We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fancy place with ok food and good service”
Review of Villa Godthem

Villa Godthem
Ranked #583 of 3,112 Restaurants in Stockholm
Price range: $29 - $118
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Reykjavík
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fancy place with ok food and good service”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I went to this restaurants after a travel agency recommended it to me. I booked a table for 17 persons and we had to pick the menu four days before. We had the menu that they are know for and it was ok - not exceptional but ok. The service was very good and professional. It was a good night with good company but the food was so and so.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingisund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    131
    67
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overrated restaurant in pretty area”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Resturant is pretty. Interior - blend of Swedish and French decors. Park outside, patio, lake... Atmosphere is great. But - the purpose of existence of this place is somehow spoiled. I had been visiting this restaurant few times, usually connected to business dinners. I had been there also few times in private. Since opening, it gets only worse. Food is just avarage now, seldom up to your request. You may order done beef and you will get overdone. Medium comes as rare. Fish - overdone. I don't care about stories of on-time used cedar plates or organic reddish. Food is looking great, but tastes - just avarage.
Staff is posh and not really keeping attention. They forget about delivery of ordered drinks, don't ask if guests would like desserts.
Villa Gothem is located perfectly by edge of Djurgården in the park. It is just very busy place, which guarantees guests. This luxury of having frequent guests made restaurant lazy. Melker Andersson & Danyel Couyet lay on laurs and focus on not really significant details instead of food and guests. F12 - these are guests who are most important.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temporar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This was a lovely restaurant in a historic building. We were a group of 10 and sat on the outside terrace with a view of the sea. We shared several mixed appetizer plates for starters. They were beautifully arranged and delicious. Everyone chose the house specialty--plank steak--as a main course. There was a choice of beef or fish, both cooked on a cedar plank. It was fabulous, and everyone was very pleased. The deserts, too, were great. All-in-all, a wonderful place for a very special meal.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eclipsegroupie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almancil, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slow”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

First we spent 15 minutes in a queue to order and pay, then waited more than half an hour for the food which when it arrived was cold.
Expensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ngenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well tasting food, beautiful interior”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Have had dinner there twice and I definately would go there again. Traditional swedish food, cooked with love. Had lamb and seasons menue and both made me happy. Lovely design as well. Once the waiter was quite clumsy, but that was strangely enough a bit charming. The season's menue is affordable.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Camilla-from-sthlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Godthem also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Villa Godthem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing