with blueberries and ricotta served with maple syrup. It kept us all going well into the early afternoon, and equipped those of us who were biking with enough fuel to pedal to explore Point Petrie and back.

Bob anticipates the little details that make the experience of your stay just a little more special. There is a bar fridge provided to the guests so they can chill any recent purchases from the local wineries or cheese factories to enjoy during the stay. When we opened a lovely Chardonnay to sip before we headed out for dinner, Bob brought us a lovely wedge of Fifth Town cheese with crackers and dried blueberries, as well as some beautiful crystal glasses that always makes the wine taste even better.

Bob also encourages his guests to let him make dinner reservations for them. He has a personal relationship with many of the proprietors and therefore one is assured of great service, or they hear from him!

We all left feeling very satisfied with our experience, and agreed that the best part was getting to know Bob.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wendyfredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Stayed three nights at the Miller's House B&B. Our cordial host, Bob, was informative and delightful. He was willing and able to make reservations at any one of the local restaurants, depending on diet and budget, along with reviews on most. A verbal tour of the county was only a question away, along with the prerequisite pamphlets at the ready. Be sure to ask for the breakfast biscuits and the farm fresh eggs for a memorable treat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricky_P_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from our third visit to the Miller's House. Bob is a wonderful host. Bob always makes us feel welcome and treats us like family. His breakfasts are amazing. The quality and presentation impeccable.
We love our getaways to Prince Edward County. The area is surrounded by excellent restaurants, art, and winery's. Bob is always helpful in recommending restaurants and will gladly take care of making reservations on your behalf.
There is no where else we would rather stay !!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twofoodies02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband and I visited for the second year in a row and were delighted again. Charming house, very comfortble premises, quiet and lovely location. Picton can be quite an hectic little town so I recommened the Miller's House location, away from it all in the little village of Milford. It is close enough to everything.
Rob is a great host who really spoils his guests. Great tips for the best wineries and restaurants, the most amazing breakfats I have evern eaten at a B&B or anywhere else, very accomodating and welcoming.
A great little place in a beautiful spot. An awasome combination for some R&R.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maryse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

We travel a lot and have stayed in many places. This was our third visit to the MIller's House. It continues to be a lovely and peaceful experience. The breakfasts are a fabulous mix of farm fresh eggs with garden grown herbs, homemade biscuits and blueberry corn muffins and blueberry crepes with a huge bowl of fresh fruit homemade jams and endless coffee. Rooms(we have stayed in all of them) are clean and quiet. Beds are cozy. Sounds of the waterfall coming in the window and beautiful gardens. A wonderful 3 days and nights. Thanks,Bob, for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank truebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Just back from a great weekend at The Miller’s House, ideally located in the middle of Prince Edward County. I chose the B&B based on reviews on this site and it was all fabulous as promised. Bob is the consummate host. Very friendly, attentive and knowledgeable about surrounding towns, restaurants, art galleries, beaches and bicycling routes, and local food suppliers. Be sure to book your restaurant reservations through him, well ahead of your arrival as several of these are top-quality restaurants booked far in advance – including Blumen Garden Bistro (my favourite), Angeline's, Waupoos, Carriage House and Merrill Inn.

The B&B was a charming, renovated 19th century house, comfortably furnished by Bob himself and offering a variety of indoor and outdoor sitting areas for people to relax. It had wonderful gardens and a big property on a creek, with bullfrogs, bird feeders and fireflies to watch and listen to.

We were there with friends and the three main bedrooms were a balance of contemporary design and antiques. The fourth bedroom, a dormer with a low door, two double beds and windows on a few sides (no ensuite but access to a two-piece bathroom) would be great for children. My husband and I were in the main floor bedroom. Bob gets busy with breakfast at dawn, so we suggest you close all doors to the bathroom and kitchen halls when you go to bed to keep the noise down.

Both of our breakfasts were divine, starting with a huge plate of fruit, homemade to-die-for scones and delicious homemade jams on the side. This was followed by a hot meal of scrambled eggs, sausages and salad one morning, and crepes stuffed with ricotta cheese and berries the next.

Bob has a small refrigerator for guests to use on the second floor. (Remember to take your food and drinks out of it when you leave.)

We will definitely be returning to The Miller’s House, possibly next month!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cody16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
5.5 mi away
The Waring House
The Waring House
#2 of 5 in Picton
448 reviews
5.4 mi away
Picton Harbour Inn
Picton Harbour Inn
#3 of 5 in Picton
156 reviews
11.7 mi away
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
Twin Birch Suites & Cottages
#3 of 13 in Wellington
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Jackson's Falls Country Inn
7.9 mi away
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
Isaiah Tubbs Resort
#5 of 5 in Picton
483 reviews
11.1 mi away
Mapiya Retreat
Mapiya Retreat
#1 of 13 in Picton
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 2843 County Road 10, Milford, Picton, Ontario K0K 2P0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Prince Edward County > Picton > Milford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Milford
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miller's House, a charming Bed and Breakfast, is located 15 minutes from the town of Picton and Sandbanks Provincial Park. The bed-sitting rooms, with private modern baths, are furnished with carefully chosen antiques set on restored pine floors. Each room is equipped with bar fridge, and coffee maker with complimentary coffee. Guests awaken from a comfortable, quiet sleep to the smell of freshly baked biscuits which are served during the two course breakfast that features local ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Miller's House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Miller's House Bed And Breakfast Milford, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing