We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All Around Fabulous - Food, Atmosphere, Service, Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Den Gyldene Freden

Den Gyldene Freden
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Den Gyldene Freden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 2,999 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: European, Swedish, Scandinavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: At Den Gyldene Freden we have served authentic Nordic home cooking since the opening in 1722. Famous cultural personalities, tourists and local regulars visit our historic facilities in Gamla Stan to enjoy the fine food and the genuine atmosphere - for everyday or special occasions. We, the people who work at Den Gyldene Freden are very proud of our heritage and passionate about refining classic courses into modern cooking. Our philosophy is based on the idea that one must make time to cook - and eat - fine food. We make room for international influences, but our base is the Nordic kitchen interpreted in our own personal manner, with great respect for flora and fauna.
Tempe, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All Around Fabulous - Food, Atmosphere, Service, Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

One of the very best restaurant experiences I've ever had, anywhere in the world. Attractive, but relatively unassuming outside appearance in a charming part of old Stockholm (Gamlastan), it has multiple, simple but beautiful dining rooms in an ancient building. The meal was perfect in every way, from the drinks to the selected wine pairings to the delicious dishes to the absolutely perfect service. It is expensive, but given the quality, an excellent value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    263
    85
    43
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Wyalong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Swedish Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We were taken to this restaurant in the old town for lunch. It was such an exciting place to visit. The history and names of the famous Swedes that ate here regularly was both fascinating and interesting. The place is not large. One really gets the feeling that it has been a restaurant since 1722. It has a unique ambiance. We had a traditional meal. Starting with a creamy cabbage soup,followed by 4 different small dishes of herrings and goats cheese to be served over small potatoes and the main was a Swedish meatball dish containing beet root and a delicious sauce. Had the restaurants own schnapps with the herrings and also beer. A very memorable lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margtierney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I thought because the restaurant is famous for being so old that it would be very touristic and the food would not be very good. However, as we were walking by we peeked in and it looked so inviting that we decided to go in and wait at the bar for a table. We were very happy for this spontaneous decision. We had a delicious dinner with good service--our best meal in Stockholm.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mplstraveler_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The chef has something in his heart, this is not 3-stars michlene restaurant (mostly because of serving, not food), but absolutely worth to visit. Try smoked seabass and swedish meatballs - they are awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akureyri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

It is a famous restaurant, and I went there a couple of years ago and got a good food and excellent service.
I am sad to say that neither was the case this time.
The food was medium standard and the service was below average even though the place was far from being fully booked.
A disappointment altogether.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderhillAkureyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Den Gyldene Freden also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Den Gyldene Freden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing