We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem in the heart of Stockholm”
Review of The Hairy Pig Deli

The Hairy Pig Deli
Ranked #10 of 3,046 Restaurants in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $34
Cuisines: Swedish, European, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Description: The Hairy Pig Deli in the Old Town is a restaurant and deli which is open Wednesday-Thursday from 17:00 - 21:00 and Friday-Saturday-Sunday from 11:30 AM-10PM. The Hairy Pig Deli is located close to the Royal Palace in The Old Town of Stockholm. The unique building is from the late 1400s. The menu offers Joseph Turner's home made gourmet sausages, charcuterie plates with salami from Tuscany, cheeses from the archipelago in Stockholm, salads and tapas. Here you will also find Joseph and Karolina's home made delicacies such as jams, chutneys, mustards, ketchup, crisp bread as well as locally produced delicacies and charcuteries from Tuscany in Italy. The Hairy Pig Deli is also available to rent for private dining, events and special occasions. Please don't hesitate to contact us for more information.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little gem in the heart of Stockholm”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

I've been in this little restaurant with my girlfriend on our final night in Stockholm. The place isn't that big (there are four tables), but let me say that if you find one you're going to know it's worth the wait. We took a homemade sausage with side dishes and a baguette with three kinds of local cheese, a glass of red wine and a beer brewed in stockholm. Everything was delicious. If you take the great variety of salami from Italy and Spain you're doing good. Considering the price ( basing it on the Stockholm prices level) One of the best choice in the swedish capital for sure.

Helpful?
2 Thank Marri86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    226
    41
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Granby, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Very good!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This is a fun place. Very different from all the other restaurants in Old Town. The food was outstanding, if you like sausage. The atmosphere was unique - it was small and homey, and we felt the chef and staff truly appreciated our business. I recommend on a nice night, so you can sit outside and have a drink while you wait for one of the 4 tables to open up inside!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Gem of a find!”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

On our wat to Gastabud next door for third night running we thought we would have a quick beer and starter here! Nearly stayed the whole night as what a gem of a place! The chef was a Pru Leith trained Brit who married a Swedish girl and they have created a wonderful restaurant and even sell relishes etc to take away!The only problem they will have is it is so small but the food is great and really friendly service and if we had not booked next door would have stayed!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank harryhillEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Great little place, only 4 indoor tables where some of them had their seats in the old windows, all wood and exposed brick, with the homemade jellies and oils on shelves around us. 1 cook, 'the sausage maker', and 2 young women to serve the tables, all very friendly, small talking with customers, and offering to take a picture of our group. They recommended the shared salami platter to our group of 3, and I must say, I don't think this was a good recommendation. It was way too little food, so we had to order more bread, more side tapas (a hot spinach and chickpea dish, which was abseloutly divine!), and ended up ordering one of their other dishes, that we'd share, and we wish we'd ordered one each of those to start with instead, it was way more interesting with the homemade sausage with all the delicious toppings etc.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Astrid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Reviews are True!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were in Stockholm for 1 week visiting from the US and happened upon the Hairy Pig Deli after reading trip advisor reviews. The reviews are true. This place is a one-of-kind gem in the heart of Gamla Stan. We sat outside and everyone who walked by could not help but turn a head at our lovely spread. The sausage and tapas were delicious and the charcuterie is a must! The owner and his wife run the restaurant and he even makes all the sausage by hand. My husband got his first chance to eat Iberico salami - a lifelong dream of his :-) The beer is local, the service is excellent and the owners even stopped to talk with us about their amazing journey in opening the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hairy Pig Deli also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to The Hairy Pig Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing