We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant fish restaurant”
Review of Wedholms Fisk

Wedholms Fisk
Reserve with
Wedholms Fisk is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 3,056 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $148
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Swedish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Norrmalm
Description: Wedholms Fisk has been in its current location by Nybrokajen since 1985. Many of the staff, both amongst the pots and pans as well as amongst the tables, have been there since the doors were first thrown open to the first expectant guests. However, this does mean that time has stood still - the kitchen gleams with newly installed top of the range equipment and an inspiration to keep abreast of developments in food and cuisine.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
“Brilliant fish restaurant”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Expensive but really worth it. Excellent service. Fully booked every day of week but the atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvgenySaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    142
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food but SUPER expensive”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant is known for good food such as caviar, wines, fish and the like. The atmosphere is nice, service is top notch, but our total cost was 1100 SEK or $175/pp. I'm sure there is a great fish dish for less in town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat18793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Outstanding - as expected”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Its been a couple of years since we visited Wedholms Fisk, an old favourite haunt. It did not disappoint. The Fish (for the 3 others in my party that love fish) is impossible to do better. And for myself - I hate fish - they have the "meat of the day" (as always) which honestly is possibly the best meat dish in Stockholm (!). What a great secret !! Reasonable wine list and stable, no nonsense service. A great place for food lovers and good conversation. Hip Factor is zero, so if that is your thing forget about it. But central location and outstanding delivery of basics make this well worth another visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Björn-Erik W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
233 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Such a disappointment”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Have you ever encountered an SAS stewardess and loved it, because of the tremendous service, happy appearance and utterly kind and unpretentious way of carrying themselves? Then you'll love this place for lunch

Made reservations for lunch with expectations of going back to work totally satisfied; Never happened. Upon arrival we were "greeted" by a middle aged waitress who looked like she'd rather be somewhere else, not being bothered by inconvenient guests (have you ever flown with SAS you know exactly what I mean, first class excluded).

When she remembered that we were actually there she placed us and took our orders. We all had the chanterelle soup as starter which was quite watery and bland (95SEK). My second dish was catfish with melted butter (~250SEK). My poor fish almost drowned in the butter, which was a disgrace, since the fish was really good. I asked for veggies instead of potatoes and got a bowl of sweet peas, which I like a lot, but unfortunately they were also drowning in butter.

The others chose cod with champagne sauce for their main course (275SEK). The fish was, just like in my case, perfect, but come on, what's up with the drowning? Their cod was totally drowned in creamy sauce. To top this, they served it with plain white rice. Really? I'm all for retro, but it still has to live up to the price you're paying.

Over all the service was strained and the food destroyed. It's like someone in the kitchen wanted to sabotage the perfect raw product before serving.

Sorry, but the quality seems to have disappeared with the passing of Mr. Wedholm which saddens me a lot.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sokriw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It's so classical it's on the verge of being boring”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a business lunch at Wedholms Fisk and everything went with meticulous precision; white impeccable linen, polished cutlery, classical fresh fish, sofisticated clientele which kept their voices down... in one word a bit boring. I was hoping something a bit more daring, cross kitchen, novelties.

Having said that I will certainly go back to Wedholms because I know that nothing goes wrong there- I will do it in particular if I am the host.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedholms Fisk also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Wedholms Fisk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing