We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange & unusual”

Swedish Museum of Performing Arts
Ranked #108 of 301 things to do in Stockholm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In 2017 the Swedish Museum of Performing Arts will open in Stockholm. A new hub for music, theatre and dance - where innovation and cultural heritage meet. A Stage - a Forum - A Voice. A museum of human creativity.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
1,774 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,645 helpful votes
“Strange & unusual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This is a strange museum, I came away not really understanding a lot of what was on display. There are a lot of hands on exhibits where you can try out various musical instruments. Aside from this there were artworks ? sculptures? just an odd selection of stuff with not much explanation in English. There was a small section on Abba at the end - which im not sure if it is still there or since moved to the specific Abba museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    11
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Under renovation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We dissapointed about the fact that museum is closed untill 2016. But nearby there is excellent army museum. We really advise to visit it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Дарья С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Bad, bad ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

I formerly LOVED the old cosy Musikmuseet - and so did my family and parents.
Both small children and (very) grown up musical gourmets.
Nowadays nearly all the charm is gone.
The staff look grey and bored.
The exhibition "Mascerade" was a good example of an exhibition without story, meaning or ... anything. What is the point? A brave person always wears a mask?
We couldn't get it. And a hashtag nobody will use, why should we? Videos - about what? Totally meaningless!

Grow up, remember your proud roots of interaction, learning and joy!!!
The old exhibition "Trumma!" was still a hit when comparing, and likewise the Ljudrumet.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Booring :-(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This used to be our favourite museum in Stockholm and Sweden but now its image has changed. Its playful happiness and friendly staff has turned to grey and boring. New exhibitions are not user friendly at all. It is even more difficult to find stuff on their website thou it looks nice. And where are the hundreds of thousands of museum objects to be inspired of?
Sad to say - we now liked the Technical museum far more at this trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fun to try all kinds of intruments”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

it's located in a very elegant and old building. very easily accessed. nice display and instruments to try out. drum sets are always occupied by someone, haha. not a main sightseeing spot but a lovely one.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Litsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swedish Museum of Performing Arts also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Swedish Museum of Performing Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing