We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it; terrific.”
Review of Clarion Hotel Sign

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Sign
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Arrived here staying alone on business expecting some bland Euro-chain type hotel, but really, really liked it: good, young, dynamic buzzy atmosphere. Staff excellent and attentive, lively lobby, with an open aspect bar and restaurant, which was busy (even though it was Monday night). Room was a bit on the small side (no bath either, just a shower), but these are minor niggles. Food in the restaurant was very, very good. Concur with other TA reviewers saying it's not so ideal for families, but caters better for younger people. Strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Check whether the room has a bath.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephHampshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear guest!!!

Thanks for this great review!! Most welcome back to us and Stockholm.

Have a nice weekend
Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,613)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Sign
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 3,613 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed in Stockholm three times and this hotel is average is in th best meaning of the word. It is nothing special, but also not terrible. It is best described as a mixture between a wannabe W Hotel and IKEA.

The downside is the standard of cleanliness which I found could be better. The bathroom toiletries smell of cheap kitchen cleaner (try the lotion, I am not kidding). The breakfast buffet is ok, but extremely busy and lacks smocked salmon etc.

However, overall, the hotel has a very good atmosphere, staff are friendly and the bar is amazingly nice for such a hotel.

So overall, you should consider this hotel if you get a good price. It is conveniently located next to the train station.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Critical_Mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for reviewing us. I am sorry to hear that you didn't like our Scandinavian design and standard.

I am glad to hear that you liked the atmosphere, location and the staff.

Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is as central as it gets, has a nice lobby area. The pool and spa area are very nice if you have the time to enjoy it. If you're in Stockholm for business, it's a great choice.
If however, like myself, you are staying with small children, I cannot recommend it. The room was ok, the beds on the small side, but with a nice view of the park. As another reviewer pointed out the choice in room service menu was quite poor and beware of the terminology: "large" does not indicate a big portion.
Breakfast was a logistical nightmare, to make matters worse an overly-eager waitress cleared out our table while I was fetching more food with my toddler so I had to start all over again.
The staff were overall nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hi,

Thanks for taking the time giving us feedback. I am glad to hear that you liked our lobbyarea & our staff. I do apologize regarding all the guests at breakfast, please next time take a look in the lifts where we recommend less busier times for breakfast.

Have a great day,
Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying here some times when I can get a deal. I love the breakfast, eating area not so cosy maybe, but who would notice that over the morning paper? A lot of business guest so the air is relaxed.
This is a good spot for the continuing activities in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hello,

Glad to hear that you love our breakfast, I hope you also have tried our omelettets?!

Most welcome back!!

Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Pretty much summarised in the title! The bar and restaurant facilities were excellent although very busy.
Rooms were disappointing in comparison. Although a decent size it seemed old!
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
We were running an event in one of their meeting rooms and the staff could not help enough!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheChap69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to that you experienced our rooms as small and old, we have only been open for 3,5 years. I would recommend you to book a higher category, we do have great rooms towards the park.

We hope to see you and colleagues here soon again.

Have a great weekend and take care,
Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here with my husband. Got a room, not very nice, the cleaning staff must have had a bad day. We complained, and what do you know. We got a new room, at the top floor with a wonderful view over the city. The staff was very nice and friendly, sad that they were very sorry and hoped that the new room was satisfying. We even got a coupon each to have a drink in the bar. Very nice!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Hello,

Thanks for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. I am so sorry that everything was not ok in your first room, I am glad to hear that you told us on site so we could compensate you directly.

Hope to see you and your husband soon again.

Regards
Chatrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clarion Sign is less than a ten minute walk from the station so location is great. The hotel is a modern building with large, spacious public areas. Rooms are fine, a bit on the small side. Evening performing arts (roving drama students?) and selections of piped music (different in each lift) make the hotel seem a bit disjointed. Bar area good and popular. Breakfast was good, but chaotic due to sheer volumes of guests. I would have tried their omlette bar but there was a fifteen minute wait. Maybe another chef would help?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N_McL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarionsign, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Hotel Sign, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear guest,

Thanks for your feedback. Please check in the lifts where we recommend less busier time for having breakfast. Most welcome back.

Have a nice weekend.

Regards
Chatrine Andersson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
2,875 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#37 of 154 in Stockholm
2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,301 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
1,862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Sign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Sign

Address: 35 Oestra Jaernvaegsgatan, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#13 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#25 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#32 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: $185 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Sign 4*
Number of rooms: 558
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Sign is Stockholms largest hotel with 558 double rooms placed next to the central station. The interior is provided by Scandinavian design icons, such as Arne Jacobsen, Bruno Mathsson and Alvar Aalto. Enjoy being pampered at Selma CitySpa+, treat yourself to culinary delights at American Table and take in the classic works of Scandinavian design that fill every corner of the hotel. Also offer large meeting facilities. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel Sign reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Stockholm
Stockholm Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing