We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Hostel Old Town
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Stockholm
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Victory Hotel(Stockholm)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Scandic Gamla Stan(Stockholm)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel(Stockholm)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lydmar Hotel(Stockholm)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
34
60
35
24
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
60
35
24
23
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 176 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

I was going to stay in Stockholm for less than 12 hours so I didn't want to bother with an expensive location so I chose this one just by the pictures and because it was in Gamla Stan, but it was disappointing. I paid nearly 70 euro (enough for a 3-4 star hotel in Asia) and I got a room in a basement, smelling like mold, and it was around 6 sq/m (suitable for a single bed of 60-70cms wide, a table from a doll house with its tiny seats and a bathroom where you couldn't move). They give you the bed without being prepared and the sheets and blanket are really worn, I wasn't able to use them and I covered myself with my jackets during the night. The bathroom was not really clean, with a shower that could make a flood and the basin was wide enough to wash only one hand at a time. The recepcionist was not friendly at all and the guy with whom i made the check out seem not to care who was I or anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaTiLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

We got off in the Central Bus Station and went by foot to the hostel. It was a pleasant 15 minute walk. We passed by some emblematic buildings such as the parliament and the royal palace (the biggest in sweeden). We chose a bedroom without ensuite bathroom which represented no problem as there were many common bathrooms with shower in the same floor. It had 3 kitchens where we could cook, it even had free pasta, coffee and tea. Our room had 2 separat beds but theres one double bed room, very near to the kitchen (can be a bit noisy). The hostel is near to many atractions by day and night,which we can visit by foot or taking the tube (T). We will be back thee if we get back there. For Shure!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroeMarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

This is a review of Best Hostel on Skeppsbron in the Old Town.

Myself and my partner stayed in room 201 for two nights. This is a double room with private ensuite. The room was spacious with a great view of the waterfront. However, for us those were the only good things about the room. The room is located in between a kitchen and a common bathroom. On both nights of our stay, people used the kitchen at various times during the night, cooking and generally making lots of noise, all of which kept us awake most of the night. Although there is a sign up asking for noise to be kept to a minimum after 10pm, this was not enforced. When we brought this to the attention of the night staff, they were helpful in that they asked people to reduce the noise, but they didn't monitor the situation and things got worse on both nights. We had two sleepless nights here. On the second night of our stay, when we returned to our room there was a strong smell of sewage coming from the bathroom. This was certainly unpleasant!

The location of the hostel is great. It is within close walking distance of all the attractions of the Old Town, close to the ferry stop, close to restaurants, supermarket and shops. The hostel had good access to internet and good kitchen facilities (so good, they were used 24/7!!)

Based on our experience of room 201 and the lack of adequate response from the hostel when we brought the noise and sewage issues to their attention, we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HolidayHobbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Good location, directly in the old town. Very small private room with a very small bath room. Floor was a little bit dirty. Friendly staff and well organized. Anyway there are not too many chpices for a cheap accomodation in Stockholm, especially in the middle of the town. Easy access with public transport possible.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2010

A youth hostel which doesn't try to take your money, which trusts in the customers. Free internet, free breakfast, free pasta. We are in a total autonomy, the personal is absent (only in the 2nd floor) but for me, it's just perfect.
Well-located.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dr_flo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews