We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy but not great”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Trendy but not great”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Good points
Fantastic staff, really helpful especially when we had a problem ( see below)
Amazing breakfast one of the best breakfast buffets I have ever had - included in room price
Good location to train station
Hotel is really trendy with nice lobby/bar/restaurant area

Bad points
The fitness centre is only free from 630-9am the rest if the time you must pay. And it's not cheap 95SK in winter and 19S5 k in summer.
Twin room is not a great option . We requested twin room as I was sharing with a work college, there was 2 beds ( very narrow singles) but they were unable to be separated due to the placement of a bedside table (attached to the wall). We spent quite a lot if time with the front desk staff who eventually upgraded us to a larger room so we could move the bed to the other side of the table up against the window.
When we moved the bed it was quit obvious they had not cleaned under the bed for a very long time
The bathroom has a opaque glass swing door, not only is this completely see through, which is not great with a work college, worse there is absolutely no sound proofing so you can hear everything that is happening in there. This is not what I would want even with my boyfriend never mind a work colleague!
Only shampoo and wall attached soap in the room, none of the usual amenities that I would expect from a 4*
No tea or coffee available In the room

Room Tip: If you need a twin request a superior but check there is a bathroom door not just the glass swing do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelbug2013_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,374
    1,302
    546
    209
    94
See reviews for
607
1,098
123
1,148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I´ve stayed at this hotel for a couple of times and each visit is more enjoyable. The service is fantastic and they go out of their way to make you feel welcome. A trendy hotel with a nice bar & lounge area.

The location is perfect for central Stockholm, every thing is within walking distance and it´s very close to the central station (airport train). I also have to recommend the breakfast at the hotel, one of the best buffet I´ve had while travelling abroad! The only small "downside" if you can say so is the Spa, the pool is really nice with amazing view but the locker rooms are quite unclean.

I will definitely be back again for my next visit to Stockholm at the Clarion Hotel Sign.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandra_tho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

this is the first time I have stayed here and did not expect much because the conference i attended was held here. the location is god as it is close to almost everywhere. walking to central or the other metro station is within 10 to 15 minutes, not recommended if you come from airport with big bags but ok of you are walking around shopping. The breakfast is good, fresh and a variety of selection. room is acceptable. the elevators are fun to use as each is decorated with a musical theme, one with ABBA full size photo poster and a mic for you to lip synch the ABBA songs!! there is a 7-11 across the street with tin minutes for almost all the amenities and snack you would need.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uncle_Vin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a really trendy hotel right next to the central station. The lifts are titled individually with the music that will accompany on your journey (rock, pop, jazz and Abba), a pool on the roof and the bar and restaurant is decorated with book shelves and Arne Jacobsen Chairs. The food and drink was excellent but expensive (everything generally is in Stockholm) and, there was wide selection of choice at breakfast. We stayed in a standard class room on the Swedish floor. There was a nice view across the park, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. The only gripe I had was that the bathroom door was made of frosted glass with a hole for a handle. My boyfriend and I have been together a while so it wasn't too uncomfortable. However, I can imagine if it was a couples first weekend away, seeing your respective lover on the toilet might be a bit of a mood killer. I suppose it depends what you're in too.

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel so you have a view of the park. If you're at the back y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location near station, clean rooms if a little lacking in character, not enough wardrobe space, nice bathroom. Breakfast choice good but crazy busy and too congested. Staff struggled to cope with clearing tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for 3 nights on a short business trip.
rooms were fine, clean and had an iron i was happy to use. WIFI signal was very low in my room, that i sometimes had to go to the hallway to do some important stuff...
breakfast was really great. very rich and tasty...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amramkfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vasa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for three days and had a really good time. Enjoyed the design and of course the location was top notch, just a short walk from "Drottninggatan" and the central station.

I'm really looking forward to come back here next year, since I didn't find anything to complain about. Really enjoyed the stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndersVasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
2,807 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
2,525 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,250 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Property: Clarion Hotel Sign
Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing