We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wandering Gamla Stan”
Review of Restaurang Kryp In

Restaurang Kryp In
Ranked #23 of 3,112 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wandering Gamla Stan”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were wandering Gamla Stan on our last night in Stockholm, just looking for a place to have dinner before we went back to our hotel to pack. Came upon this little gem & ordered the Chef's 3-course dinner: mushroom soup was wonderful, rich & creamy with a hint of bacon; reindeer steak entree and cheesecake dessert. Everything was perfect, beautifully presented. The service was spot on.

This place is very intimate and cozy. Tables seem to each be set in their own little nook, feeling is romantic.

As a tourist without a reservation, you could do a whole lot worse. This place feels like a restaurant where the locals go.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kbl312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    404
    82
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Came because of the no. 1 rating on here, luckily it waa just around the corner from our hotel and we were lucky enough to get a reservation.
Great service, food was amazing! The lamb was to die for! Came with potato mashed and in fine pastry which I have never encountered. So glad we came! Highly recommend

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jatesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An innovative experience”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A highly popular place that's full house almost all the time. We chanced upon it during our walk around Gamla Stan. We didn't have any reservations so we couldn't sit indoors, but thankfully someone was about to leave at an outdoor table (and blankets are provided for outdoor seats). Service was friendly but in a professional way. Portions were good and the cuisine was very innovative. My husband enjoyed his food. While I can't say I totally enjoyed mine (a tad too funky for me), I have to give them credit for their daring mix of ingredients and innovation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trueillusion02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Can't beat the chef's three course dinner”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We had just gotten off a cruise ship with very good food, but still had dinner two nights in a row at this charming Gamla Stan Restaurant. Both nights, we had the Chef's three course dinner. Each item was spectacular and delicious. The cheesecake, which did not look like a cheesecake, was the best cheesecake we've ever had. You'll see from the pictures which I will upload.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Snug and Scrumptuous”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This incredible little restaurant tucked away on a side street in Old Town provides a unique dining experience - from a delicious wild mushrrom soup to sliced roast beef of reindeer so lean and tender you could cut it with your fork. This meat was flavorful yet without any gamey taste and I believe it was among the best beef meat I've ever consumed.

We used Trip Advisor to select Krypt In and were delighted with the experience. By the way, Krypt In holds TA's top rating out of 1,024 restaurants in greater Stockholm.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeet288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurang Kryp In also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Restaurang Kryp In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing