We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Swedish Meatballs”

Operakallarens Bakficka
Ranked #36 of 3,111 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious Swedish Meatballs”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Love me some good Swedish meatballs and this is the place to get them when in Stockholm. Food was delicious and service was great. Wish I would have visited Bakficka more times during my recent trip to Stockholm. Go there and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank traveling_with_kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    238
    34
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eat here ever time”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Love the food. Fresh herring and best meatballs and mashed potatoes in town. Reasonably priced and great location

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AZtravelmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, slow service”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

On our final night in Stockholm we treated ourselves to a traditional Swedish meal. We shared the crayfish toast, I had the gravlax with dill creamed potatoes and my husband had meatballs with lingonberries. All were delicious and well-prepared and presented. However, there was a very long wait between the appetizer and the main course being served (at least 40 minutes). Fortunately we were on the terrace and enjoyed the view, the fresh air and the passersby attending Stockholm Fashion Week. Service was rather chilly but this seems to be the norm in Stockholm. For a more casual traditional meal, this is a good pick.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

a very nice way to have a meal in a theatrical atmosphere, more French than Swedish. it is small and cosy with good food. Often crowdy. The same building as the Opera. Not so expensive

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank windisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meatballs in the world!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I ate at Operakallarens bakficka for lunch on our first day in Stockholm. We both ordered the Swedish meatballs with the mashed potatoes. The meatballs were by far the best we've ever had (sorry grandma.) We loved our lunch so much, we decided to go back one more time for more meatballs before our flight back to Chicago. Service was great too! Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenRey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Operakallarens Bakficka also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Operakallarens Bakficka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing