We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Best Hostel Old Town
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth it”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This hostel I would recommend. The rooms were all clean, beds were comfortable. The staff were helpful when we arrived and the wifi worked well. The bathrooms were a little small but it's only a small hostel so it's to be expected. Was a bit on the expensive side but again was one of the cheapest options

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toneya_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    35
    24
    23
See reviews for
11
36
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yongin, South Korea
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Don't be late to check-in! I wish our room had been more clean. I wasn't that bad, but I saw some dust on the shelf next to my bed. There are plenty of plugs you can use with your electronic devices. WiFi is free but it's weak in upstairs. 10min from the Gamla Stan station, same with the supermarket nearby. The Old Town is right ahead!

Room Tip: We slept in a Double Room without Window upstairs, and it was very quiet. Bathroom is near, but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henrychoi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Level Contributor
616 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hostel is inside old town..is easy to reach main atracction by foot, it is hard, but you can get....The hostel WAs crowd, but very quite, people that world at best hostel are very friendly, i recommend .... The room is very tiny, but to sleep is good....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endofava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Probably my second favourite hostel that I stayed in over my three month backpacking holiday! Cool vibes and good rooms, plus the location was awesome. Old town was beautiful and I loved getting lost in the winding streets. Good value for money for Sweden's standards, probably won't get anything cheaper (especially last minute booking!)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjaygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

It was mine third stay in Stickholm and 5 hostel in Sweden. For the price I paid for 4 people (1 adult, two teenagers , 1 child) and the central location I really did not expect much, so after checking into the room it was a nice surprise to find it light, very very clean and rather comfortable for a short stay. The shared bathrooms and showers are not to bad either but it was a busy summer week so they did get messy by the evening (overflowing paper bins , low on soap and toilet paper). The same with the kitchen - big but with so many people there we had to wait for a table on both mornings and also messy, but is partly fault of other travellers as there were sings asking to leave the tables tidy after use and it's not a great deal to wipe of crumbs . The breakfast selection as in other Stockholm hostels with free breakfast basic but enough to start a day, the only let down was the coffee - the worst so far, not awful but not good either . No to the location - absolutely in the middle of the town with Gamla Stan on its doorstep , great waterviews and just a short walk from the ferrys , which allow for a fun and short access to Djurgarden. The location was so central that we saved a fortune in bus tickets walking everywhere (apart of the boat trip but it was a treat) . I especially enjoyed the close proximity to the Fotografiska Musset as it allowed us to stay there quite late in the evening without having to worry how to go back to the hostel with a tired 4-year old. If you are after a cheap and central place to stay this hostel is worth a consideration as long you don't expect luxuries and remember it's a hostel not hotel. (btw the linen is included in price and the bed are ready made on arrival a big plus!)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gdynia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

nice hostel in heart of gamla stan in stockholm ...clear rooms kitchen with free pasta 24/7 tea and cofee
free wi-fi tv very helpfull people
seesighting is really amazing fro mhostel was 2 k m to stadhuset to citybus terminalen ..alehns shopng center

Room Tip: not perfect for disability people-too much stairs but in end i give 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dag_majsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

great location, clean rooms, nice kitchen with everything you need there, clean bathrooms, just for you to relax. All personal is friendly, for those who don' t speak any language, they speak Polish, Russian, Ukrainian, English , so you won' t be lost.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#77 of 154 in Stockholm
163 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Golden Goat Hotel
Golden Goat Hotel
#16 of 33 in Stockholm
14 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#9 of 64 in Stockholm
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
Archipelago Hostel Old Town
#24 of 64 in Stockholm
124 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Hotell Skeppsbron
Hotell Skeppsbron
#20 of 64 in Stockholm
34 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Residence Perseus
Residence Perseus
#13 of 64 in Stockholm
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Hostel Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Hostel Old Town

Property: Best Hostel Old Town
Address: 12 Traangsund | Gamla Stan, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Stockholm
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Hostel Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Hostel Old Town Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing