We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet , 20 minutes from Gamla Stan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ersta Konferens & Hotell
Ranked #122 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This hotel sits atop a hill overlooking the ferry and cruise terminal ( which if like us, you are sailing with Viking Lines, means the terminal is literally a ten minute walk below you ).
The hotel is run by a Christian foundation that helps people in vunerable situations & is a not for profit organisation. The hotel is therefore only a very small part of its business.
Reception staff are not there round the clock, but you are given a room & street door key so coming and going is easy. Breakfast is served from 6.30 to 8.00 weekdays and 8.30 to 10.00 on weekends, so perhaps not well suited to those who enjoy a lie in. Attendees to the regular conferences that Ersta host, also enjoy the same room as hotel guests for breakfast. On the cliff top overlooking the port is Ersta Terrass which is open for food during the day and has the most amazing views to the city and across to the funfair.
An unusual hotel, but one we will definitely use again. It was so quiet and the views down the shipping channel from our room were lovely. Got some great sunrise shots.!

Room Tip: Room 28 has the best water views. We had room 27 and its views were also very good too. No complaint...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2012

I passed a week training and the conference facilities were small but excellent. Rooms were very warm. The bedrooms are small and resemble a nunnery but were clean, and serviced daily, with a king single. There are no kitchen facilities in the room, and there is a shared kitchenette at the end of the hall. There are no cooking tools, only a microwave, fridge and kettle. Bathroom is tiny but a good shower. Towels provided. Very secure rooms. If I was to holiday here I would request a room with a view. Views from this hotel on the hill are spectacular. Reception are very helpful and quick to respond. Free wi- fi although slow was great. The hotel is in walking distance of everything, and the bus stops close by for tired feet. I would return if alone or training.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank MarieS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

This place is very calm and quiet. It is perched on a hill overlooking Gamla Stan and Djurgarden so the views are great. Probably a 15 minute walk to Slussen tunnelbana. Can easily walk to Gamla Stan and central Sodermalm from Ersta. Each floor has a kitchenette with tables and chairs. The rooms were small and basic but spotlessly clean. I have no problem recommending this place to others. A reliable choice.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caulkhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Slightly out of town, but with fabulous view to Tivoli Gardens straight ahead and Gamla Stan to the left. Really pleasant helpful staff. Each floor has a small kitchen so it is great for keeping down costs. We tended to eat out for lunch, then sit on the terrace in front of the hotel with a bottle of wine and a picnic dinner looking at the great viw and stunning sunsets.

Room Tip: Just ask for room at the front with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Discriminat0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

I booked this hotel for a short trip to Stockholm which combined business and pleasure. I wasn't expecting much as the hotel was out of the main town and was all I could book at short notice. I was pleasantly surprised. It is situated on Sodermalm island and was only 15 mins by frequent bus to the city centre. The location was wonderful as the hotel is perched on a cliff overlooking the bay and I could watch the ferries and cruise liners arriving and departing.
I didn't realise that Ersta was part of a religious complex and is used for religious conferences and retreats so it didn't feel like an ordinary hotel. The rooms are basic but clean and the beds extremely comfortable. Each floor has a kitchen for guest use which was an unexpected bonus! Breakfast is served early 06.30 - 8.00 and is a typical scandinavian buffet. I enjoyed my stay and will probably stay there on my next trip as its tranquillity was a respite from the busy city.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

This is a former residence dormitory on the site of a Lutheran church and hospital in Sondermalm, Stockholm. It feels like a Protestant church centre, which it is still.

Rooms are small and modest, with old wooden fixtures, plain white paint. However, everything is very very clean, the beds are incredibly comfortable, the shared bathrooms were always clean and available, the views were spectacular, the pantry was decently equiped with free coffee and tea and a fridge if you wanted to pack your own, a hotplate and sink.

The place is very quiet, in a quiet neighbourhood overlooking the international ferry dock. The surrounding neighbourhood has good pubs and restaurants, grocery store, liquor store nearby, and some good walking and historical sites. About 20 minutes very pleasant walk to the Gamla Stan area.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Suzuki267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2006

The view from our room is one of the best views from a hotel room in Stockholm. The hotel is located in the Södermalm district of Stockholm. It sits on the cliffs overlooking water and out to Skansen. We paid less that 9oo kr for a weekend night. That included breakfast. We love this hotel.
jerry

6  Thank BeachWizard4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
779 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#89 of 155 in Stockholm
240 reviews
Södermalm
Loginn Hotel
Loginn Hotel
#84 of 155 in Stockholm
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
Hotel Tre Sma Rum
#99 of 155 in Stockholm
62 reviews
Best Western Capital Hotel
#101 of 155 in Stockholm
251 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Bema
Hotel Bema
#102 of 155 in Stockholm
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ersta Konferens & Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ersta Konferens & Hotell

Address: 1K Erstagatan, Stockholm 116 28, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Södermalm
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: $98 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ersta Konferens & Hotell 2*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ersta Konferens & Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ersta Konferens & Hotell Hotel Stockholm
Ersta Konferens And Hotell
Ersta Konferens Hotell Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing