We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good service and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
First Hotel Norrtull
Ranked #119 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Vaxjo, Sweden
2 reviews
“Good service and friendly staff.”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed in the hotel at the same week end as "Tjemilen" and it was very crowded in the breakfast room. But the breakfast was very good and a lot of different breakfast dishes to choose from.
The bed was a little too hard and too narrow for two people only 1,40 in our room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim_norlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    124
    137
    84
    37
See reviews for
91
110
14
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Situated in an old brick building on the Northern part of Stockholm City (30 min walk to city center), which offers good service and nice rooms for an affordable price. Elevator and corridors reminds you that this was not built for hosting people originally, but has a certain charm. Conveniently, the Airport bus to Arlanda stops right outside the enterence door. Just for information, the hotel has an indoor boule ground...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maffe_johansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Avoid 5th floor rooms during summer - only one skyline window - unbearably hot in the room. No telephone in room - you can only contact Reception with own phone (if you have one). Turned out a hassle when the firealarm went off shortly one afternoon, by mistake as it turned out. Reception totally useless when we finally got through to ask about it. Bar and Restaurant closed (staff holiday???) - a real bad idea considering their outdoor setup with chairs and tables. You couldn't buy a beer or a glas of wine. Only softdrinks in cans from Reception. Housecleaning turned up at 4 pm - unacceptable. Internet only in Reception area, but this we knew.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejnertsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family spent six nights at the Norrtull and found it uncomfortable, impersonal, and inconvenient. The bed in our first room was so soft we put the mattress on the floor. The lamps didn't have bulbs requiring a trek from the 5th floor to reception because the rooms don't have telephones. We switched rooms only to find the 4th floor possessed of a rotten egg smell throughout the halls that continued to emanate from the drain in the shower for the duration of our visit. Rooms are also stuffy. The Nortull's distance from the city centre make this hotel inconvenient for the tourist. Bus and tube stops are a 10 minute walk away. The breakfast was very good but it's the only thing recommendable at this converted warehouse.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liapell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The room I got was fairly big with a double bed so I had plenty of space for my stuff. it was clean enough they didn't bother cleaning out the garbage at all during my 3-night stay which is not very pleasant considering that I had eaten food in my room...
The breakfast was very good with a lot of choice but there were not enough seats around 8:30 in the morning so if you want to be sure of having a seat, go early or late. I know this is the same in many many hotels but it still annoys me that I can't have my breakfast in peace, at a table.
The location is somewhat off which suited me fine since I was in town for work and didn't go out at all but if you're looking at going out, then please consider that you'll need to take the metro and then you're looking at an additional 10-15 minute walk.

Overall though, quite nice hotel for the price, specially considering the Stockholm hotel prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HAD035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My wife & I stayed for 3 nights at this hotel. It worked out at £107 per night with a breakfast. Now it has to be said that Stockholm hotels are extremely over priced. Most will not even provide a private shower or even windows for the price we paid at the Norrtull so it was a price decision that swayed us to stay here. A hotel such as this closer to the centre of town would easily be 3 times the price. Ok so as usual lets get down to the job in hand, reviewing this hotel.

Location- Ok this hotel is quite a distance from central station in down town Stockholm. It takes about 15 minutes by bus or a good 30 minutes on foot to reach it. After a long day sight seeing walking 30 minutes is a bit much. the buses do run every 20 minutes so between Monday-Friday you should not have to many issues getting to & from the hotel. The bus drops off & picks up right outside the hotel so its quite handy. The hotel is located in a quite area, no heavy traffic & conveniently there is a super market behind the Norrtull that sells all you will need, its great.

Rooms-The room we had was on the 5th floor. Room 504. The room was very clean but very basic. The bed was comfortable, there was a good roof window that let in lots of sunlight, powerful shower etc. The own side was there was no tea/coffee making facilities, no phone to call reception, no hairdryer (although one can be borrowed from reception), no safe etc. These wee details would make a large difference. It seemed strange there was a number to call reception but no phone! The other issue that really is a problem is the noise if someone else is nextdoor to your room. All rooms have wooden floors & when someone next to your room walks on them you would swear they are in your room its that loud.

Service-Check in was quick & painless. The receptionist was not overly friendly but efficent. i did however ask for a beer on the Sunday daytime & she coldly told me the bar was closed but then set about fixing me the drink reluctantly even though I had said it was fine, I would just go to the bar up the street1 I then witnessed her do the same with every other guest who asked for a drink. If the bars cloed put a big sign up saying so! Simple. The cleaners cleaned the room every day really well & changed the towels, cant fault them at all.

Breakfast- The breakfast room was very well layed out. Big buffett spread, yougarts, bacon, eggs (boiled & scrambled), lots of coffee, juices etc, it really was very tasty. the staff at breakfast were working but never seemed to intrude on anyone.

Facilities- Non that I saw. free Wi-Fi in lobby & lots of nice comfortable seats to relax in. I think there might have been a pool table somewhere.

All in all this hotel is really ok but for location & as its so basic I would not return. I mean as a business hotel I'm sure its fine but certainly not for a nice city break. the only thing that makes it compete is the price which is still over priced for what you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin_Dreamz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I stayed here as it was convenient for where I was doing business. The city is still accessible by a bus journey.

The hotel itself is nice being based in an old building with large rooms, it is nice to stay somewhere that does not have the bland corporate look that exists in every city in the world.

The restaraunt at the hotel is good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonEmpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#42 of 157 in Stockholm
730 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hansson
Hotel Hansson
#118 of 157 in Stockholm
263 reviews
Vasastan
Ibis Styles Stockholm Odenplan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kungsholmen
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
First Hotel Fridhemsplan
#121 of 157 in Stockholm
102 reviews
Vasastan
BEST WESTERN PLUS Time Hotel
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#37 of 157 in Stockholm
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Norrtull? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Norrtull

Property: First Hotel Norrtull
Address: 119 Sankt Eriksgatan, Stockholm 113 43, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Vasastan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Norrtull 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First Hotel Norrtull is located in Vasastan, in central Stockholm. Situated in the nearly 100 year old building that was once the Swedish wine and spirits central. Airport coach from the airport stops right outside the entrance, and within a couple of blocks are both metro, buses and commuter trains. It's just as easy to get to Stockholm International Fairs as to Stockholm Central Station. HOTEL ROOM We offer 128 rooms in different styles and designs with personal touches. All the rooms are planned to undergo a renovation in various stages. Today, 88 rooms is done in standard, superior and deluxe category. Breakfast and free WIFI is always included when staying with us. BRASSERIE NORRTULL The restaurant in the hotel, Brasserie Norrtull, offering menus from the Swedish classic gems and our own brasserie favorites. The restaurant manages the building's beverage historical heritage with a wide range of beers, spirits and wines by the glass. Beer selection has a distinct Swedish touch, while the wines retrieved from the most renowned wine regions. CONFERENCE The hotel offers unique spaces for conferences, events and banqueting. Our largest room, the Champagne room, takes up to 220 people in conference seating, 350 in a seated dinner or, together with the hotel's restaurant, 550 in mingling. Mini Trade fairs, exhibitions, product launches, fashion shows, kick-offs and celebrations of all its kinds. Why not a big summer party at our lovely courtyard? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Norrtull reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norrtull Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing