We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not could do even better”

Mathias Dahlgrens Rutabaga
Ranked #74 of 3,056 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $57 - $91
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Matsalen is a modern gastronomic restaurant. Our cuisine is based on using the best fresh produce available here and now in Sweden and other parts of the world, spiced with curiosity and inspiration from everything we encounter. "The natural cuisine" is a menu that changes with nature and the seasons. We pair wine, beer and other beverages with each of the dishes we create. All the producers we work with are meticulously selected, they produce something we like. Our menu and drink offering - like the fresh produce - are living and change with the time of the year.
Norway
Level Contributor
181 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good, but not could do even better”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We looked forward to our visit to Mathias Dahlgrens restaurant again. We had the "The natural kitchen" menu and ordered the "Natural drinks" along. The snack we had to start with was just great, very tasty and nice. The starter was scandinavian sashimi. It was really good with a lot og taste. But as the "natural drinks" we got japanese sake. That was, in our opinion, terrible. We cancelled the whole wine meny and went on woth the champagne. That was professional handled. The rest of the dinner was very good, and the service was excellent. We didn't like the leeks, oysters, cockles serving, the oyster and cocles taste was drowning in leek taste in our opinion. In total, a very good dinner, but they could do better.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TottoV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    89
    37
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Super!!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Perfect mix of splendid food, excellent service and still not feeling unpleasant being at a 1-star restaurant. Good setting with view towards the Royal Palace. our daughters enoyed it and ask when they could come back !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arne_richtner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“lovely dining experience not to be surpassed”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What an amazing experience! It was about 4.5 hours of the most amazing food and presentation. Mushrooms were in season when I went and that was the focus. The chef's play on taste, memory, and sensation made it worth every penny. Well worth the price.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RomeHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

After a recomandation from a friend of mine I went there with four others on a monday night. I booked well in time for this evening and the place was busy. The food was very good, small dishes with very good food. The dishes are all the same size so there is no starter or main course per se, you just order what you like on the menu (not very much on it). I had a dish that had lobster and some spagetti dumplings and it was very tasteful. After that I had so sweets that was ok, not great but ok. All in all good food in good company and the girl that served us was very friendly but I got the feeling that she did not know the dishes all that much and she did not know the whine menu at all.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ingisund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Once in a life time experience”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

The menu consisted of 5 parts. Each part had 5 - 6 courses. 4 hours into the dinner we could not eat anymore even though the portions of each dish were tiny. Outstanding service - at least 5 servers including chef serve you. Cost less than we thought it would. I doubt we will do this again in this or any other similar tasting restaurant, but it is quite an experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mathias Dahlgrens Rutabaga also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Mathias Dahlgrens Rutabaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing