We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location, which is completely spoiled.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #119 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I chose this hotel because it's located in a part of Stockholm where I needed to spend most of the time. I hoped that the old building means that the hotel is quiet (thick walls) and stylish (there are old hotels in Stockholm which are very well renovated). But my hopes were completely misplaced. The old building, which looks cool from outside, is cheap and worn inside, renovation was probably done 30 years ago. The dark lobby area is badly planned and decorated (strange curtains, ugly pipes under the ceiling etc.) The room was relatively big for being a single room but with a tiny bathroom with a microscopic sink and a cheap half broken shower. Constant smell of sewerage came as a bonus. No fridge, no telephone in the room.
The sound isolation is a joke, I could hear my neighbor talking telephone (though he did it quietly) and going to the bathroom, so the rooms were probably made by splitting a bigger rooms in parts with thin walls.
The bad was strangely short for my moderate 6 feet. Lunch buffet they serve in the lobby and which I tried once was basically almost uneatable (excluding potatoes and supermarket quality ham).
The only positive thing about the hotel is it's personnel, which is friendly and tries to keep this hole clean at least, but personnel is generally good in Stockholm. The problem is obviously the owner, whose purpose is to make money on the property not investing a dime.
I'm not really a greedy person, but 3600 SEK ( 360 Euros) for three days felt like a cheat.
So, hereby I proudly announce that this was my first and last stay in a Fist hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stay-at-home-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Norrtull
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

148 - 154 of 448 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

I've stayed here with my girlfriend. We didn't really had much choice at the time of booking, but we still selected what we thought was best price performance. The hotel is ok, but not really nice place to stay. Rooms are clean, but not well organised. There are no closets for storing only some shelves. There's no phone in a room. Overall experience was ok, but not what one might expect for 177 EUR per night.

Room Tip: Unstable internet connection. Same breakfast each and every day. You can get hair drier at the recep...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CirilB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed in Norrtull Hotel with my family for a small holiday in Stockholm in August. The hotel is close to the tube which is very convenient and to nice places where to eat. However, the room was hardly furnished. Not even a wardrobe, only two hangers for shirts.
The bathroom had no surface where to put stuff on. The breakfast and the service are OK but found the cutlery often dirty. Anyway for the reasons mentioned I will probably not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perlaginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Alberto L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel was clean and quiet, and the rooms were basic, but functional and the shower room had a very powerful power-shower (excellent!). It is about 25 minutes walk into the centre of the city and there is a nice Italian restaurant about 2 minutes from the hotel. The breakfast buffet has a nice variety and the staff were friendly. If you are after something with the bells and whistles in the middle of bars and clubs, then this isn't it, but for families, or those who want something a bit quieter, this is fine.

We were 3 friends sharing a family room. The room had 2 double beds and 2 chairs. There were only bedside lamps in between the 2 beds, rather than on both sides, which was a bit annoying as I had the side of the bed without a light and so couldn't have a bed-time read as long as I'd wanted to as I would have needed to wake my friend up to turn out the light if I was going to read longer than it would have taken for her to drift off.

One other gripe - no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabsT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Norrtull is located in the North of Stockholm.
I used it during a business trip and found two things to be annoying:
1) no Wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby. This is not 21st century state of the art.
2) The room was hardly furnished. Not even a wardrobe, only two hangers for shirts. Incredible, this felt like being in a youth hostel, not in a 150 EUR/night hotel.

The breakfast and the service are good. Anyway for the 2 reasons mentioned above I will probably not come back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globaldancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stockholm
First Hotel Brommaplan
#5 of 11 in Bromma
86 reviews
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#111 of 154 in Stockholm
168 reviews
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#40 of 154 in Stockholm
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
546 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
665 reviews
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $104 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing