We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised”
Review of Scandic No. 53

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic No. 53
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay. Perfectly suited me. As somebody who often travels alone and is almost always disappointed that single travellers get the most rubbish room and get completely ignored by service staff I was pleasantly surprised and felt very welcome.Clean and functional, very friendly staff at reception/bar. Good value. I was traveling to Stockholm for a conference and the prices in other hotels were out my league. My colleagues either stayed in much more expensive accommodation or far outside the city centre for the same money. Ideal location to explore Stockholm on foot or public transport. Walking distance to train station and airport express. I don't like breakfast in hotels and just had breakfast in one of the many nice coffee shops in the vicinity. But I had food at the hotel several times and although the menu is small the dishes were fresh, delicious and imaginative every single time. My room was very quiet despite overlooking the inside courtyard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eva W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Eva,

Thank you for your great review. We are so glad that you liked us.

We hope to see you again. Welcome back!

Take care.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    594
    194
    71
    32
See reviews for
121
634
120
278
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Borås, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2014

This hotel was rated 4 star on Hotel com and as an experienced traveller I would this 2,5 maybee 3 stars... We were greated with some young guys that suggested that we should do the checkin on our phones, 'just download the app'. And there we are, fiddling around, keen to get to our room, and the guy is just standing there watching is! I quickly put a stop that amd advised him that checkin clearly must be his job, not mine!? Coming up to the room that was nice and newly refurbised but small (the bathroom was like a closet) there is no wardrobe for your clothes and 2 hangers on a visible rack. There were racks with lots of hooks, and obviously this is brilliant solutions for teenagers instead of dropping clothes on the floor....? We had some nice clothes with us for different occassions so I had to go down to the reception (as there is no phone or frontdesk at the hotel) and remind them that 'we are those complicated guests thats actually travel with some clothes that needs to be on a hanger... and after some time we got 2 more!!! Sorry, not got enough - but after some discussions we finally got what we needed.
The breakfast was a strange setup. Nothing wrong, I actually did like the offer as I dont need lots of egg and bacon - but felt like a student on camp when I lined up and was told I could pick 4 items, and in those items I had to include coffe or tea - ok, so I got to pick 3 items then...

Based on the look and setup with more a bar feeling than an actual hotel, this place will soon turn into a party place - and the people behind this concept must have totally missunderstood that the rating of a hotel is not based in cool interiors - you need much more than that! The eperience reminded me of a freeway hotel stay on the autobahn, but that has of course a totally different pricetag and you never expect any real service. That I do from a 4 star hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Anette,

I'm so sorry that you don't liked our concept.

If you have any questions you are more that welcome to contact me.

Take care.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel met all of my needs - close enough to the station and metro which is just what I needed for my trip. Close to restaurants and bars too. I was on the 2nd floor - heard no noise at all and had a great night's sleep.

Things I liked - easy check-in, no issues and help needed if required. Wifi worked with no problems, places to hang my stuff, shower was really good, breakfast was fine. Also, they email you the receipt. or those of us on business, that is a great feature. Who needs paper.

One downside - no desk & chair. The room wasn't big enough.

Overall, I will stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank North_Beach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hi Steve,

Thank you for your great review. We are glad that you liked us.

We hope to see you soon again.

Take care.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is located centrally in Stockholm within walking distance of most sights and museums.
It is newly opened which means it is generally clean and in good shape.

The good stuff:
Free wifi
Friendly staff
Clean rooms in good shape
Nice TV with a good selection of different tv channels free of charge

Drawbacks:

The breakfast is not a buffe, instead you get to pick four items from their "menu" which includes sandwiches, yoghurt, a smoothie, fruit salad, coffee, tea, juice. The different menu items taste good and there is nothing wrong with them per se, but having to choose from a limited menu isn't appealing when you compare it to traditional breakfast buffes at traditional hotels. There are also no cooked items like omelettes, eggs or bacon on the menu if you would like a little hearthier breakfast.

The volume of the music in the bar is way too loud at night, hard to have a conversation without screaming.

When you order a beer from the tap, you only get a small 33 cl glass, but it costs the same as a 50 cl beer would cost at another hotel.

Walls are thin in the rooms, you can easily hear when there is something going on in the corridor outside the room or sometimes what people are doing in adjacent rooms. You can also hear the music from the bar to your room (at least if it's facing the courtyard, don't know about other rooms). Our room was on the 4th floor and we found it very annoying. Bring ear buds if you have any trouble sleeping in a noisy environment.

Room Tip: Top floor is probably the best since it is the furthest from the bar at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joso77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Google Translation
Hej,

Tack snälla för din feedback.

Jag ber om ursäkt för att vi inte lyckades förmedla vårt frukostkoncept till er när ni gjorde er bokning.

Jag hoppas att vi ses igen. Varmt välkomna tillbaka.


/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Had a great stay here at HTL, Staff are super friendly and cool. Was good getting to know sebastian and simon on the bar. Breakfast was good. The downsides we did experience while we were there is that our tv in our room didnt work. I let someone know about it and nothing happened until i asked someone else and they instantly had a look, couldnt fix it and put us in another room and we didnt have a window in our room (the cheapest room), not a huge problem but a window would have been nice! Also Stockholm is a very expensive city!.. But i loved it and definitely want to go again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLKungsgatan, General Manager at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Hi Kevin G

Thank you for your kind review and your patience since you stayed with us just after the opening. The TVs should now be working and you can also find a inspiring city guide on the TV as well as food and drink menu.

We hope to see you with us soon again.

Take care,
The team@HTL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I should very clearly point out that this review is for a business trip. I basically liked the hotel a lot, the design is very nice and modern, the rooms are spacious and well enough equipped (you simply don't find wardrobes in many hotel rooms these days anymore) and has a great vibe about it.

The restaurant/lounge is a bit short of options when it comes to food, but is brilliant for a drink or two. The bed is comfortable too and everything is really new and inviting.

There are two major drawbacks, however. The wifi connection in the room was awful, which made it extremely hard for me to work while there.

The main reason for the 2-star rating, however, is that - when you have a room facing the outdoors lounge (which is really nice to sit and relax in, by the way), you won't get much sleep before 1-2am, because of the loud music and, on busy days, the noise caused by guests in the lounge. That is a drawback that heavily overshadows the quite positive impression I have of the hotel. I would go back there for leisure, but never again on a business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi L0nTrav,

I apologize for my late reply to you.
I'm glad to hear that you liked our hotel. But I'm so sorry for the Wifi connection and that you got a room with windows against our outdoor patio, when we had an event on the outdoor patio.
The Wifi is working very good now. If you would like to come back to us when you are on a business trip just contact us and we will do everything we can to give you a room with another view.

Thank you for your feedback. I hope to se you a again.


Many thanks.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

First things first; in fairness, I booked this through a booking site and not through the hotel's own site. I believe that the 'concept' is explained on the site, but it wasn't on the booking site. Had I known, I wouldn't have booked it. Either way, I won't be returning.

Check in is self service. Unfortunately, this is in no way obvious so my colleague and I spent a few minutes wandering around the ground floor looking for reception. We eventually figured out that the girl in jeans and a shirt was a staff member and she was able to direct us to the check in desks. We had a slight issue with how the booking info was displayed, but got around that.

There is almost no furniture in the room, which means that there isn't a desk, or somewhere to put your suitcase. Neither is there a wardrobe with hangers, or shelves. Or a phone. Not that you could call reception anyway, of course. There is a lot of space downstairs to for working, and all of the tables have power sockets. I don't concentrate well in such environments, so that was a bit of a write-off.

My booking hadn't included breakfast, so when we came downstairs for breakfast we were told that we had to pay first. We went to organise this at the floating reception area (the aforementioned girl in jeans) and found out that we couldn't charge it to either of our rooms. Breakfast itself was a choice of items, to a max of four (I think), with additional extras being an extra charge. I wasn't overly impressed with the selection on offer, nor with the cost of the extras.

Won't be returning, for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paultheotherbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica Å, Hotelldirektör at Scandic No. 53, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hi Paultheotherbiker,

First of all I would like to apologize for my late reply to you. I'm so sorry that we didn't succeed to communicate our koncept to you when you made your reservation.
Thank you so much for your feedback.

Take care.

/ Erica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
410 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 154 in Stockholm
1,173 reviews
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,921 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western & Hotel
Best Western & Hotel
#39 of 154 in Stockholm
347 reviews
Norrmalm
Haymarket by Scandic
Haymarket by Scandic
#28 of 154 in Stockholm
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic No. 53? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic No. 53

Property: Scandic No. 53
Address: Kungsgatan 53, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic No. 53 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Scandic Hotels and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic No. 53 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing