We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive and arrogant”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #36 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive and arrogant”
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This new built and chic hotel tries hard to be modern and hip in the bad kind of way. The rooms and the building are ok in themselves and the location is central but it does not outweigh the young and arrogant personnel or the extremly overpriced restaurant and bar.

I suggest that you find another more friendly and reasonably priced place to stay in Stockholm. The Clarion Sign just don't make the cut.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Johan,

Thanks for taking the time to review us.

I am sorry to hear to that you felt that we are overpriced in the Bar and Restaurant. I can recommend you the "daily special". Of course should we be professional in our service, I will look into that.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    1,243
    494
    181
    74
See reviews for
540
1,034
119
1,113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falun, Sweden
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Located in an area close to the central station. The area used to be "rough" but is becoming more and "posh". The staff is nice, always with a smile. Nice fot both business and pleasure. Pretty inexpensive parking in the garage (for Stockholm conditions), 240 SEK for 24 hrs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlocalSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Most welcome back!!!

Have a great day!
Regards

Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is my usual hotel when I'm working in Stockholm and I usually stay several nights every month. It's location is perfect, it's modern & stylish and the food at the American Table is really good. It's usually busy and it isn't cheap but it's a genuinely fun hotel with good facilities, modern rooms and a lively bar. I particularly like the music themed lifts. If you get a room overlooking the square then the views are lovely. You can't fault the service - in fact it's hard to fault anything!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for this lovely review!!! I am glad to hear that you like our new Restaurant.

See you soon!
Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I’m excited by the atmosphere of this hotel. The ground area is designed like a living room, modern, stylish, warm, comfortable. The food is delicious, even in the morning as well as for dinner (Tuna, Steak, as well as the vegetarian food). You have several places to sit. It’s also very likely to eat there, when you aren’t accompanied. Reception service as well as at the bar and the restaurant is heartly and professional.
The only thing I didn’t like is, that you have to pay extra for the spa area, this includes the fitness (which is small but very good featured). I recommend to book a room faced to the park (the view to courtyard is very poor and to overview the central railway station is not so bad, but …), I booked 9th floor, this was perfect.
I loved the location because it is so close to the city center and everything I wanted to explore, I made the most ways by foot (for going out, visit museets, go for ice skating at the kungstratgaden, jogging at djurgaden and making a boat trip.
I can recommend it for business as well as for private trips.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christophstieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Christoph!

Thanks for taking the time to review us and also thanks for the great words! Lovely!!!

We hope to see you here soon again.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Clarion Sign Hotel for 4 days over New Years and loved it. Its extremely well located from the train and bus station 3-5 min from the bus and train so very easy to get to on public transport from the airport. The reception staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. The hotel has a funky, modern/ retro vibe and the snow ball was being held there during our stay so it had a lovely vibe. The lifts are fun and our room was great. Although our room (674) didn't have much in the way of a view is was extremely quite, well proportioned, clean, warm and comfortable. The Reception / seating/ bar areas are great with plenty of choice. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of variety and despite it being busy with the snow ball also being held at the hotel during our stay we never had to wait or problems finding somewhere to sit. The food was great and if we are ever to return to Stockholm we would definitely not hesitate to book the Clarion Sign again. As extra benefit is the excellent, free wifi throughout the hotel.

We found the hotel to be excellent, well priced, friendly, modern and perfect for our needs. Stockholm is fairly expensive but this hotel lived up to our expectations.

Room Tip: Room 674 double, quite, warm and cosy. We got the Flyg bus sarna from the airport (Arlanda) at the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwimumfromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Hi there!!

What a great review!! Many thanks, I am so glad to hear that you got a great New Year in Stockholm.

Most welcome back!
Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We were at this place as part of a 1200 largeconference. We had very helpful staff, well serviced and excellent day core. Theatmosphere was amazing and definitky worth the money to stay here. Centrally located and really close to the train station as justa short walk.

Room Tip: Try and get the 10th floor. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lenard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
What a great review most welcome back!!!

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

First appearances are good, the hotel is modern and nicely decorated, within a 5-10 minute walk from the central bus and train stations and metro, restaurants and high street shopping area. The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable. The spa is nice and a good discount for hotel guests and the breakfast was very good. But we were left extremely disappointed with service. While most days the room cleaners did a great job, there were some days when they took away used towels and glasses but did not give us new ones. While some bar staff were excellent, others were unfriendly, unsmiling and looked totally annoyed to have to serve us and bar service was often very slow. But worst of all was the reception staff, they often gave us incorrect information such as the wrong prices for the spa. Our biggest problem was a very cold room and every time we talked to reception they apologised but did nothing about it. First we were told someone would fix it. The next day we were told again the same thing, then later we were told that we should come back later. The next time we were told they would change our room and we should come back later again. Then we were told we would be given an extra heater that would be left in our room. That did not appear and the next person told us they had no heaters left, but the following day we asked again and were told that they had never run out of heaters and would bring one to our room, but of course it did not appear until much later. After 3 days of freezing we finally had a warm room when the heater finally appeared. Overall I would say the hotel is not worth the high prices and I would rather stay in a Scandic :(

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the elevators, as they play loud music in the hallways outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thanks for taking time reviewing us here on TripAdvisor.

I am sorry to hear that you had problem with the heating in the room. I will look into what has happened so we do have better routines for this in the future.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,343 reviews
Norrmalm
Nordic Light Hotel
Nordic Light Hotel
#32 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Property: Clarion Hotel Sign
Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#28 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing