We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You must go here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Milford Bistro

Milford Bistro
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $37
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Serving up the best food in the county! Our emphasis is the farm to fork philosophy with sourcing our ingredients from local suppliers, farmers and producers.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must go here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and I took the kids here for dinner - we didn't know much about the place other than that they had lunch burgers. Thankfully the kids were really good because we enjoyed a superb meal here. No kidding, this was one of the best meals we've ever had - loved the ambiance, the host/waiter/owner was really attentive even though he was so busy. He was very helpful and knowledgeable with the local wines, we followed his advice and now have a new favourite. We loved it so much we went to the vineyard the next day and bought a case. Can't say enough about the Milford bistro, thanks for having us and for the delicious food and hope to see you again soon.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    38
    8
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband took me for dinner to the Milford Bistro during our stay in Milford. I could go on and on about the food and service - but I will sum it up by saying it was amazing! Chris (the owner) was very hospitable and engaging. He made sure we were having a good time, took the time to make wine recommendations and also shared some tips about his gazpacho (it is a must-have when you are there!). But all the food we had was delicious. Chris is also a pretty good photographer (always happy to help capture your special moments!)

As I said, I could say more - but if you are looking for a place to eat while in Milford - make sure you go to the Milford Bistro.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TashlinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our lunch was excellent with friendly service. The menu is not large (nor is the restaurant) however the offerings should tempt any discerning palate. No hesitation to recommend it. It's a little out of the way but totally worth it. There are a few wineries in the area so we combined tasting during the trip to the Bistro.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontmajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers and Macaroni & Cheese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We dropped into the Milford Bistro for their burger bar. It was too hot outside and we decided to dine indoors. The interior was interesting with quotes about food around the top of the walls. My younger son decided to go with the mac and cheese rather then a burger and it was delicious, made with excellent cheddar. The burgers were outstanding as well. The restaurant is definitely worth going to or the burger bar (outdoors) for a quick lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChairmanMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Prince Edward County Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

From the warm greeting from Chris when we entered, until finishing off the locally roasted coffee, this dinner was a treat.
The simple and elegant dining room decorated with works from local artists set the tone. All of the ingredients are from the local farmers. All of the wines are from the local wineries. Chris and his staff are proud to explain about their own laying hens and which farms supply which ingredients.
Chris expertly circulates the dining room, chatting with each diner and making everyone feel uniquely special.
Starting with the cheese puffs, we are surprised at how light and flavourful they are. We both ordered the Caesar salad with the Bistro 'croutons' which were nothing short of amazing. Our mains were lamb with buttered beets, parsnips and potato, and chicken confit with yam rosti and red cabbage. The lamb was so tender, no knife was needed. The chicken was so fresh and flavourful and fell off the bone. It reminded me of my grandfather's farm when I was a child. The beets, fresh out of the garden, were extraordinary.
Homemade yellow plum ice cream and locally roasted coffee was an excellent finish.
There was nothing we could recommend to improve this experience and we both left assured that this was the best place to eat in Prince Edward County and one of the best restaurant experiences we have had in a very long time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Bistro also viewed

Milford, Picton
Picton, Prince Edward County
 
Picton, Prince Edward County
Wellington, Prince Edward County
 

Been to Milford Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing