We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Stockholm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed August 4, 2009

Like the previous reviewer, we stayed here for three nights in July. The hotel is in an historic building, and has preserved all of the character of the architecture while incorporating modern art and design. Our room faced the courtyard with a great big window and thick walls - quiet, roomy and bright, with a firm bed and just the right touches in the room to make it feel comfortable. The bathroom was very up to date, clean and efficient. We loved the breakfast buffet, which offered hot milk with your tea (of various kinds) or their good coffee, fantastic fresh wholemeal breads as well as croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola with various dried fruit and nut toppings, eggs, bacon, and lots of the Scandinavian-smorgasbord cheese, meet, fish, vegetables and condiments items that we found delicious. The dining room and the lobby are very comfortable and spacious as well. On the whole, this hotel offers much more than we have recently encountered anywhere else in Europe (France, Scotland and England on this trip) . The location was perfect for arriving from the airport (Arlanda bus runs right in front), and also for getting to know a non-touristy neighborhood that still has lots of restaurants and interesting features.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 487 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

We just spent three nights in the Hotel Norrtull and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and even spacious for a major European city. The breakfast was expansive with everything from bacon and eggs to cereals and fruits. I would recommend spending some time in the well-appointed lobby where they have set up numerous conversation groups. The free internet in the lobby on a bank of computers is especially convenient. The hotel is located just north of the bustle of the city and while this makes it a bit less convenient, it is worth it as we slept with our windows wide open and didn't hear a sound. There is bus service available just outside the door. We rented bicycles which I would recommend for the best way to see the spectacular city of Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennyinBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Stayed here at the beginning of September. The Flygbussarna has a stop right outside the hotel which makes it very convenient. However, make sure you tell the bus driver you want that stop or else they will fly right by it. Fortunately he was nice enough to let us out at the next block anyway.

Location to mass transit could be a little better, but isn't bad. A few blocks walk either to the metro or to the bus heading downtown.

Other reviewers have mentioned the renovations, yes, the lobby is in chaos right now, but everything else is fine.

We found the rooms spacious, clean and modern. Some of the best we've stayed at in Europe actually.

The included breakfast buffet was well-rounded with meats and cheeses, fruits and cereals and plenty of coffee and juices. The fresh squeezed orange juice is a nice touch.

In the future we might look for something a little closer to the action, but we would not be disappointed if we had to stay here again. Certainly, I wouldn't suggest staying further out than this.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GracyInVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights. Getting to the hotel is easy from the airport as well as the central station. While it looks like a formidable red building, the lobby/bar/open kitchen has a nice vibe to it - even though there was some renovation work underway. We also got upgraded to a suite - nice corner room. The breakfast was very generous, lots of variety. We even saw some guests sneakily pack sandwiches for the day while at breakfast! Would definitely recommend it. The bar/lobby when all the work gets completed will definitely be a nice place to hang out.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amrita08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

Booked through Hostelworld.com but I screwed up the booking and cancelled and re-booked. Message didn't get through to the hotel properly but they sorted it out on arrival and ended up with better accommodations for the cheaper price.

Nice, modern, clean, good sized rooms. Comfy beds. No A/C so rooms can get a little warm. Is under rennovation but not really a probelm just so long as you expect to see unfinished walls and such like in some places.

Good helpful staff.

Do I need to mention the breakfast? Fantastic.

Price very reasonable for what I was expecting to pay in Stockholm and quality of the hotel.

Located on the fringe of the city but it's not a big city and there's the metro/tube/subway/T-bana anyways although would prefer if station was a little closer but it's a nice 5ish or so minute walk.

Just down Eriksplan near the metro station is an Italian restuarant/bar called Grappa which does best pizza in Stockholm, maybe Sweden, and has a great atmosphere and the best staff.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeeWeeAJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2008

We booked hotel Nortull based on the reviews in this forum and were happy with what we had. The hotel is a bit on the outskirts of Stockholm but is only 4 stations from Gamla Stan-the Old Town. In addition, the airport bus stops right by the hotel which was great. There were some renovations in the hotel but no noise to speak of. The room was decent size by European standards, clean and quiet. As others have pointed out the breakfast is probably the greatest thing about this hotel. It is very diverse and nothing is spared.
While the hotel is an average one, it offers a great value for the budget traveler. Would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

I stayed there in October 2007 for 3 nights. By then, it was newly renovated and probably also newly furnished (IKEA-style). Our twin-room was medium-sized, bright, clean and tidy. You have to walk for about 10min. to the closest underground station, but the neighborhood is interesting (I could imagine renting a flat there if I lived in Stockholm) and I actually always enjoyed the walk. There is also a bus station next to the hotel. The building of the hotel is very interesting.

For a price of 700 SEK (112USD) per night for a private double room, it was high above my expectations. For this price, it is hard to find a decent 3* hotel in Stockholm which is so close to the centre. I was very glad to find such a fantastic promotion.

I wanted to book a room in this hotel for April 2008, but I found out that the rates are significantly higher now - 1450 SEK per night for a double room. To be honest, I think they are really overpriced now. Although the hotel is absoutely OK, I think it is only a medium category when it comes to the location, rooms and services (well, I did't actually notice any extra services at all).. It is not worh for me to pay so much for this hotel, so I found a 4* hotel further from the center for about 2/3 of the Norrtull rate.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank Istropolitan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
873 reviews
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
685 reviews
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#74 of 155 in Stockholm
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#101 of 155 in Stockholm
341 reviews
Quality Hotel Globe
#43 of 155 in Stockholm
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $100 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing