We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restaurant”
Review of Pontus!

Pontus!
Ranked #963 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Cuisines: Swedish, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A rather new restaurant in the middle of business center, always good food and fine wines...in the business center. You have to book in advance

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank windisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    54
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Racine, WI
Level Contributor
147 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“MADDENING AND UNACCEPTABLE”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Every so often, one finds a restaurant in which the "chef" prepares food the way he likes it, with total disregard for the likes and dislikes of his customers. Pontus! is that place, in spades. So, folks who like their beef raw and cold on the inside will be pleased with this establishment. If, however, you prefer your steak or burger actually cooked - well, simply go somewhere else. My steak was raw - not medium, not medium rare, not rare - absolutely raw, stone cold in the center, plate running in blood. This is after I asked for it to be MEDIUM WELL! Sending it back didn't help. All the "chef" did was convert the outer 0.5mm to charcoal, and left the interior stone cold. My wife's burger was worse (if that's possible). I an certain this patty never saw a grill - literally tartare on a bun.

When one is paying $50 for a burger and $70 for a steak, one should expect a tiny bit of talent from the "chef". You won't find it at Pontus!

In short, eat somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NeilCzarnecki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outdoor dining with a great view!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Pontus is in a fantastic location with great views. During summer months, outdoor dining is available, and I was fortunate enough to visit and be seated outside.

Overall, this was a very good restaurant. The menu is not extensive and does include a lot of fish (especially for first course meals, where the only other option was a beet and goat cheese salad). The main course selections were again limited but interesting, although upon recommendation of my host I chose the steak. This ended up being the most popular choice in my group of 11 colleagues, which presented issues when the food was brought to the table as no-one seemed to get the steak cooked the way they had requested.

The wine list was very good - some top notch selections are available. Desserts looked fantastic - I didn't partake, but most of my colleagues did and were considering ordering seconds!

We ate outside on an evening that started with torrential rain and cleared up as we progressed through dinner. The restaurant atmosphere and food really made for an enjoyable evening. I would definitely recommend a visit to Pontus!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A very good place indeed. Excellent wine selection.”
Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

The food was perfectly executed and the service extremely friendly. The quality of the ingredient was perfect too...

Wine selection is fantastic.

The prices are a bit high for the food but in line with Stockholm standards. Wine however are reasonably priced.

Only problem is that it is messy to book the good restaurant. Use the internet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hyllos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmount, Quebec
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“WOW”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Phenominally expensive. It was our spluge night out. The meal was exceptional, but a lot larger than anticipated, considering that we went to the seafood buffet and ordered one appetizer and one medium main for the two of us. The service was very good, friendly without being overwhelming. Again I was somewhat horrified at the mark-up on wine and beer.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontus! also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Pontus!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing