We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty meatballs!!!”

Operakallarens Bakficka
Ranked #38 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty meatballs!!!”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We went here on a recommendation from a friend, and it lived up to its hype!!

The meatballs were delicious and far better than any Swedish IKEA meatballs you've had! The potato purée served with lingonberry preserve is also rather scrummy!!

Although on the pricey side essentially for what it is, it is worth spending the £££ if you are visiting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    225
    32
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
198 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food, ok service”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great location right behind the opera house. The food was delicious, I recommend the meatballs! We were there for lunch and the service was quick which was great. Our waitress was not friendly though which put a damper on the mood. However the man that helped us after was friendly so it could just have been the woman we dealt with that was unfriendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbarbs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for Solo Lunch”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Was wandering around Stockholm and stumbled upon this place right by the Opera House for a late solo lunch after arriving in the city. The food was fantastic, location is great (esp. if sitting outside by the park), and service was both kind and attentive. Excellent introduction to Stockholm and to Swedish meatballs and lingonberries.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Swedish food!”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We wanted to try Swedish food, and looked up good restaurants in the area to have it, and found this gem located in the Opera house. Very informal as it's basically a cafe with bar seating, it felt very informal but nice.

We started with the herring plate which had herring prepared in a variety of different ways. I really enjoyed the mustard herring and the selection of bread which was brought to the table.

I had the meatballs after that, and they were the best swedish meatballs I've ever had (I haven't had that many, but they were delicious!). My wife had the seared beef carpaccio, which was good, but she didn't expect it to have beets so was a little taken aback by the deep red color.

Overall, we really enjoyed our meal here and would return for some meatballs. It was our first introduction to Swedish food in Stockholm so we were surprised by the price of food, but in the end, it was worth the experience and glad we got to try it out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great swedish food ”
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The food was great, but maybe a little bit too pricy. It was packed on a Friday evening, as it offers only 30 seats. They do not have normal tables, just an oversized bar. Quite nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jogi77
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Operakallarens Bakficka also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Operakallarens Bakficka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing