We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new mohotel in wonderful Hammarby Sjöstad.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel L Hammarby Sjostad
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

So here we go: Brand new Hotel in Hammarby Sjöstad just south of inner Stockholm (Södermalm). Young, stylish, simple and very crisp hotel product. Stayed here for 3 nights in July for around SEK 500,- a night. Can't beat that price.

Room was bigger than expected. Nice cool design, heck...they even put a nice young woman - with a Lucifer-like tattoo on the shoulder - in the shower for me :) There was free wifi in the room (even though website said it was only free in common areas). So that was another nice surprise. However the wifi signal died every 20-30 minutes, and I had to log-in over and over again. Incredibly annoying!!!!!! Reception staff could not solve the problem.

Bed was too soft for me, but many might like it that way. Nice BIG tv, 40 inches, and not as most hotels in Europe has: a crappy little 20-30 inch screen. Automatic air-con. I could not work out the manual swich, but the auto temperature worked fine for me.

Breakfast was SEK 70,- but did not try it. Staff seemed very nice, no complaints here.

So all in all: Great, great mohotel in cool new Docklands-ish neighborhood. The area has loads of restaurants and a cute little ferry that will take you to the City in 30 minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sumobabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,072 - 1,078 of 2,385 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is impessively clean and brand new with modern and stylish design.We got a spacious family room. The price was ok considering Stockholm hotel prices.Tram stop just outside the entrance.Also a big supermarket very close. The breakfast was basic but tasty. The reason for the mediocre review is the reception staff who were completely inexperienced and unprepared to serve guests. We arrived at night after a 6 hour train trip from Oslo and obviously we were too tired. But aithough there wasn't any queue in check in we have to wait over 30 minutes to get our room. Actually only one from the staff was working and the four others were looking at a computer or fooling around saying "it's a madhouse here". Also they didn't find in their system that we prebooked breakfast and after I complained they found it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank georgios123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at Motel L with my family (husband, 5 year old and 3 year old) in May when Motel L had just opened. We loved it. The decor is hip and modern, the room is clean and beds were comfortable. My only criticism is I missed the dressers to put ,y clothes away but other than that, a great place to stay! The staff were kind and helpful. The tram right outside made it easy. Great place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank am0827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

As soon as you walk in the lobby you are impressed by the openness and the good decor. Plenty of seating/waiting areas, the Lobby, and, at the far end, the breakfast eating areas. The rooms are very efficient in their use of space, a little cramped if you compare with most lodging in the States (USA). All essentials were there, a comfortable bed, a newly upgraded and decorated bathroom, an excellent shower head (which I enjoyed greatly), etc. As a vegetarian, it was hard to find anything acceptable in the breakfast menu, so, I did not push to eat breakfast there, but it was made even a little bit harder for the lack of Microwave, or even a small fridge in the room. There was a place to hang your clothes, but not a closet. It was efficiently placed on one of the sides of the headboard for my bed, very functional once I found it. Given the many comforts, the best feature was the price. Excellent by Swedish standards, and do not worry about your stay, you'll have an memorable stay in a plush environment; that is, once you know what to expect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with fridge, and microwave, if available. That's what I missed the most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lester A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

A hostel-like atmosphere, but the rooms were plenty sizeable, with very nice showers. The lobby is huge, with a nice bar area and free wireless. Locationwise, it's a 10-minute walk to the nearest metro, though the bus/tram stops right out front (we didn't partake). As with seemingly every European hotel we've stayed out, there was a lot of door slamming in the morning, and the lack of internet in the rooms was a drag. But, all in all, a good, affordable home base for exploring Stockholm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Donovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a short trip. Clean, new, great shower, & pleasant staff. Had a comfortable sleep. No complaints. Skipped the breakfast went to eat downtown. New bar/restaurant is being finished. Supermarket/pharmacy next door. Bus/tram in front of hotel. Couple of restaurants walking distance and train station about 15min walk. Quickest check in under 2 min. Finally great price.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Zibroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Don't let the word 'motel' but you off staying here. Motel L is a super hotel. It looks great from the moment you walk in. Well designed and easy on the eye. The rooms were superb and our two children loved the pull out bunk beds. The beds are to die for comfy and the bathroom is beautifully decorated. My only complaint was that I had a shower in the afternoon and the water was only lukewarm. The breakfast was adequate and well presented.

The hotel is located in a residential area in Hammerby. It's a beautiful area and well worth working down the waterfront and investigating. There's plenty of great restaurants within walking distance (Italian, Sushi, Thai, Steak house and Swedish). There's also a pharmacy and supermarket next door. You can reach the rest of Stockholm via the tram service which runs from outside the hotel, so don't let the location put you off.

I would highly recommend this hotel to my friends (with or without kids) who were looking for a well priced and clean hotel from which to visit Stockholm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Hornstull & Langholmen
Hotell och Vandrarhem Zinkensdamm
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#18 of 155 in Stockholm
1,398 reviews
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#97 of 155 in Stockholm
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel L Hammarby Sjostad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel L Hammarby Sjostad

Address: Hammarby Alle 41, Stockholm 120 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $79 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel L Hammarby Sjostad 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel L Hammarby Sjostad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing